Prince of Magic (Children of the Sun, Book 1)

3.69 avg rating
( 633 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780425214480: Prince of Magic (Children of the Sun, Book 1)

The firstborn children of the Fyne witches have finally come into their own, each with a special gift...

Independent Ariana Kane Varden, daughter of the Sun Witch, has never let family duty keep her from reaching her dreams. She learned the practice of her gift, the power to heal others, at her mother's knee. And now she is the Palace healer, tending to her emperor...

The last prophecy of magician Sian Chamblyn's late grandfather points to Ariana as the one to save Columbyana from a growing evil. Sian has hightailed it from lands afar to deliver the message. When he must prepare her for the fight of her life, Sian intends to remain undistracted by his sensuously beautiful protˇgˇe. But in the heat of battle-and passion-diligence might be his downfall...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Publishers Weekly:

This next generation follow-up to the Sisters of the Sun trilogy finds the Sun Witch's daughter, Ariana Kane Varden, facing her own epic quest and the prospect of romance in Jones's richly realized fantasy world. Up until the wizard Sian Chamblyn appears at court with dire news, the witch Ariana has used her modest powers of healing to aid the ailing emperor of Columbyana. That changes, however, when Sian's alarming prophecy points to her as one of three cousins who must lead the land against as-yet-unrevealed forces of evil—an evil that promises to unleash monsters on the land and "a very ugly death" for the unprepared. Neither the cynical Sian nor Ariana believe she's capable of leading an army, but they're forced to work together to train her for the struggle ahead. Bit by bit, Ariana develops powers that help her divine the true nature of their foe, at the same time she's reluctantly falling in love with the equally recalcitrant wizard. Punchy battle scenes and steamy lovemaking will please genre fans, but it's Jones's gift for creating complex heroes and villains that lifts this story out of the ordinary. (Mar.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist:

The first in Jones' Children of the Moon trilogy reveals a prophecy: Columbyana must be defended by the first born of three Fyne witches. Stern magician Sian Chamblyn is dismayed to learn that two of the prophesied heroes are female. Ariana Kane Vaden, the emperor's own healer and the daughter of Sophie from The Sun Witch (2004), is destined to fight against the evil that is menacing the empire. While training Ariana for the war to come (and falling in love with her), Sian accompanies her to the dread thirteenth level of the palace, where Ariana is possessed by the soul of a long-dead evil empress who reveals that the enemy is the Isen Demon, who gains strength as he consumes souls. Crown prince Ciro is now under the demon's control and has raised an army of the soulless. Jones' paranormal adventure works well both as heroic fantasy and fantasy romance and will appeal to readers of Barbara Hambly and Lois McMaster Bujold. Diana Tixier Herald
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Linda Winstead Jones
Published by Berkley Sensation (2007)
ISBN 10: 0425214486 ISBN 13: 9780425214480
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Sensation, 2007. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110425214486

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 43.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Linda Winstead Jones
Published by Berkley Sensation
ISBN 10: 0425214486 ISBN 13: 9780425214480
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Sensation. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0425214486 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0214765

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Linda Winstead Jones
Published by Berkley Sensation (2007)
ISBN 10: 0425214486 ISBN 13: 9780425214480
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Berkley Sensation, 2007. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0425214486

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 87.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds