Don't Worry, It Gets Worse: One Twentysomething's (Mostly Failed) Attempts at Adulthood

3.47 avg rating
( 2,540 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780452298187: Don't Worry, It Gets Worse: One Twentysomething's (Mostly Failed) Attempts at Adulthood

“Reading Don’t Worry, it Gets Worse is the equivalent of spending an evening out with your funniest friend. Nugent keeps you laughing from start to finish—even her asides are gems.”
 –Rachel Dratch, Saturday Night Live alum and author of Girl Walks into a Bar
 
Overeducated, underemployed, and hungover is no way to go through life, but here we are. After graduating college with a drink in one hand and a degree in the other, Alida Nugent was ready for the supportive, predictable embrace of “the real world.” She didn’t expect to be buried under a pile of student loan debt, laundry, and two-dollar bottles of wine, all of which pointed to the sinking realization that she had no idea what she was doing. 

In  Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse, Nugent shares what it takes to make the awkward leap from wide-eyed undergrad to “mature and responsible adult that definitely never eats peanut butter straight from the jar and considers it a meal.” From trying to find an apartment on the black hole otherwise known as Craigslist to the imaginative financial finagling required to pay off student loans and still enjoy happy hour, Nugent documents the formative moments of being a twentysomething with a little bit of snark and a lot of heart. Perfect for fans of HBO's  Girls and Allie Brosh's Hyperbole and a Half, Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse brings the best aspects of Nugent’s blog—the Frenemy—to the page as a love note to boozin’, bitchin’ ladies everywhere.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Alida Nugent graduated college with a degree in one hand and a drink in the other, eager to trade in parties and all-nighters for “the real world.” But post-grad wasn’t the glam life she imagined. Soon buried under a pile of bills, laundry, and three-dollar bottles of wine, it quickly became clear that she had no idea what she was doing. But hey, what twentysomething does?

In Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse, Nugent shares what it takes to make the awkward leap from undergrad to “mature and responsible adult that definitely never eats peanut butter straight from the jar and considers it a meal.” From trying to find an apartment on the black hole otherwise known as Craigslist to the creative maneuvering needed to pay off student loans and still enjoy happy hour, Nugent documents the formative moments of being a twentysomething with a little bit of snark and a lot of heart. Perfect for fans of HBO's Girls and Allie Brosh's Hyperbole and a Half, and based on her popular Tumblr blog The Frenemy, Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse is a love note to boozin’, bitchin’ ladies everywhere.

About the Author:

Alida Nugent is as shocked as you are that she’s making a living in today’s economy. She currently resides in Brooklyn and enjoys eating sandwiches on the stoops of other people’s apartments.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nugent, Alida
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0452298180 ISBN 13: 9780452298187
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
TextbookRush
(Grandview Heights, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Book Condition: Brand New. Ships SAME or NEXT business day. We Ship to APO/FPO addr. Choose EXPEDITED shipping and receive in 2-5 business days within the United States. See our member profile for customer support contact info. We have an easy return policy. Bookseller Inventory # 42327929

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Alida Nugent
ISBN 10: 0452298180 ISBN 13: 9780452298187
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97804522981870000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Nugent, Alida
Published by Plume Books 2013-05-07 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0452298180 ISBN 13: 9780452298187
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume Books 2013-05-07, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780452298187B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Alida Nugent
Published by Plume (2013)
ISBN 10: 0452298180 ISBN 13: 9780452298187
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # SONG0452298180

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Alida Nugent
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0452298180 ISBN 13: 9780452298187
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Putnam Inc, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 202 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Reading Don t Worry, it Gets Worse is the equivalent of spending an evening out with your funniest friend. Nugent keeps you laughing from start to finish even her asides are gems. Rachel Dratch, Saturday Night Live alum and author of Girl Walks into a Bar Overeducated, underemployed, and hungover is no way to go through life, but here we are. After graduating college with a drink in one hand and a degree in the other, Alida Nugent was ready for the supportive, predictable embrace of the real world. She didn t expect to be buried under a pile of student loan debt, laundry, and two-dollar bottles of wine, all of which pointed to the sinking realization that she had no idea what she was doing. InDon t Worry, It Gets Worse, Nugent shares what it takes to make the awkward leap from wide-eyed undergrad to mature and responsible adult that definitely never eats peanut butter straight from the jar and considers it a meal. From trying to find an apartment on the black hole otherwise known as Craigslist to the imaginative financial finagling required to pay off student loans and still enjoy happy hour, Nugent documents the formative moments of being a twentysomething with a little bit of snark and a lot of heart. Perfect for fans of HBO sGirlsand Allie Brosh s Hyperbole and a Half, Don t Worry, It Gets Worsebrings the best aspects of Nugent s blog the Frenemy to the page as a love note to boozin, bitchin ladies everywhere. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780452298187

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Alida Nugent
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0452298180 ISBN 13: 9780452298187
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Putnam Inc, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 202 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Reading Don t Worry, it Gets Worse is the equivalent of spending an evening out with your funniest friend. Nugent keeps you laughing from start to finish even her asides are gems. Rachel Dratch, Saturday Night Live alum and author of Girl Walks into a Bar Overeducated, underemployed, and hungover is no way to go through life, but here we are. After graduating college with a drink in one hand and a degree in the other, Alida Nugent was ready for the supportive, predictable embrace of the real world. She didn t expect to be buried under a pile of student loan debt, laundry, and two-dollar bottles of wine, all of which pointed to the sinking realization that she had no idea what she was doing. InDon t Worry, It Gets Worse, Nugent shares what it takes to make the awkward leap from wide-eyed undergrad to mature and responsible adult that definitely never eats peanut butter straight from the jar and considers it a meal. From trying to find an apartment on the black hole otherwise known as Craigslist to the imaginative financial finagling required to pay off student loans and still enjoy happy hour, Nugent documents the formative moments of being a twentysomething with a little bit of snark and a lot of heart. Perfect for fans of HBO sGirlsand Allie Brosh s Hyperbole and a Half, Don t Worry, It Gets Worsebrings the best aspects of Nugent s blog the Frenemy to the page as a love note to boozin, bitchin ladies everywhere. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780452298187

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Nugent, Alida
ISBN 10: 0452298180 ISBN 13: 9780452298187
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9780452298187

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Nugent, Alida
Published by Plume
ISBN 10: 0452298180 ISBN 13: 9780452298187
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
GIANTBOOKSALE
(HAUPPAUGE, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0452298180 Great book !! Established seller with great ratings! A+ Customer Service! Orders ship from the USA!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0452298180ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Alida Nugent
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0452298180 ISBN 13: 9780452298187
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0452298180

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Nugent, Alida
Published by Plume (2013)
ISBN 10: 0452298180 ISBN 13: 9780452298187
New Paperback Quantity Available: 15
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0452298180

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book