The Black Rhinos of Namibia: Searching for Survivors in the African Desert

3.3 avg rating
( 79 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780544002333: The Black Rhinos of Namibia: Searching for Survivors in the African Desert
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

“An extraordinary exploration and meditation . . . [Bass] transports us along on this wonder-filled tour, full of hardness and hope, into an otherworldly place that mirrors our own.” —National Geographic Traveler

Black rhinos are not actually black. They are, however, giant animals with tiny eyes, feet the diameter of laundry baskets, and horns that are prized for both their aesthetic and medicinal qualities. Until recently, these creatures were perched on the edge of extinction, their numbers dwindling as they succumbed to poachers and the ravages of civil war. Now their numbers are rising, thanks to a groundbreaking new conservation method from the Save the Rhino Trust: make sure that rhinos are worth more alive than dead.

Rick Bass, who has long worn the uneasy mantle of both activist and hunter, traveled to Namibia to find black rhinos. The tale of his journey provides a deeper understanding of these amazing animals and of just what needs to be done to protect them.

“Bass provides a singularly thoughtful portrait of a unique animal, and a meditation on mankind’s relationship to both it and the natural world as a whole.” —Minneapolis Star Tribune

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

From one of our most gifted writers on the natural world comes a stunning exploration of a unique landscape and the improbable and endangered animal that makes its home there.
Rick Bass first made a name for himself as a writer and seeker of rare, iconic animals, including the grizzlies and wolves of the American West. Now he’s off on a new, far-flung adventure in the Namib of southwest Africa on the trail of another fascinating, vulnerable species. The black rhino is a three-thousand-pound, squinty-eyed giant that sports three-foot-long dagger horns, lives off poisonous plants, and goes for days without water.

Human intervention and cutting-edge conservation saved the rhinos—for now—from the brink of extinction brought on by poaching and war. Against the backdrop of one of the most ancient and harshest terrains on earth, Bass, with his characteristic insight and grace, probes the complex relationship between humans and nature and meditates on our role as both destroyer and savior.

In the tradition of Peter Matthiessen’s The Tree Where Man Was Born, Bass captures a haunting slice of Africa, especially of the “black” rhinos that glow ghostly white in the gleaming sun.

About the Author:

RICK BASS’s fiction has received O. Henry Awards, numerous Pushcart Prizes, awards from the Texas Institute of Letters, fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation, and his memoir, Why I Came West, was a finalist for a National Book Critics Circle Award.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780547055213: The Black Rhinos of Namibia: Searching for Survivors in the African Desert

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0547055218 ISBN 13:  9780547055213
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bass, Rick
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0544002334 ISBN 13: 9780544002333
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0544002334. Seller Inventory # Z0544002334ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Bass, Rick
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0544002334 ISBN 13: 9780544002333
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0544002334. Seller Inventory # Z0544002334ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Bass, Rick
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0544002334 ISBN 13: 9780544002333
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0544002334. Seller Inventory # Z0544002334ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Bass, Rick
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0544002334 ISBN 13: 9780544002333
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0544002334. Seller Inventory # Z0544002334ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Bass, Rick
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0544002334 ISBN 13: 9780544002333
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0544002334. Seller Inventory # Z0544002334ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Bass, Rick
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0544002334 ISBN 13: 9780544002333
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0544002334. Seller Inventory # Z0544002334ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Bass, Rick
Published by Mariner Books 2013-08-20 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0544002334 ISBN 13: 9780544002333
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books 2013-08-20, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. 0544002334. Seller Inventory # Z0544002334ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Bass, Rick
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0544002334 ISBN 13: 9780544002333
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 12
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0544002334. Seller Inventory # Z0544002334ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Bass, Rick
ISBN 10: 0544002334 ISBN 13: 9780544002333
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780544002333

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Rick Bass
Published by HOUGHTON MIFFLIN, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0544002334 ISBN 13: 9780544002333
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HOUGHTON MIFFLIN, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. "An extraordinary exploration and meditation . . . [Bass] transports us along on this wonder-filled tour, full of hardness and hope, into an otherworldly place that mirrors our own." --National Geographic Traveler Black rhinos are not actually black. They are, however, giant animals with tiny eyes, feet the diameter of laundry baskets, and horns that are prized for both their aesthetic and medicinal qualities. Until recently, these creatures were perched on the edge of extinction, their numbers dwindling as they succumbed to poachers and the ravages of civil war. Now their numbers are rising, thanks to a groundbreaking new conservation method from the Save the Rhino Trust: make sure that rhinos are worth more alive than dead. Rick Bass, who has long worn the uneasy mantle of both activist and hunter, traveled to Namibia to find black rhinos. The tale of his journey provides a deeper understanding of these amazing animals and of just what needs to be done to protect them. "Bass provides a singularly thoughtful portrait of a unique animal, and a meditation on mankind's relationship to both it and the natural world as a whole." --Minneapolis Star Tribune. Seller Inventory # AAC9780544002333

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book