Heather Skyler The Perfect Age: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780393326888

The Perfect Age: A Novel

3.3 avg rating
( 211 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780393326888: The Perfect Age: A Novel

A sun-baked, beautifully observed debut for readers who loved Amy and Isabelle―a mother and daughter come of age in Las Vegas.

Helen is just fifteen, lanky and striking. She is a lifeguard at the pool at The Dunes hotel this summer―her first job, a step toward independence in a world beginning to treat her as an adult and a woman. Her mother, Kathy, watching Helen grow up, suddenly finds herself in a place equally uncertain: her children getting older, her stable marriage perhaps too stable, the slow days of summer leaving her adrift. When she meets Helen's boss, the manager at the pool, she chooses an affair that opens her to the idea of a different sort of life. Following Helen and Kathy through three summers, this novel is an intimate picture of two sexual awakenings under one roof and their aftershocks on a family. Heather Skyler shows us that the validity of life's deepest experiences―love, betrayal, acceptance―is never compromised by age. Reading group guide included.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Heather Skyler was born and raised in Las Vegas. The author of The Perfect Age and Vegas Girls, she currently lives in Athens, Georgia, with her husband, son, and daughter.

From Publishers Weekly:

Perpetually sunny Las Vegas is the setting for three summers of tangled love affairs in this sultry, reflective debut novel. Helen Larkin is 15 the summer she starts working as a lifeguard at the Dunes Hotel pool, brooding over her drummer boyfriend, Leo, and wondering whether her mother, Kathy, could possibly be having an affair with Helen's boss, the "over-forty walnut-colored" head lifeguard, Gerard. The question of betrayal is constantly on her mind, whether she is cheating on Leo with another lifeguard or spying on her mother eating chocolate chip ice cream in Gerard's kitchen. On a rebellious illicit date, she wonders, "If no one is hurt, is it actually wrong? Helen knows, somewhere inside her water-cooled limbs, that it is, but she floats on the other possibility for a while." Among those who might be hurt are Edward, Helen's buttoned-up father, a professor of Russian history, and Leo, who worries that he can't offer cosseted, beautiful Helen enough. Skyler takes the time and space to capture the natural emotional arc of relationships, adding nuance with some lovely descriptive writing ("Past this they dip into neighborhoods scarred by yellow lawns, each one leading to a house so cheap and thin it would never withstand a winter in Ohio"). The novel's conclusion is perhaps too neatly engineered, but Skyler perfectly captures the languid heat of long Las Vegas summers and the irresistible temptations of love at any age.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Skyler, Heather
Published by W. W. Norton and#38; Company (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393326888 ISBN 13: 9780393326888
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton and#38; Company, 2005. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days.THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IP-9780393326888

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Skyler, Heather
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393326888 ISBN 13: 9780393326888
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0393326888. Bookseller Inventory # Z0393326888ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Skyler, Heather
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393326888 ISBN 13: 9780393326888
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0393326888. Bookseller Inventory # Z0393326888ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Skyler, Heather
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393326888 ISBN 13: 9780393326888
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0393326888. Bookseller Inventory # Z0393326888ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Skyler, Heather
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393326888 ISBN 13: 9780393326888
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0393326888. Bookseller Inventory # Z0393326888ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Skyler, Heather
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393326888 ISBN 13: 9780393326888
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0393326888. Bookseller Inventory # Z0393326888ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Skyler, Heather
Published by W. W. Norton & Company 2005-05-17 (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393326888 ISBN 13: 9780393326888
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company 2005-05-17, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0393326888. Bookseller Inventory # Z0393326888ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Heather Skyler
Published by WW Norton Co, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393326888 ISBN 13: 9780393326888
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WW Norton Co, United States, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Revised ed.. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Helen is just fifteen, lanky and striking. She is a lifeguard at the pool at The Dunes hotel this summer-her first job, a step toward independence in a world beginning to treat her as an adult and a woman. Her mother, Kathy, watching Helen grow up, suddenly finds herself in a place equally uncertain: her children getting older, her stable marriage perhaps too stable, the slow days of summer leaving her adrift. When she meets Helen s boss, the manager at the pool, she chooses an affair that opens her to the idea of a different sort of life. Following Helen and Kathy through three summers, this novel is an intimate picture of two sexual awakenings under one roof and their aftershocks on a family. Heather Skyler shows us that the validity of life s deepest experiences-love, betrayal, acceptance-is never compromised by age. Reading group guide included. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780393326888

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Heather Skyler
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393326888 ISBN 13: 9780393326888
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 320 pages. Dimensions: 8.1in. x 5.5in. x 0.9in.A sun-baked, beautifully observed debut for readers who loved Amy and Isabellea mother and daughter come of age in Las Vegas. Helen is just fifteen, lanky and striking. She is a lifeguard at the pool at The Dunes hotel this summerher first job, a step toward independence in a world beginning to treat her as an adult and a woman. Her mother, Kathy, watching Helen grow up, suddenly finds herself in a place equally uncertain: her children getting older, her stable marriage perhaps too stable, the slow days of summer leaving her adrift. When she meets Helens boss, the manager at the pool, she chooses an affair that opens her to the idea of a different sort of life. Following Helen and Kathy through three summers, this novel is an intimate picture of two sexual awakenings under one roof and their aftershocks on a family. Heather Skyler shows us that the validity of lifes deepest experienceslove, betrayal, acceptanceis never compromised by age. Reading group guide included. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780393326888

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Skyler, Heather
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2005)
ISBN 10: 0393326888 ISBN 13: 9780393326888
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # INGM9780393326888

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book