In the Teeth of the Evidence: Lord Peter Wimsey Book 14 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries)

4.06 avg rating
( 3,520 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780450002489: In the Teeth of the Evidence: Lord Peter Wimsey Book 14 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries)

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers. All that was left of the garage was a heap of charred and smouldering beams. In the driving seat of the burnt-out car were the remains of a body ...An accident, said the police. An accident, said the widow. She had been warning her husband about the danger of the car for months. Murder, said the famous detective Lord Peter Wimsey - and proceeded to track down the killer.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.

From AudioFile:

Ian Carmichael is a great reader; his sound effects, especially of the dentist's drill, are unforgettable and add a unique element to this collection of seventeen stories. Carmichael is perfect as Lord Peter Wimsey, whom he played on TV, and he performs Montague Egg and the other multitude of characters with rich, successful accents and dialects. He presents the narration consistently and clearly with excellent dramatic pacing. "The Leopard Lady," in which Cyril is so delicately disposed of, and "The Cyprian Cat," in which Mrs. Merridew dies after the Cyprian cat is shot, are excellent examples of Sayers at her best. These classic British detective stories, with a little of the supernatural thrown in, will delight listeners. S.C.A. (c)AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 73.07
US$ 42.30

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sayers, Dorothy L.
Published by Hodder Paperback (1983)
ISBN 10: 0450002489 ISBN 13: 9780450002489
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperback, 1983. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110450002489

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 42.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds