Tony Lip; Steven Prigge Shut Up and Eat!

ISBN 13: 9780425205556

Shut Up and Eat!

4 avg rating
( 7 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780425205556: Shut Up and Eat!
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Italian-American stars offer personal recollections of growing up Italian along with favorite family recipes, including Michael Imperioli's Spaghetti Carbonara, Edie Falco's Fettucine Alfredo, and Talia Shire's Thanksgiving Gnocchi.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Tony Lip originates from the Bronx, New York. He worked for twelve years at the world-famous Copacabana Nightclub in New York City. At the Copa, he played host to the most famous personalities of the era, including Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett and Bobby Darin. Lip then went on to a career in acting. He got his first big break when he was cast in the hit film, The Godfather. Since then he has appeared in several major motion pictures including Crazy Joe, The Pope of Greenwich Village, The Year of the Dragon, Honor Thy Fathers, Goodfellas, and Donnie Brasco. He was most recently featured as the New York mob boss Carmine Lupertazzi on the hit HBO series, The Sopranos.

From Publishers Weekly:

The title notwithstanding, there's lots of talk in this compilation and relatively few recipes. Thirty-nine Italian-American actors discuss their childhoods, their careers and their big, happy families, emphasizing the importance of food for their sense of identity. The recipes are all home style and unpretentious; a few come from the actors' favorite restaurants like Da Silvano in Manhattan, but many were handed down through the generations. Accordingly, at times the instructions are a little vague and simplistic for novice cooks, who may struggle with the lack of detail in recipes such as Talia Shire's Thanksgiving Gnocchi and Michael Rispoli's Mussels and Clams Campania Style. In general, though, the dishes are easy, quintessential Italian comfort foods, like Michael Imperioli's Spaghetti Carbonara and Edie Falco's Fettucine Alfredo. The bulk of the recipes are for entrees of pasta, fish and meat, though there are a few soups and vegetable sides and a smattering of desserts. Many cooks will already have mastered most of the items; the book is really for fans of The Godfather and The Sopranos, who will love the actors' endearing anecdotes about washing dishes, adored relatives and eating on set, and who might be inspired to try one of the dishes they recommend so enthusiastically. Photos.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780425211779: Shut Up and Eat!: Mangia with the Stories and Recipes from Your Favorite Italian-American Stars

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0425211770 ISBN 13:  9780425211779
Publisher: Berkley, 2006
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lip, Tony, Prigge, Steven
Published by Berkley Hardcover (2005)
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover, 2005. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P11042520555X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 45.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Tony Lip, Steven Prigge, Danny Aiello (Foreword)
Published by Berkley Hardcover (2005)
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover, 2005. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX042520555X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 49.82
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Tony Lip; Steven Prigge
Published by Berkley Hardcover (2005)
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover, 2005. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M042520555X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 57.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Lip, Tony; Prigge, Steven
Published by Berkley Hardcover
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover. Hardcover. Condition: New. 042520555X New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW99.0934167

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 69.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Lip, Tony; Prigge, Steven
Published by Berkley Hardcover
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover. Hardcover. Condition: New. 042520555X New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW99.4086921

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 69.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Tony Lip; Steven Prigge
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STRM-042520555X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 79.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Tony Lip; Steven Prigge
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STRM-042520555x

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 79.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Tony Lip
Published by Berkley Hardcover (2005)
ISBN 10: 042520555X ISBN 13: 9780425205556
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Hardcover, 2005. Hardcover. Condition: New. First Edition. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 042520555Xn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 153.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds