Fiction Stephen Kyle Beyond Recall

ISBN 13: 9780446608091

Beyond Recall

3.51 avg rating
( 82 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780446608091: Beyond Recall

A female Nobel Prize-winning doctor creates a deadly virus that is aimed at killing only women in America. Ironically, the doctor is threatening the world with annihilation in order to save it from Armageddon. A humanitarian who once loved her is trapped into helping her.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Excerpt. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.:

Chapter 1

The deadline was up. She would have to kill.

Rachel Lesage stopped on the dirt path, furious, and found herself in a no-man's-land between two worlds. The path from the ravine had brought her to the rear lawn of Lesage Laboratories, while behind her lay the woods. The peace there-the hush of the trees, dappled sunlight, shy birds-had given sanctuary from the decision she had to make, but now there was no more refuge. The lawn stretched before her with mono-green precision, purged of every nongrass species. No birdsong, no shade, no shelter. Nowhere for her soul to hide.

They had refused, ignored her warning. It enraged her. I never wanted this. From the front of the building where a casino tent had been set up, the electric twang of a country band jarred her. It was Employee Appreciation Day here at her Bar Harbor facility, and families were picnicking on the front lawn. More were inside, piling up their plates in the cafeteria, line-dancing in the conference room, squealing over raffle prizes in the lobby. Their clamor had driven her to the ravine, though as Lesage Laboratories' founder and CEO she should be among them, playing host. Tonight, at the lobster dinner, she must make a speech; tomorrow, in Dallas, the keynote address at an industry conference. As a Nobel laureate she was a speaker much in demand. But here, now, the deadline was up . . . she must act.

She started along the concrete walkway, moving mechanically, feeling cold despite the glaring sun. Like an accident victim in shock, was her detached thought. She'd always been able to focus her mind clinically, to analyze phenomena, even her own reactions.

Suddenly, she wasn't sure she could go through with it.

The casino tent rose before her, garish yellow, a fool's idea of gold. Whoops from people playing blackjack drifted over the parking lot with a fairground giddiness, and the country singer went on whining out his heartbreak, his loss. False emotion. Rachel knew, because the anguish chilling her was so profoundly real.

She heard a child's wail. A little boy, all alone, was squatting in the parking lot, crying wildly, face red, eyes big with fear. Rachel felt a wave of sympathy, surprised by the force of this maternal response. It was over thirty years, yet she vividly recalled how her baby daughter's cry, even from another room, would tug milk beads to her nipples. She thought, Our primitive nervous system is hardwired for only two types of stimuli: biological needs demanding instant gratification, or immediate dangers demanding "fight or flight." Nothing else penetrates.

She crouched before the boy. "Where's your mother?"

He gaped at her, instantly silent, though fear and confusion still swam in his eyes, and his breath came in spasms. He pointed to the tent. "Daddy." Gambling regulations barred children from the premises, so his father had simply left him outside. Rachel imagined the young man drawn to the bright tent as instinctively as a moth, as mindlessly as an addict. Instant gratification. Hardwired.

An engine revved and a station wagon suddenly reversed toward them. Rachel snatched the boy up and stepped clear with him as the car lurched past. Not noticing them, the driver shunted gears and drove off, tires squealing. The boy squirmed in Rachel's unfamiliar arms, and the moment she set him down he tore away, crying again, running blindly toward a patch of tall ornamental grass.

Her eyes locked on the high stalks. The chill snaked out from deep in her heart as she saw again the tall sorghum grass in the hills above Kigali. Saw a wounded boy crawling, bleeding. Saw herself clawing over the stony ground, trying to reach him . . . her son . . . Paul . . .

"Dr. Lesage!"

Her public relations manager was hurrying across the asphalt. "Doctor, could we get pictures of you inside the casino? Maybe playing the-"

"No." She was staring at the boy. He was sobbing hysterically, hands on his head in a pathetic surrender to panic. He seemed to stand for all the earth's children abandoned in humanity's greed. His desolation galvanized her. She was resolved. The deadline had passed.

"Find that child's father," she told the PR man. "He's in the tent." She started toward the lab.

In her office she picked up the phone. She was sickened by what she was about to set in motion. But if I falter, I'm worse than the rest. Denying responsibility, bewailing that nothing can be done.

Something can.

She depressed the numbers: it was done. The system was activated, beyond recall. The day after delivery, thousands would be dead.

An immediate danger. A primitive stimulus. The world will take notice now.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kyle, Stephen
Published by Vision
ISBN 10: 0446608092 ISBN 13: 9780446608091
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Monky Business: briansmonky
(Worcester, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vision. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0446608092 Ask about discounted shipping available when multiple items are purchased at the same time. FAST, RELIABLE, GUARANTEED and happily SHIPPED WITHIN 1 BUSINESS DAY!. Bookseller Inventory # MX16-2475

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.40
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kyle, Stephen
Published by Vision
ISBN 10: 0446608092 ISBN 13: 9780446608091
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Brats Bargain Books
(Waresboro, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vision. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0446608092 Never Read-has some wear to the cover and/or edges due to shelf life -publishers mark-Good Reading Copy- I ship FAST!. Bookseller Inventory # SKU03642

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.59
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Stephen Kyle
ISBN 10: 0446608092 ISBN 13: 9780446608091
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
stressfreebooks
(Bay City, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand new copy. Ships fast secure, expedited available!. Bookseller Inventory # 3UBCFO00094M

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stephen Kyle
Published by Vision
ISBN 10: 0446608092 ISBN 13: 9780446608091
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Harolds Bookstore
(Deland, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vision. Book Condition: new. Perfect condition. Bookseller Inventory # 3070

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Stephen Kyle
Published by Vision (2000)
ISBN 10: 0446608092 ISBN 13: 9780446608091
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vision, 2000. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0446608092

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Stephen Kyle
Published by Warner Books
ISBN 10: 0446608092 ISBN 13: 9780446608091
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book-Fare
(Dublin, Ireland)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Warner Books. Paperback. Book Condition: New. UNUSED, GOOD, NOT EX-LIBRARY, some inner pages are creased, Tanned edges, 448 pages. In the tradition of Robin Cook and The Hot Zone comes a mesmerizing medical thriller of a grief-stricken mother holding the world hostage in order to end global conflict. Bookseller Inventory # 10329

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.07
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Stephen Kyle
Published by Vision (2013)
ISBN 10: 0446608092 ISBN 13: 9780446608091
New Mass Market Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vision, 2013. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0446608092

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Kyle, Stephen
Published by Vision (2013)
ISBN 10: 0446608092 ISBN 13: 9780446608091
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vision, 2013. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110446608092

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Kyle, Stephen
Published by Vision
ISBN 10: 0446608092 ISBN 13: 9780446608091
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vision. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0446608092 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.1097658

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds