The Power to Persuade: How to Be Effective in Any Unruly Organization

2.83 avg rating
( 6 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780395735251: The Power to Persuade: How to Be Effective in Any Unruly Organization

The Power to Persuade answers a fundamental question: how can you navigate a world where persuasion, rather than direct command, is the rule? In public sector organizations, and in today's "flattened" corporate hierarchies, traditional management strategies simply do not work. This book shows how to hone the political skills that are so often the key to improved performance - whether the goal is better policy or greater profit. While teaching at Harvard University, Richard Haass realized that no existing book advised people working in political settings how to be more effective. Now he has filled the gap. Using a compass as his operating metaphor - your boss is north of you, your staff is south, colleagues are east, and so on - Haass provides guidelines for managing relationships, setting goals, and translating goals into results. His interviews with Colin Powell, James Baker, Robert Strauss, and dozens of others yield valuable, practical insight. For the tens of millions of Americans

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Booklist:

The power to persuade and the art of persuasion are vital in all walks of life, but for those in the public sector, persuasion is often the only tool at one's disposal. Haass was special assistant to President Bush and a senior director at the National Security Council and has a long record of government service. He has written extensively on foreign affairs and defense issues but here addresses his concerns with making government more effective. He contrasts his book with the many other books now out aimed at making government more efficient. With observations culled from his own experience and from more than 50 in-depth interviews with the likes of James Baker and Colin Powell, Haass shows how to manage relationships with and get results from one's boss, one's staff, one's colleagues, and those on the "outside." Included is a brief but valuable bibliography of books that show how and why government works--and doesn't work. Sure to be requested at the circulation desk. David Rouse

From Library Journal:

In the tradition of Dale Carnegie, Haass presents a reader-friendly guide to making positive progress toward goal accomplishment for managers at all levels. Real-world situations and the experiences of people in the know combined with commonsense personal organization tips make this book essential reading for all managers who feel that they're spinning their wheels. The author, a former special assistant to President Bush and a senior director at the National Security Council, presents an impressive parade of personalities whose caveats and anecdotes demonstrate the power of persuasion and the necessary underlying planning and preparedness that go with it. Using the compass analogy, the author discusses how to persuade successfully those to one's north (bosses), south (subordinates), east (colleagues), and west (important outsiders). Recommended for all public and academic libraries.
Randy Abbott, Univ. of Evansville Libs., Ind.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Richard N. Haass
Published by Mariner Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0395735254 ISBN 13: 9780395735251
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # SONG0395735254

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Richard N. Haass
Published by Mariner Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0395735254 ISBN 13: 9780395735251
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0395735254

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Haass, Richard N.
Published by Mariner Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0395735254 ISBN 13: 9780395735251
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110395735254

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds