Sex, Science & Profits: How People Evolved to Make Money

3.23 avg rating
( 26 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780434008247: Sex, Science & Profits: How People Evolved to Make Money
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A clever, thought-provoking look at the biological roots of economics -- Kealey’s insightful work illuminates in the tradition of Richard Dawkins, Steven Pinker and Jared Diamond.

In this highly original work, the author makes a groundbreaking and exciting connection between the
evolutionary and economic history of humanity. He explains how the roots of barter, trade and the contract are embedded in human nature, and how markets work on the evolutionary patterns of natural selection.

Splendidly multi-faceted, the book travels across human history from Neolithic times, through Ancient Egypt and the Renaissance European explorers, to the failure of the Soviet economy in recent years. Through this journey Kealey skillfully demonstrates how an understanding of biology and natural selection radically transforms our view of economics, business, technology and the economic history of the human species. This exceptional study will appeal to anyone who enjoys popular science, history or serious business books. Sex, Science and Profits is witty, magnificent, thought- provoking and provocative. It promises to be an important and highly controversial book.
From the Hardcover edition.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Terence Kealey is a clinical biochemist at the University of Cambridge and at Addenbrooke’s Hospital, specializing in the biochemistry of hair. He writes regularly for the Spectator and the New Scientist.
From the Hardcover edition.

Review:

Praise for Kealey’s The Economic Laws of Scientific Research:
“A brilliant book. One of the most appetizing and sustained polemics ever concocted on a serious
topic” -- Economist

“One of the most intelligent, trend-changing and courageous books I have ever read” -- Matt Ridley, Daily Telegraph
From the Hardcover edition.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Terence Kealey
Published by William Heinemann (2008)
ISBN 10: 0434008249 ISBN 13: 9780434008247
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Heinemann, 2008. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110434008249

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 55.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds