Entering the Child's Mind: The Clinical Interview In Psychological Research and Practice

4.25 avg rating
( 4 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780521496858: Entering the Child's Mind: The Clinical Interview In Psychological Research and Practice
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Entering the Child's Mind teaches the "clinical interview" as a technique for gaining insight into a child's way of thinking. In the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, Dr. Ginsburg argues that standardized instruments of evaluation often fail to meet the challenges of complex cognition. He presents the clinical interview as a powerful tool that, when understood and used properly, can provide psychologists with a profound appreciation for children's thinking. This book represents the first comprehensive treatment of the theory and practice of the clinical interview method.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

The first comprehensive treatment of the theory and practice of the clinical interview method, a flexible, deliberately non-standardized technique for investigating children's thinking. The book aims (1) to show that the clinical interview method, in the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, is superior to standard assessments of children's thinking and (2) to help researchers and practitioners in psychology, education, and related fields learn to conduct clinical interviews and teach the method to students.

Review:

"This is a book that knows where it's going and heads there with authority." David Kirshner; Mind, Culture, and Activity: An International Journal

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 116.00
US$ 104.68

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 5.44
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ginsburg, Herbert P.
Published by Cambridge University Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 0521496853 ISBN 13: 9780521496858
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2016; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780521496858_lsuk

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 104.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.44
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Herbert P. Ginsburg
Published by Cambridge Univ Pr (1998)
ISBN 10: 0521496853 ISBN 13: 9780521496858
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge Univ Pr, 1998. Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. 1st edition. 277 pages. 9.50x6.00x0.75 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0521496853

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 101.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.44
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

HERBERT P. GINSBURG
ISBN 10: 0521496853 ISBN 13: 9780521496858
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 1998. Hardback. Condition: NEW. 9780521496858 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. For all enquiries, please contact Herb Tandree Philosophy Books directly - customer service is our primary goal. Seller Inventory # HTANDREE0459803

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 105.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.24
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ginsburg, Herbert P.
Published by Cambridge University Press (1997)
ISBN 10: 0521496853 ISBN 13: 9780521496858
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 1997. HRD. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780521496858

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 114.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Herbert P. Ginsburg
Published by Cambridge University Press (1997)
ISBN 10: 0521496853 ISBN 13: 9780521496858
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 1997. HRD. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780521496858

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 107.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.68
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ginsburg, Herbert P.
Published by Cambridge University Press (2018)
ISBN 10: 0521496853 ISBN 13: 9780521496858
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 2018. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 0521496853

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 124.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Herbert P. Ginsburg
Published by CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0521496853 ISBN 13: 9780521496858
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom, 2010. Hardback. Condition: New. New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Entering the Child s Mind teaches a powerful technique for gaining insight into a child s way of thinking. In the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, Dr Herbert P. Ginsburg argues that standardized instruments of evaluation often fail to meet the challenges of complex cognition. He presents the clinical interview as a powerful tool that, when understood and used properly, can provide psychologists with a profound appreciation for children s thinking. Dr Ginsburg aims to convince the reader that the method has important applications in research, clinical practice, and education. The clinical interview offers a degree of flexibility that allows psychologists to more closely assess the thinking of a particular child. Seller Inventory # APC9780521496858

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 129.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Herbert P. Ginsburg
Published by CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0521496853 ISBN 13: 9780521496858
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY PRESS, United Kingdom, 2010. Hardback. Condition: New. New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Entering the Child s Mind teaches a powerful technique for gaining insight into a child s way of thinking. In the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, Dr Herbert P. Ginsburg argues that standardized instruments of evaluation often fail to meet the challenges of complex cognition. He presents the clinical interview as a powerful tool that, when understood and used properly, can provide psychologists with a profound appreciation for children s thinking. Dr Ginsburg aims to convince the reader that the method has important applications in research, clinical practice, and education. The clinical interview offers a degree of flexibility that allows psychologists to more closely assess the thinking of a particular child. Seller Inventory # APC9780521496858

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 131.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Herbert P. Ginsburg
Published by Cambridge University Press (1997)
ISBN 10: 0521496853 ISBN 13: 9780521496858
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press, 1997. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1. Seller Inventory # DADAX0521496853

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 135.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Herbert P. Ginsburg
Published by Cambridge University Press
ISBN 10: 0521496853 ISBN 13: 9780521496858
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cambridge University Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 296 pages. Dimensions: 9.1in. x 6.1in. x 1.0in.Entering the Childs Mind teaches the clinical interview as a technique for gaining insight into a childs way of thinking. In the tradition of Piaget and Vygotsky, Dr. Ginsburg argues that standardized instruments of evaluation often fail to meet the challenges of complex cognition. He presents the clinical interview as a powerful tool that, when understood and used properly, can provide psychologists with a profound appreciation for childrens thinking. This book represents the first comprehensive treatment of the theory and practice of the clinical interview method. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Hardcover. Seller Inventory # 9780521496858

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 149.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book