Forever on the Mountain: The Truth Behind One of Mountaineering's Most Controversial and Mysterious Disasters

3.86 avg rating
( 1,174 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780393331967: Forever on the Mountain: The Truth Behind One of Mountaineering's Most Controversial and Mysterious Disasters

Winner of the 2007 Banff Mountain Festival Book Awards Grand Prize (The Phyllis & Don Munday Award): "A riveting account of a long-ago mountaineering disaster."―Time

In 1967, seven young men, members of a twelve-man expedition led by twenty-four-year-old Joe Wilcox, were stranded on Alaska's Mount McKinley in a vicious arctic storm. All seven perished on what remains the most tragic expedition in American climbing history. Revisiting the event in the tradition of Norman Maclean's Young Men and Fire, James M. Tabor uncovers elements of controversy, finger-pointing, and cover-up that combine to make this disaster unlike any other.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

Grand Prize Winner, Banff 2007 Mountain Book & Film Festival National Outdoor Book Award Boardman Tasker Prize, Second Place

About the Author:

James M. Tabor, a former contributing editor to Outside, attempted Mount McKinley and summitted Mount Sanford. He hosted the PBS series The Great Outdoors and cocreated the History Channel series Journey to the Center of the World. He lives in Waitsfield, Vermont.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

James M. Tabor
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2008)
ISBN 10: 0393331962 ISBN 13: 9780393331967
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # BK0118999

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Tabor, James M.
ISBN 10: 0393331962 ISBN 13: 9780393331967
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY7SO002S6V

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

James M. Tabor
Published by WW Norton Publishers
ISBN 10: 0393331962 ISBN 13: 9780393331967
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WW Norton Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0393331962

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Tabor, James M.
ISBN 10: 0393331962 ISBN 13: 9780393331967
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780393331967

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Tabor, James M.
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2008)
ISBN 10: 0393331962 ISBN 13: 9780393331967
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0393331962

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

James M. Tabor
Published by WW Norton Co, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0393331962 ISBN 13: 9780393331967
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WW Norton Co, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In 1967, seven young men, members of a twelve-man expedition led by twenty-four-year-old Joe Wilcox, were stranded on Alaska s Mount McKinley in a vicious arctic storm. All seven perished on what remains the most tragic expedition in American climbing history. Revisiting the event in the tradition of Norman Maclean s Young Men and Fire, James M. Tabor uncovers elements of controversy, finger-pointing, and cover-up that combine to make this disaster unlike any other. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780393331967

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

James M. Tabor
Published by WW Norton Co, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0393331962 ISBN 13: 9780393331967
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WW Norton Co, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In 1967, seven young men, members of a twelve-man expedition led by twenty-four-year-old Joe Wilcox, were stranded on Alaska s Mount McKinley in a vicious arctic storm. All seven perished on what remains the most tragic expedition in American climbing history. Revisiting the event in the tradition of Norman Maclean s Young Men and Fire, James M. Tabor uncovers elements of controversy, finger-pointing, and cover-up that combine to make this disaster unlike any other. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780393331967

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Tabor, James M.
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393331962 ISBN 13: 9780393331967
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0393331962. Bookseller Inventory # Z0393331962ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Tabor, James M.
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393331962 ISBN 13: 9780393331967
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0393331962 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132379264

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

James M. Tabor
Published by WW Norton Co, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0393331962 ISBN 13: 9780393331967
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WW Norton Co, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In 1967, seven young men, members of a twelve-man expedition led by twenty-four-year-old Joe Wilcox, were stranded on Alaska s Mount McKinley in a vicious arctic storm. All seven perished on what remains the most tragic expedition in American climbing history. Revisiting the event in the tradition of Norman Maclean s Young Men and Fire, James M. Tabor uncovers elements of controversy, finger-pointing, and cover-up that combine to make this disaster unlike any other. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780393331967

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book