Complex Analysis: In the Spirit of Lipman Bers (Graduate Texts in Mathematics)

4.75 avg rating
( 4 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780387747149: Complex Analysis: In the Spirit of Lipman Bers (Graduate Texts in Mathematics)

The authors? aim here is to present a precise and concise treatment of those parts of complex analysis that should be familiar to every research mathematician. They follow a path in the tradition of Ahlfors and Bers by dedicating the book to a very precise goal: the statement and proof of the Fundamental Theorem for functions of one complex variable. They discuss the many equivalent ways of understanding the concept of analyticity, and offer a leisure exploration of interesting consequences and applications. Readers should have had undergraduate courses in advanced calculus, linear algebra, and some abstract algebra. No background in complex analysis is required.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

This book is intended for a graduate course on complex analysis, also known as function theory. The main focus is the theory of complex-valued functions of a single complex variable. This theory is a prerequisite for the study of many current and rapidly developing areas of mathematics including the theory of several and infinitely many complex variables, the theory of groups, hyperbolic geometry and three-manifolds, and number theory. Complex analysis has connections and applications to many other subjects in mathematics and to other sciences. It is an area where the classic and the modern techniques meet and benefit from each other. This material should be part of the education of every practicing mathematician, and it will also be of interest to computer scientists, physicists, and engineers. The first part of the book is a study of the many equivalent ways of understanding the concept of analyticity. The many ways of formulating the concept of an analytic function are summarized in what is termed the Fundamental Theorem for functions of a complex variable. The organization of these conditions into a single unifying theorem with an emphasis on clarity and elegance is a hallmark of Lipman Bers's mathematical style. Here it provides a conceptual framework for results that are highly technical and often computational. The framework comes from an insight that, once articulated, will drive the subsequent mathematics and lead to new results.   In the second part, the text proceeds to a leisurely exploration of interesting ramifications of the main concepts.   The book covers most, if not all, of the material contained in Bers’s courses on first year complex analysis. In addition, topics of current interest such as zeros of holomorphic functions and the connection between hyperbolic geometry and complex analysis are explored.

Review:

From the reviews: "This is a fairly conventional text for a first course in complex analysis. It is an interesting mix of the concrete and the abstract, and of the formulaic and the geometric. It has good exercises ... . It is nominally a graduate text (it is in Springer’s series of Graduate Texts in Mathematics) ... . The book covers all the usual topics for a first course and includes a lot of advanced topics ... ." (Allen Stenger, MathDL, February, 2008) "This book is based on the original courses of Complex Analysis that was delivered by the well-known American specialist and lecturer in Analysis, Professor Lipman Bers. ... the book is written in a clear and easily readable manner. ... this book is useful for all specialists and lecturers in Complex Analysis ... and also all specialists who deal with applications of Complex Analysis. I also recommend this book to beginners who want to study Complex Analysis ... ." (Peter Zabreiko, Zentralblatt MATH, Vol. 1139 (17), 2008) “An introduction to complex analysis based on original lectures by Lipman Bers ... . the whole text is clearly suitable as a first course in complex analysis. ... In addition, it contains many exercises and a brief guide to the literature.” (G. Teschl, Monatshefte für Mathematik, Vol. 156 (4), April, 2009)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

International Edition
International Edition

1.

Gilman
ISBN 10: 0387747141 ISBN 13: 9780387747149
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
International Edition
Seller:
PRIORITY BOOKS
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Softcover Book, New Condition, Fast Shipping. Ready in Stock. 1st Edition. [Please Read Carefully Before Buying], This Is An International Edition. Printed In Black and White. , Book Cover And ISBN No May Be Different From US Edition. Restricted Sales Disclaimer Wordings Not For Sales In USA And Canada May Be Printed On The Cover Of The Book. Standard Shipping 7-14 Business Days. Expedited Shiping 4-8 Business Days. ***WE DO NOT ENTERTAIN BULK ORDERS.*** The Books May Be Ship From Overseas For Inventory Purpose. Bookseller Inventory # 296726

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds
International Edition
International Edition

2.

Gilman
ISBN 10: 0387747141 ISBN 13: 9780387747149
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
International Edition
Seller:
Nick Book House
(Fresno, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. New, Softcover International Edition, Printed in Black and White, Different ISBN, Same Content As US edition, Book Cover may be Different, in English Language. Bookseller Inventory # 3806

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jane P. Gilman, Irwin Kra, Rub? E. Rodr?guez
Published by Springer (2007)
ISBN 10: 0387747141 ISBN 13: 9780387747149
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Springer, 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0387747141

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gilman
ISBN 10: 0387747141 ISBN 13: 9780387747149
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
firstbookstore
(New Delhi, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Brand New Original US Edition, Perfect Condition. Printed in English. Excellent Quality, Service and customer satisfaction guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # AIND-12774

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 38.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Gilman J. P.
ISBN 10: 0387747141 ISBN 13: 9780387747149
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Bookshub
(Karol Bagh, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. New. US edition. Perfect condition. Customer satisfaction our priority. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-FEB-37417

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 38.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gilman J. P.
ISBN 10: 0387747141 ISBN 13: 9780387747149
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
EBOOKSTORE2010
(New Delhi, ND, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. New. US edition. Customer Satisfaction guaranteed!!. Bookseller Inventory # SHUB37417

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 38.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Gilman Jane P.
Published by Springer
ISBN 10: 0387747141 ISBN 13: 9780387747149
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Springer. Book Condition: New. pp. xiv + 220. Bookseller Inventory # 7595869

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Gilman, Jane P.; Kra, Irwin; Rodríguez, Rubí E.
Published by Springer
ISBN 10: 0387747141 ISBN 13: 9780387747149
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
IBestBargains, LLC
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Springer. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0387747141 Brand New Book in Perfect Condition.Fast Shipping with tracking number. Bookseller Inventory # KEDA-DBSPD-15102

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Gilman
ISBN 10: 0387747141 ISBN 13: 9780387747149
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Romtrade Corp.
(STERLING HEIGHTS, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand New Original US Edition.We Ship to PO BOX Address also. EXPEDITED shipping option also available for faster delivery. Bookseller Inventory # AUSBNEW-12774

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 41.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gilman J. P.
ISBN 10: 0387747141 ISBN 13: 9780387747149
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Basi6 International
(Irving, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. New, US edition. Excellent Customer Service. Bookseller Inventory # ABEUSA-37417

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 41.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book