Wake Up, Big Barn!

3.55 avg rating
( 51 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780439266277: Wake Up, Big Barn!

A gorgeous first picture book which demands to be read aloud by an exciting new author/illustrator about a rowdy and rollicking farm.

Suzanne Chitwood's show stopping, eye-popping art style is bound to be the buzz of the season. Drawn in a classical style and "painted" in papers and other materials from top-secret sources, Suzanne's mud-bathing piggies, wiggling weather vanes, be-bop frogs, and groovy owl appear to emerge from the pages of the book. And her musical text features onomatopoeic sounds and funky rhythms that make this book perfect for reading aloud.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

From morning 'til night, the sights and sounds of a farm are pure delight for readers of Suzanne Tanner Chitwood's Wake Up, Big Barn! Gorgeous and unusual torn-paper collages, using her husband's discarded catalogs, are rich in color and pattern. A rooster bellows his "Cock-a-doodle-doo!" as feathers fly in his exuberance. A closer look reveals that those feathers are actually the red plaids of shirts and the brilliant crimson of flowers; presumably, her husband collects gardening and casual-wear catalogs. Simple, onomatopoeic, and rhyming text make it a terrific read-aloud: "Hip-hop, / bebop, / farm frogs / rock hop!" Every illustration is frame-worthy, from frolicking frogs to muddy pigs to falling cherries ("Ping! Ping!").

This is an impressive first foray into picture books for the talented Chitwood. The artwork is as friendly as it is beautiful, and the lively, rollicking verses will capture the fancy of readers young and old. (Ages 2 to 6) --Emilie Coulter

Review:

A busy barn comes to life through a series of invigorating torn-paper collages. "Wake up, Big Barn!" A large red rooster, set against an expanse of white, cock-a-doodle-doos across a two-page spread. Other animals are introduced: the mule hee-haws; the cow moos; the pigs, enjoying a mud bath, oink. Other farm elements are noisy, too--the tractor chugs, and the cherries ping as they fall to the ground. Although the book follows activities on the farm through the day, children might not be aware of the passage of time until night falls. They may also find a few of the collages too sophisticated for easy recognition. But for the most part, Chitwood's artwork, bursting with life, is both remarkable for its skill and on target for the audience. Use this in toddler story hours. Listeners will have fun making farm noises, and the art looks even better from a distance than it does from close up.--Booklist, February 2002

A rhyming celebration of the barnyard for the toddler set-haven't we seen this before? Bright, striking collages set against an expanse of white background depict the denizens of yet another barnyard. Newcomer Tanner's cut- and torn-paper figures are big and bold and highly textured-almost better for group sharing than one-on-one, as distance pulls the bits of paper into a cohesive whole. A bright red rooster crows with such energy that he sets his feathers flying, and a quintet of frogs dance on the rocks. The text takes an active role in the illustration, capering across the page with abandon. Unfortunately, the text can't support the illustrations: a forced rhyme comments on each individual spread with no attempt to create any kind of narrative, so the reader gets a disconnected string of animals and objects. Largely onomatopoetic, in order to be understood as rhyme, the text also demands to be read at a clip that shortchanges both the illustrations and the very young children who are this offering's natural audience. Buy a copy of Fleming's Barnyard Banter instead, and hope for a more original and successful marriage of text and illustration in the talented artist's next outing.--Kirkus Reviews, March 15th 2002
Extraordinary paper-collage illustrations wake up a familiar subject for children's books-a sunup to sundown day on the farm. Using assorted patterns and hues from catalog pages, Chitwood creates vibrant roosters, muddy pigs, metallic weather vanes, hungry horses, and fully flared peacocks. The spare, rhythmical text is fresh and lively and includes lines such as: "Wiggle, wiggle weather vane, windy day" and "Hip-hop, bebop, farm frogs rock hop!" Children will be drawn in by the dramatic bright shapes intensified by white backgrounds and amused by the animated creatures populating the barnyard. Observant youngsters will be fascinated by the fragments of letters and numbers and the huge variety of patterns that emerge when the illustrations are examined closely. A great nonsensical bedtime book with artistic flare.--School Library Journal, April 2002
"Wake up, Big Barn!/ Cock-a-doodle-doo!/ Piggies love/ a mud bath./ Hee-haw, hee-haw!/ Moo, moo, moo!" In her debut picture book Chitwood (a former art teacher) charts the daily flow of farm life with rhythmic, onomatopoeic text. But it's her dynamic torn-paper collage that really makes an impression. A red rooster crafted out of images recycled from the pages of clothing catalogues and magazines, for example, flaunts feathers of dress plaids, fleece and autumnal foliage. Later, a peacock's blue plumage (featuring blue-and-white checks, a traditional floral motif and a blue-and-yellow Hawaiian print) fans out from its small body, which appears to be rendered from a swatch of knitted wool. The overall compositions, comprised of many tiny details, remain balanced and electric. In the final spread, close inspection reveals zippers, seams and catalogue copy in yellow barn doors ("Good night,/ Big Barn!/ Good night, you!") This sure-fi

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Suzanne Tanner Chitwood, Suzanne Tanner Chitwood (Illustrator)
Published by Cartwheel (2002)
ISBN 10: 0439266270 ISBN 13: 9780439266277
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cartwheel, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0439266270

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 47.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Suzanne Tanner Chitwood
Published by Cartwheel (2002)
ISBN 10: 0439266270 ISBN 13: 9780439266277
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cartwheel, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Suzanne Tanner Chitwood (illustrator). book. Bookseller Inventory # M0439266270

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 51.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Suzanne Tanner Chitwood
Published by Cartwheel (2002)
ISBN 10: 0439266270 ISBN 13: 9780439266277
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cartwheel, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110439266270

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 52.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Chitwood, Suzanne Tanner
Published by Cartwheel
ISBN 10: 0439266270 ISBN 13: 9780439266277
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cartwheel. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0439266270 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0156610

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Suzanne Tanner Chitwood
Published by Cartwheel (2002)
ISBN 10: 0439266270 ISBN 13: 9780439266277
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cartwheel, 2002. Book Condition: new. Shiny and new! Expect delivery in 20 days. Bookseller Inventory # 9780439266277-1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 89.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds