Clouds of Witness: Lord Peter Wimsey Book 2 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries)

4.03 avg rating
( 14,720 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780450001802: Clouds of Witness: Lord Peter Wimsey Book 2 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers. The Duke of Denver, accused of murder, stands trial for his life in the House of Lords. Naturally, his brother Lord Peter Wimsey is investigating the crime - this is a family affair. The murder took place at the duke's shooting lodge and Lord Peter's sister was engaged to marry the dead man. But why does the duke refuse to co-operate with the investigation? Can he really be guilty, or is he covering up for someone?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.

From AudioFile:

This delightful production is a perfect introduction to theworld of Lord Peter Wimsey, one of the world's foremost fictionaldetectives. Listeners, who may be familiar with Carmichael's smoothportrayal of Lord Peter from PBS's "Mystery," will equally enjoy hisadept and vivid characterizations of the other characters, includingBunter, Inspector Parker, and Sir Impy Biggs. Lord Peter returns froma vacation to investigate a murder on his own doorstep: His brother,the Duke of Denver, has been arrested for the murder of his sisterMary's fiancé. The unabridged presentation does justice to amultilayered, complex story line and will give listeners a chance tobe reintroduced to one of the earliest appearances of this elegant,classic character. E.J.F. © AudioFile 2002, Portland, Maine-- Copyright © AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780062315540: Clouds of Witness: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0062315544 ISBN 13:  9780062315540
Publisher: Bourbon Street Books, 2014
Softcover

9780061043536: Clouds of Witness

Harper..., 1995
Softcover

9781463782252: Clouds of Witness

Create..., 2011
Softcover

9781444716122: Clouds of Witness Ssa

Hodder
Hardcover

9781987817546: Clouds of Witness

Stella..., 2016
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sayers, Dorothy L.
Published by Hodder Paperback (1962)
ISBN 10: 0450001806 ISBN 13: 9780450001802
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperback, 1962. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110450001806

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dorothy L. Sayers
Published by Hodder Paperback (1962)
ISBN 10: 0450001806 ISBN 13: 9780450001802
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperback, 1962. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0450001806

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 53.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sayers, Dorothy L.
Published by Hodder Paperback
ISBN 10: 0450001806 ISBN 13: 9780450001802
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperback. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0450001806 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # XM-0450001806

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 61.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds