Foundations for a Disequilibrium Theory of the Business Cycle: Qualitative Analysis and Quantitative Assessment

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780521369923: Foundations for a Disequilibrium Theory of the Business Cycle: Qualitative Analysis and Quantitative Assessment
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In a non-market-clearing approach to business cycle theory, this book builds an advanced model of economic activity, inflation and income distribution in a Keynesian spirit. After a qualitative analysis of the basic feedback mechanisms, the authors calibrate the model to the stylized facts of the business cycle in the U.S. economy. This calibrated model is used to carry out various macroeconomic simulation studies as well as a detailed study of the macroeconomic impact of various monetary policy rules. It will appeal both to theorists and to applied and policy economists.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Carl Chiarella is Professor of Quantitative Finance in the School of Finance and Economics at the University of Technology, Sydney. Peter Flaschel is Professor of Economics at the University of Bielefeld. Reiner Franke is a member of the Institute of Monetary Economics at the Technical University, Vienna.

Review:

Review of the hardback: 'Chiarella, Flaschel, and Franke have honed traditional stability analysis of aggregative macroeconomic models into an astonishingly penetrating critical tool. Their dispassionate and balanced study of current macroeconomic approaches throws much light on the conceptual contradictions that trouble this field, and motivate their suggested remedy, a return to a thorough disequilibrium dynamics in the tradition of Keynes, Metzler, and Goodwin. No serious student of mathematical macroeconomics working within any framework can afford to ignore this research and its implications.' Duncan K. Foley, Leo Model Professor, New School University

Review of the hardback: 'After three diversionary decades, it is high time theorists resumed study of economic adjustments out-of-equilibrium unencumbered by assumptions appropriate for microeconomic equilibrium but invalid at the macroeconomic level. The authors of this book have met this challenge with a carefully composed dynamic analysis of aggregate demand and supply. It incorporates the ingredients of classic works of the mid twentieth century in a new synthesis that refocuses the subject on the market economy's endogenous tendency to fluctuate around a positive growth trend. It will be an essential reference for anyone who wants to understand the behavior of economic aggregates and the policy problems associated with them.' Richard Day, University of Southern California

Review of the hardback: ' ... icy-relevant approach to macroeconomic analysis decisively forward. Their careful synthesis of realistic dynamic elements and their careful analysis of the sensitivity and stability characteristics of their model in a policy context is much to be admired. In this book the Bielefeld School achieves a genuine culmination of great depth and breadth.' J. Barkley Rosser, Jr, James Madison University, from the Foreword

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 56.00
US$ 53.45

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780521850254: Foundations for a Disequilibrium Theory of the Business Cycle: Qualitative Analysis and Quantitative Assessment

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0521850258 ISBN 13:  9780521850254
Publisher: Cambridge University Press, 2005
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Carl Chiarella, Peter Flaschel, Reiner Franke
Published by CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0521369924 ISBN 13: 9780521369923
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Building on The Dynamics of Keynesian Monetary Growth by Chiarella and Flaschel (2000), this book is a key contribution to business cycle theory, setting out a disequilibrium approach with gradual adjustments of the key macroeconomic variables. Its analytic study of a deterministic model of economic activity, inflation and income distribution integrates elements in the tradition of Keynes, Metzler and Goodwin (KMG). After a qualitative analysis of the basic feedback mechanisms, the authors calibrate the KMG model to the stylized facts of the business cycle in the U.S. economy, and then undertake a detailed numerical investigation of the local and global dynamics generated by the model. Finally, topical issues in monetary policy are studied in small macromodels as well as for the KMG model by incorporating an estimated Taylor-type interest rate reaction function. The stability features of this enhanced model are also compared to those of the original KMG model. Seller Inventory # AAV9780521369923

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 53.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Carl Chiarella, Peter Flaschel, Reiner Franke
Published by CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0521369924 ISBN 13: 9780521369923
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Building on The Dynamics of Keynesian Monetary Growth by Chiarella and Flaschel (2000), this book is a key contribution to business cycle theory, setting out a disequilibrium approach with gradual adjustments of the key macroeconomic variables. Its analytic study of a deterministic model of economic activity, inflation and income distribution integrates elements in the tradition of Keynes, Metzler and Goodwin (KMG). After a qualitative analysis of the basic feedback mechanisms, the authors calibrate the KMG model to the stylized facts of the business cycle in the U.S. economy, and then undertake a detailed numerical investigation of the local and global dynamics generated by the model. Finally, topical issues in monetary policy are studied in small macromodels as well as for the KMG model by incorporating an estimated Taylor-type interest rate reaction function. The stability features of this enhanced model are also compared to those of the original KMG model. Seller Inventory # AAV9780521369923

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 55.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Chiarella, Carl
Published by Cambridge University Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0521369924 ISBN 13: 9780521369923
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2016; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780521369923_lsuk

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 51.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

CARL CHIARELLA , PETER FLASCHEL , REINER FRANKE
ISBN 10: 0521369924 ISBN 13: 9780521369923
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. Paperback. Condition: NEW. 9780521369923 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. For all enquiries, please contact Herb Tandree Philosophy Books directly - customer service is our primary goal. Seller Inventory # HTANDREE0455049

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 50.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Chiarella, Carl
Published by Cambridge University Press 5/19/2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0521369924 ISBN 13: 9780521369923
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press 5/19/2011, 2011. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Foundations for a Disequilibrium Theory of the Business Cycle: Qualitative Analysis and Quantitative Assessment. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780521369923

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 61.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Carl Chiarella, Peter Flaschel, Reiner Franke
Published by Cambridge University Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0521369924 ISBN 13: 9780521369923
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 2011. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 1st edition. 549 pages. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0521369924

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 51.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.49
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Chiarella, Carl
Published by Cambridge University Press (2018)
ISBN 10: 0521369924 ISBN 13: 9780521369923
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 0521369924

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 61.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Chiarella, Carl
Published by Cambridge University Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0521369924 ISBN 13: 9780521369923
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 2011. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # LQ-9780521369923

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 52.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Carl Chiarella, Peter Flaschel, Reiner Franke
Published by Cambridge University Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0521369924 ISBN 13: 9780521369923
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. 1. Seller Inventory # DADAX0521369924

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 62.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Carl Chiarella
Published by Cambridge University Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 0521369924 ISBN 13: 9780521369923
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 2011. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780521369923

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 64.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book