Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

3.68 avg rating
( 424 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780465006403: Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner." By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Yellow by Frank H. Wu is an eclectic, incisive investigation-cum-meditation that, though focusing on Asian Americans, recasts the United States' ongoing debate about racial identity in all forms. Wu suggests that the widespread stereotyping of Asian Americans, while "superficially positive," is inherently damaging. Mixing personal anecdotes, current events, academic studies, and court cases, Wu not only debunks the myth of a "model minority" but also makes discomfiting observations about attitudes toward affirmative action, what he calls "rational" discrimination, mixed marriages, racial profiling, and the "false divisions" of integration versus pluralism and assimilation versus multiculturalism. Though its conclusions are unremarkable, Yellow is thought provoking. The book's strength--besides its clarity and thoughtfulness--is a lack of tendentiousness. Wu prefers to suggest, not posit; muse, not shout; and ask questions, not necessarily answer them. --H. O'Billovitch

About the Author:

The first Asian American to serve as a law professor at Howard University Law School in Washington, D.C., Frank H. Wu has written for a range of publications including the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, and The Nation, and writes a regular column for Asian Week. He lives in Washington, D.C.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wu, Frank H.
ISBN 10: 046500640X ISBN 13: 9780465006403
New Quantity Available: 17
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2003. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780465006403

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wu, Frank
Published by Basic Books (AZ) 3/27/2003 (2003)
ISBN 10: 046500640X ISBN 13: 9780465006403
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books (AZ) 3/27/2003, 2003. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780465006403

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Frank Wu
ISBN 10: 046500640X ISBN 13: 9780465006403
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Seller Inventory # 97804650064030000000

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wu, Frank
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 046500640X ISBN 13: 9780465006403
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. Condition: New. Paperback. Worldwide shipping. FREE fast shipping inside USA (express 2-3 day delivery also available). Tracking service included. Ships from United States of America. Seller Inventory # 046500640X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Wu, Frank
Published by Basic Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 046500640X ISBN 13: 9780465006403
New Paperback Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 046500640X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Wu, Frank
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 046500640X ISBN 13: 9780465006403
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 046500640X BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.95. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780465006403

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Frank Wu
Published by INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 046500640X ISBN 13: 9780465006403
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US, United States, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the colour line of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as the model minority and the perpetual foreigner. By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu s work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment. Seller Inventory # AAC9780465006403

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Frank Wu
Published by INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 046500640X ISBN 13: 9780465006403
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US, United States, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the colour line of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as the model minority and the perpetual foreigner. By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu s work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment. Seller Inventory # AAC9780465006403

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Frank Wu
Published by INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 046500640X ISBN 13: 9780465006403
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US, United States, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the colour line of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as the model minority and the perpetual foreigner. By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu s work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment. Seller Inventory # BZE9780465006403

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Frank H. Wu
ISBN 10: 046500640X ISBN 13: 9780465006403
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offe.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 400 pages. 0.431. Seller Inventory # 9780465006403

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book