Bradshaw, Gillian Imperial Purple

ISBN 13: 9780395436356

Imperial Purple

3.92 avg rating
( 259 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780395436356: Imperial Purple
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Set in early Christian times, the tale of the weaver Demetrias portrays her entrapment in a treasonous plot against the Byzantine emperor and her fight to protect her family and self as the battle for Constantinople rages

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Publishers Weekly:

Bradshaw ( Beekeeper's Daughter and Beacon at Alexandria ) creates a compelling fictional character, Demetrias. Wife and mother, well-born slave, she is the premier silk weaver working in fifth century Tyre, where life and commerce revolve around the precious purple dye that symbolizes the power of imperial Rome. When Demetrias is assigned to weave a cloak in the proscribed imperial color, but not of measurements to fit Emperor Theodosius II, she realizes that treachery is afoot, but refusal is not a slave's option. Her survival depends on devising a strategy to save her life and those of her family. The plot twists and turns through a diorama of actual events involving historical figures, notably Demetrias's encounter with the emperor's formidable sister, Pulcheria. Historical novels are stamped by both the writer and the backdrop of an era; Imperial Purple is doubly embossed with strength in a style that will appeal to readers of Robert Graves and Mary Renault. The author's historical afterword further illuminates the turbulent Byzantine era.
Copyright 1988 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From School Library Journal:

YA Continuing her work on historical motifs, Bradshaw brings readers a third novel set in the Byzantine period. The fascinating theme throughout this tale is the manufacture of purple dye from murex shellfish and the weaving of sumptuous gownsthe purple cloth valued above gold and worn only by emperors. The slave Demetrias, a talented silk weaver, is instructed to weave a cloak of imperial purple. She and her husband, a murex fisherman, are drawn into a treacherous plot which gives drama to the lives of slaves, eunuchs, and rulers. Endpaper maps show Tyre and Constantinople in the 5th Century a.d. In a concluding statement, Bradshaw provides information about actual people and facts used and those invented for the enrichment of the tales. Jenni Elliott, Episcopal High School, Bellaire, Tex.
Copyright 1989 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780517674789: Imperial Purple

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0517674785 ISBN 13:  9780517674789
Publisher: Random House Value Publishing, 1989
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bradshaw, Gillian
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (1988)
ISBN 10: 0395436354 ISBN 13: 9780395436356
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 1988. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110395436354

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 39.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Bradshaw, Gillian
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (November 1, 1988) (1988)
ISBN 10: 0395436354 ISBN 13: 9780395436356
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
RushLtd
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (November 1, 1988), 1988. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think0395436354

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 40.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Bradshaw, Gillian
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (1988)
ISBN 10: 0395436354 ISBN 13: 9780395436356
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 1988. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB0395436354

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 48.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Bradshaw, Gillian
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (1988)
ISBN 10: 0395436354 ISBN 13: 9780395436356
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 1988. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0395436354

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 61.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Bradshaw, Gillian
ISBN 10: 0395436354 ISBN 13: 9780395436356
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # E-0395436354

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 110.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Bradshaw, Gillian
ISBN 10: 0395436354 ISBN 13: 9780395436356
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0395436354

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 110.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds