Tony Lip; Steven Prigge Shut Up and Eat!

ISBN 13: 9780425205556

Shut Up and Eat!

4 avg rating
( 7 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780425205556: Shut Up and Eat!

Mangia with the secret family recipes and stories from your favorite Italian-American stars, including Tony Lip, Chazz Palminteri, James Gandolfini, Frank Vincent, Robert Loggia, Drea de Matteo, Lorraine Bracco, Edie Falco, Pat Cooper, Robert Davi, and many more.

Your favorite Italian-American actors may play tough on-screen, but offscreen they have a weakness for one thing--Italian food! Now you too can share their passion, and some of their family recipes that have been passed down from generation to generation. Enjoy sumptuous dishes like Tony Lip's Stuffed Calamari, Lorriane Bracco's Stuffed Artichokes, James Gandolfini's Osso Buco, Edie Falco's Penne with Sweet Sausage, Danny Aiello's Tortellini in Brodo, Steven R. Schirripa's Shrimp Oreganato, Dominic Chianese's Cannoli Chianese, and many more. These well-known stars also tell personal stories of growing up Italian that will take you back to your own mother's kitchen. If you're not Italian--fuhgeddaboutit! Anyone can enjoy these mouthwatering recipes that you won't find any where else. So pick up a copy, sit down, shut up and eat!

The book includes a foreword by Danny Aiello and over 60 black and white photographs, some of which have never been seen before.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Tony Lip originates from the Bronx, New York. He worked for twelve years at the world-famous Copacabana Nightclub in New York City. At the Copa, he played host to the most famous personalities of the era, including Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett and Bobby Darin. Lip then went on to a career in acting. He got his first big break when he was cast in the hit film, The Godfather. Since then he has appeared in several major motion pictures including Crazy Joe, The Pope of Greenwich Village, The Year of the Dragon, Honor Thy Fathers, Goodfellas, and Donnie Brasco. He was most recently featured as the New York mob boss Carmine Lupertazzi on the hit HBO series, The Sopranos.

From Publishers Weekly:

The title notwithstanding, there's lots of talk in this compilation and relatively few recipes. Thirty-nine Italian-American actors discuss their childhoods, their careers and their big, happy families, emphasizing the importance of food for their sense of identity. The recipes are all home style and unpretentious; a few come from the actors' favorite restaurants like Da Silvano in Manhattan, but many were handed down through the generations. Accordingly, at times the instructions are a little vague and simplistic for novice cooks, who may struggle with the lack of detail in recipes such as Talia Shire's Thanksgiving Gnocchi and Michael Rispoli's Mussels and Clams Campania Style. In general, though, the dishes are easy, quintessential Italian comfort foods, like Michael Imperioli's Spaghetti Carbonara and Edie Falco's Fettucine Alfredo. The bulk of the recipes are for entrees of pasta, fish and meat, though there are a few soups and vegetable sides and a smattering of desserts. Many cooks will already have mastered most of the items; the book is really for fans of The Godfather and The Sopranos, who will love the actors' endearing anecdotes about washing dishes, adored relatives and eating on set, and who might be inspired to try one of the dishes they recommend so enthusiastically. Photos.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tony Lip; Steven Prigge
Published by Berkley Hardcover (2005)
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M042520555X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Tony Lip, Steven Prigge, Danny Aiello (Foreword)
Published by Berkley Hardcover (2005)
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX042520555X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lip, Tony, Prigge, Steven
Published by Berkley Hardcover (2005)
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P11042520555X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 47.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lip, Tony, Prigge, Steven
Published by Berkley Hardcover (2005)
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New!. Bookseller Inventory # VIB042520555X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 47.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lip, Tony; Prigge, Steven
Published by Berkley Hardcover
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Diafan Media
(Geneva, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 042520555X New Condition *** Right Off the Shelf | Ships within 2 Business Days ~~~ Customer Service Is Our Top Priority! - Thank you for LOOKING :-). Bookseller Inventory # 2BOOK2P286294

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 61.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds