Kathy Cecala Secret Vow

ISBN 13: 9780451192271

Secret Vow

3.42 avg rating
( 24 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780451192271: Secret Vow
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A novel in the vein of The Thorn Birds and The Notebook tells of a bittersweet love affair between a beautiful young widow and a troubled priest that is shattered by an act of violence. Reprint.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Kirkus Reviews:

Forbidden love, passion and insanity pack the pages of this debut, a Bridges of Madison County wannabe but to no avail--chilly characters and arbitrary action spell alienation for the reader. For 30 years Rose Keating has led an ordinary life as a farmer's wife and mother in rural Connecticut. A dark passion lurks in her past, though, and it returns to haunt her just as her husband, Burt, is dying. Rose's passion was for a monk who, she learns, has recently disappeared from his monastery in Pennsylvania, and recalling that love affair impels her to seek the man out despite her husband's desperate condition. Her journey brings back memories of her first encounter with Father Theophane, then a Catholic priest in her small hometown, who sought out her homeopathic remedies to heal his excruciating headaches. When the priest abruptly abandoned his post, the lovestruck Rose followed him to his family mansion on a small island off the coast of Maine. The two became lovers, though the priest, reverting to his given name of Ellis, refused to let Rose in on the details of his traumatic childhood. Before the summer was over, the troubled priest impregnated Rose, tried to involve her in a double suicide, then disappeared. Abandoned, Rose married Ellis's homely cousin, Burt, and settled into the sensible role of a farmer's wife. It will be three decades before the soon-to-be-widowed Rose manages to corner her former lover and learn the answers to the mysteries surrounding him. In the end, Ellis must return to his monastery, but the late-in-life encounter eases his own psychological burdens as well as Rose's. Cecala's tale never quite recovers from the cold-bloodedness of its hero, who so often turns his back on Rose, or of its heroine, who abandons her dying husband with hardly a thought. Passion and intrigue may abound, but another Bridges this is not. -- Copyright ©1997, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

From Booklist:

After her first husband commits suicide, Rose Connolly inherits his Connecticut nursery. Her passion for gardening and herb lore attracts Father Ellis Barlowe, a Roman Catholic priest who suffers from periodic, daylong migraines. She supplies a special blend of chamomile tea that soothes his raging headaches. He asks her to join him at his Maine family home, where vows are broken. The brief affair has tragic consequences, as the reader can well imagine. After the lovers separate, Rose discovers that she is pregnant. A kindly nurseryman, who gives her bulbs and freshly harvested produce, becomes her second husband. They return to her business in Connecticut. During the next 30 years, Rose and Ellis correspond by letter. When he disappears, she believes she must search for him and find out whether they can rekindle the past. This brooding novel springs back and forth from 1965 to 1995 to reveal its tale of complex and maudlin relationships. Jennifer Henderson

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780525942900: Secret Vow

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0525942904 ISBN 13:  9780525942900
Publisher: Dutton Adult, 1997
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kathy Cecala
Published by Onyx (1998)
ISBN 10: 0451192273 ISBN 13: 9780451192271
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Onyx, 1998. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0451192273

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Kathy Cecala
Published by Onyx (1998)
ISBN 10: 0451192273 ISBN 13: 9780451192271
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Onyx, 1998. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0451192273

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Kathy Cecala
ISBN 10: 0451192273 ISBN 13: 9780451192271
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STRM-0451192273

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 79.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Kathy Cecala
Published by Onyx (1998)
ISBN 10: 0451192273 ISBN 13: 9780451192271
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Onyx, 1998. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0451192273n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 87.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds