Dutch Sneakers and Fleakeepers: 14 More Stories

4.29 avg rating
( 80 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780547237510: Dutch Sneakers and Fleakeepers: 14 More Stories
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In the tradition of Edward Lear, Calef Brown has fashioned fourteen nonsense poems so wacky that both young and old will be unable to suppress their laughter. Invented words and sounds and their visual counterparts create both an audible and a visual feast. This is the kind of silliness children (and many adults) relish.

Book Details:

  • Format: Paperback
  • Publication Date: 4/6/2009
  • Pages: 32
  • Reading Level: Age 5 and Up

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The creator of Polkabats and Octopus Slacks puts his playful pen to paper again in Dutch Sneakers and Fleakeepers. Calef Brown's story-poems are nonsensical and exuberant, and his muted, sophisticated Cubist paintings join the party with equal zeal. Did you know that fleas "learn to speak German / more quickly than bees"? Or that "bad teeth" aren't really bad, they just need "a cleaning and something to chew"? No, resist the impulse to look for lessons: Brown--a hip, modern Edward Lear--is here to have fun. Children will adore meeting the feared "Tattlesnake" (with unusual stripes and big ears), an electric-guitar-playing grandmother, a runaway waffle, a mysterious fish ("Green like asparagus. / Flat like a dish"), Sir Dance-a-lot, and the rest of Brown's crazy--yes, crazy--cast of characters. (All ages) --Karin Snelson

About the Author:

Calef Brown began his career as a tour guide at an early age, when he discovered the simple joy of pointing things out. He is also an artist, writer, and frequently a blue elephant. Mr. Brown’s illustrations have appeared in many magazines and newspapers, and his paintings have been exhibited in N.Y., L.A., S.F., and other places without fancy initials, like Osaka and Rome. He lives in Maine.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 6.99
US$ 13.98

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Calef Brown
Published by HOUGHTON MIFFLIN, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0547237510 ISBN 13: 9780547237510
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HOUGHTON MIFFLIN, United States, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Edward Lear, Calef Brown has fashioned fourteen nonsense poems so wacky that both young and old will be unable to suppress their laughter. Invented words and sounds and their visual counterparts create both an audible and a visual feast. This is the kind of silliness children (and many adults) relish. Seller Inventory # FLT9780547237510

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Calef Brown
Published by HOUGHTON MIFFLIN, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0547237510 ISBN 13: 9780547237510
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HOUGHTON MIFFLIN, United States, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Edward Lear, Calef Brown has fashioned fourteen nonsense poems so wacky that both young and old will be unable to suppress their laughter. Invented words and sounds and their visual counterparts create both an audible and a visual feast. This is the kind of silliness children (and many adults) relish. Seller Inventory # FLT9780547237510

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Calef Brown
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers (2009)
ISBN 10: 0547237510 ISBN 13: 9780547237510
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers, 2009. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0547237510

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Calef Brown
Published by Sandpiper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0547237510 ISBN 13: 9780547237510
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sandpiper, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Seller Inventory # DADAX0547237510

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brown, Calef
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers (2009)
ISBN 10: 0547237510 ISBN 13: 9780547237510
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110547237510

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Brown, Calef
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0547237510 ISBN 13: 9780547237510
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0547237510 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0217192

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 69.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds