Ilona Andrews Magic Bleeds (Kate Daniels)

ISBN 13: 9780441018529

Magic Bleeds (Kate Daniels)

4.46 avg rating
( 59,251 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780441018529: Magic Bleeds (Kate Daniels)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The fourth Kate Daniels novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author who “defines urban fantasy” (Fresh Fiction).

Kate Daniels works for the Order of the Knights of Merciful Aid, officially as a liaison with the mercenary guild. Unofficially, she cleans up the paranormal problems no one else wants to handle—especially if they involve Atlanta’s shapeshifting community.
 
When she’s called in to investigate a fight at the Steel Horse, a bar midway between the territories of the shapeshifters and the necromancers, Kate quickly discovers there’s a new player in town. One who’s been around for thousands of years—and rode to war at the side of Kate’s father.
 
This foe may be too much even for Kate and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, to handle. Because this time, Kate will be taking on family...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

MAGIC BLEEDS is one of those pivotal books that can either make or break the series. Vital changes take place.  The enemy Kate faces in this book is the most powerful we've written to date.  When Kate shattered the blood sword during Midnight Games, she knew there would be consequences.  Well, the consequences arrive and smash her life to pieces.  She loses everything and her world will never be the same.

In so many ways, this is a fight or flight book.  Kate's opponent has been called the City Eater, and the moniker is well deserved.  The situation is desperate.  Kate knows she is outclassed and underpowered. The City Eater has centuries of experience, commanding the forces of nature and deadly disease.  Kate would have preferred facing anything else, a mythical monster, a legend, a god, but no, her opponent is much, much worse.  The City Eater is family.  This enemy has no mercy, no compassion, and no weakness.

Kate has to stand against her bloodline and probably die, or run, abandoning everyone she cares about, and live to fight another day. It very clear just how far she has to go in learning her powers and she has no time to do it. 

In the middle of this chaos she must decide if she should take that one vital step forward, bridging the distance between her and Beast Lord.  For the first time in her life she is truly, deeply in love.  But being with Curran means telling him about her ancestry, because as she says in the narrative, "You can't smelt happiness from a lie. The world doesn't work that way." Being with him means dragging him down into her private war, because Kate knows that once they're together, her problems will become his and Curran doesn't do backing down.

Eventually all prospective couples reach the point of no return: that spot in the relationship when they have to decide if they are together or not. This is the book where Kate and Curran decide.  They both know that whichever way they go, there is no turning back.  This is it. 

But no matter how grim the situation seems, no matter how terrible is the enemy, and how afraid Kate is, MAGIC BLEEDS ends with hope and excitement. It's the end of the old but also the beginning of something new.  It ties the plot threads raised in the previous three books, clears the field, and weaves new ones, so the characters can move on to new and exciting adventures. It was extremely difficult to write, but when we were done, I realized that I couldn't wait to write the next one, because of the new possibilities MAGIC BLEEDS brought and that made me happy.

We hope you like it.

From the Back Cover:

Atlanta would be a nice place to live, if it weren't for the magic. When the magic is up, rogue mages cast their spells and monsters appear, while guns refuse to fire and cars fail to start. But then technology returns, and the magic recedes as unpredictably as it rose.
 
Kate Daniels works for the Order of the Knights of Merciful Aid, officially as a liaison with the mercenary guild. Unofficially, she cleans up the paranormal problems no one else wants to handle--especially if they involve Atlanta's shapeshifting community.
 
When she's called in to investigate a fight at the Steel Horse, a bar midway between the territories of the shapeshifters and the necromancers, Kate quickly discovers there's a new player in town. One who's been around for thousands of years--and rode to war at the side of Kate's father.
 
This foe may be too much even for Kate and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, to handle. Because this time, Kate will be taking on family...
 

"Fans of Carrie Vaughn and Patricia Briggs will appreciate this fast-paced, action-packed urban fantasy full of magic, vampires, [and] werebeasties."--Monsters and Critics
 
"Splendid...an edgy, dark fantasy."--Patricia Briggs, #1 New York Times bestselling author
 
"A new take on the urban fantasy genre, the world Kate inhabits is a blend of gritty magic and dangerous mystery."--News and Sentinel

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Andrews, Ilona
ISBN 10: 0441018521 ISBN 13: 9780441018529
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # KB-9780441018529

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 3.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Andrews, Ilona
Published by Ace
ISBN 10: 0441018521 ISBN 13: 9780441018529
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ace. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0441018521. Seller Inventory # Z0441018521ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Andrews, Ilona
Published by Ace
ISBN 10: 0441018521 ISBN 13: 9780441018529
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ace. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0441018521. Seller Inventory # Z0441018521ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Andrews, Ilona
Published by Ace
ISBN 10: 0441018521 ISBN 13: 9780441018529
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ace. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0441018521. Seller Inventory # Z0441018521ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Andrews, Ilona
Published by Ace
ISBN 10: 0441018521 ISBN 13: 9780441018529
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ace. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0441018521. Seller Inventory # Z0441018521ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Andrews, Ilona
Published by Ace
ISBN 10: 0441018521 ISBN 13: 9780441018529
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ace. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0441018521. Seller Inventory # Z0441018521ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Andrews, Ilona
Published by Ace
ISBN 10: 0441018521 ISBN 13: 9780441018529
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ace. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0441018521. Seller Inventory # Z0441018521ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Andrews, Ilona
Published by Ace
ISBN 10: 0441018521 ISBN 13: 9780441018529
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ace. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0441018521. Seller Inventory # Z0441018521ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Andrews, Ilona
ISBN 10: 0441018521 ISBN 13: 9780441018529
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780441018529

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Ilona Andrews
Published by Ace Books, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0441018521 ISBN 13: 9780441018529
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ace Books, United States, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Ace Mass-Market. Language: English . Brand New Book. The fourth Kate Daniels novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author who defines urban fantasy (Fresh Fiction). Kate Daniels works for the Order of the Knights of Merciful Aid, officially as a liaison with the mercenary guild. Unofficially, she cleans up the paranormal problems no one else wants to handle--especially if they involve Atlanta s shapeshifting community. When she s called in to investigate a fight at the Steel Horse, a bar midway between the territories of the shapeshifters and the necromancers, Kate quickly discovers there s a new player in town. One who s been around for thousands of years--and rode to war at the side of Kate s father. This foe may be too much even for Kate and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, to handle. Because this time, Kate will be taking on family. Seller Inventory # AAS9780441018529

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book