American Passages: A History of the United States, Volume 2: Since 1865, Brief

3.27 avg rating
( 15 ratings by Goodreads )
9780495915218: American Passages: A History of the United States, Volume 2: Since 1865, Brief
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

AMERICAN PASSAGES places a unique emphasis on time as the defining nature of history--how events lead to other events, actions, changes, and often-unexpected outcomes. The authors offer readers a sensible, step-by-step, compelling narrative with balanced coverage of political, economic, social, cultural, military, religious, and intellectual history.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Edward L. Ayers is the President of the University of Richmond. He was educated at the University of Tennessee and Yale University, where he received his Ph.D. in American Studies. Previously Dean of Arts and Sciences at the University of Virginia, where he began teaching in 1980, Ayers was named National Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation and the Council for the Support of Education in 2003. His book, IN THE PRESENCE OF MINE ENEMIES: WAR IN THE HEART OF AMERICA, 1859-1863 (2003), won the Bancroft Prize for distinguished work on the history of the United States. THE PROMISE OF THE NEW SOUTH: LIFE AFTER RECONSTRUCTION (1992) won prizes for the best book on the history of American race relations and on the history of the American South. It was a finalist for both the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize. He is the co-editor of THE OXFORD BOOK OF THE AMERICAN SOUTH (1997) and ALL OVER THE MAP: RETHINKING AMERICAN REGIONS (1996). The World Wide Web version of "The Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War" was recognized by the American Historical Association as the best aid to the teaching of history. His latest book is WHAT CAUSED THE CIVIL WAR? REFLECTIONS ON THE SOUTH AND SOUTHERN HISTORY (2005).


15. Reconstruction: Its Rise and Fall, 1865-1877. 16. An Economy Transformed: The Rise of Big Business, 1877-1887. 17. Urban Growth and Farm Protest, 1887-1893. 18. A Troubled Nation Expands Outward, 1893-1901. 19. Progressivism: Agendas for Change, 1901-1914. 20. Over There and Over Here: The Impact of World War I, 1914-1920. 21. The Age of Jazz and Mass Culture, 1921-1927. 22. The Great Depression, 1927-1933. 23. The New Deal, 1933-1939. 24. The Second World War, 1939-1945. 25. Postwar America, 1946-1953. 26. The Eisenhower Years, 1953-1960. 27. The Turbulent Years, 1960-1968. 28. Crisis of Confidence, 1969-1980. 29. From Reagan to Clinton, 1981-2000. 30. A Conservative Nation in a Globalizing World, 2000-2010.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 145.95
US$ 121.27

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Ayers, Edward L., Gould, Lewis L., Oshin
Published by Wadsworth Publishing (2011)
ISBN 10: 0495915211 ISBN 13: 9780495915218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Wadsworth Publishing, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110495915211

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 121.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds