Symphony No. 2 in C Minor: Resurrection, facsimile Edition

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
9780571100644: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor: Resurrection, facsimile Edition
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

One of the last great composers in the Austro-Germanic tradition, Gustav Mahler (1860–1911) created nine symphonies (the now-legendary Symphony No. 10 was left unfinished) that explored far-reaching, innovative, and visionary approaches to melody, tonal organization, and formal structure. Outstanding among these is the work that obsessed Mahler for seven years — the imposing Symphony No. 2 ("Resurrection"), scored for soprano solo, alto, solo, full chorus, and a vastly expanded orchestra.
Plagued by incessant visions of his own death, Mahler composed a tone poem Totenfeirer (Funeral Rite) that was to become the foundation and first movement of Symphony No. 2, posing the great question, "To what purpose have you lived?" Mahler described the middle movements as post-funeral memories, nostalgic daydreams, and a harsh awakening to the meaningless realities of real life, answered finally by the angelic folk poem "Primal Light," the terror of the Last Judgment, and the salvation of resurrections: "With wings that I wont ... I shall mount to the light ... I shall die, so as to live!" — an intimation of immortality through the monument of his works.
This profound work is presented here in full score with original instrumentation, bar-numbered movements, and with ample margins at the bottom of each score page for notes and analysis. Ideal for study in the classroom, at home, or in the concert hall, this affordable, high-quality, conveniently sized volume will be the edition of choice for music students and music lovers alike.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Austrian composer and conductor Gustav Mahler (1860–1911) wrote chiefly symphonies and Lieder. Late Romantic in style, his tempestuous works reflect the anxious mood of Europe at the turn of the 20th century. Because of his Jewish roots, the composer's music was suppressed by the Nazis but has enjoyed a steady revival over the past five decades.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want