Sarah Ward In Bitter Chill

ISBN 13: 9780571320981

In Bitter Chill

3.66 avg rating
( 2,479 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780571320981: In Bitter Chill
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

You can't bury the truth forever...Bampton, Derbyshire, January 1978. Two girls go missing: Rachel Jones returns, Sophie Jenkins is never found. Thirty years later: Sophie Jenkins's mother commits suicide. Rachel Jones has tried to put the past behind her and move on with her life. But news of the suicide re-opens old wounds and Rachel realises that the only way she can have a future is to finally discover what really happened all those years ago. This is a story about loss and family secrets, and how often the very darkest secrets are those that are closest to you.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Sarah Ward is an online book reviewer whose blog, Crimepieces (www.crimepieces.com), reviews the best of current crime fiction published around the world. She has also reviewed for Eurocrime and Crimesquad and is a judge for the Petrona Award for Scandinavian translated crime novels. She lives in Derbyshire. Follow Sarah on Twitter @sarahrward1

Review:

"Great new mystery set in the atmospheric Peak District of England. When a woman’s suicide is found to be related to an unsolved case of a missing girl, the police must reinvestigate a long cold case. I hope this book will be the first in a new series!"―Pamela Wiggins, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC, October 2015 LibraryReads

“Ward, a reviewer of international crime fiction on her blog, Crimepieces, skillfully weaves a compelling plot in this police procedural with a genealogical bent. An accomplished debut by a writer to watch.” ―Booklist

“Relentless, compelling, and meticulously suspenseful. Fans of Ian Rankin and Elizabeth George will rejoice at this atmospheric and authentic debut, expertly told, where modern-day police struggle to untangle disturbing secrets of the past. Terrific.” ―Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony and Mary Higgins Clark award winning author of Truth Be Told

In Bitter Chill deserves to be one of the stand out debuts of 2015. A tense, page-turning mystery that grips readers from the first. I'm looking forward to more from Sarah Ward.” ―William Ryan, author of The Darkening Field

In Bitter Chill is an elegant and thoughtful novel, as well as a compassionate investigation into the dark heart of family relationships and the lurking power of long buried secrets. This is a fine debut, and Sarah Ward is a writer to watch.” ―Chris Ewan, award-winning author of Dead Line

“The most engaging debut I have come across in a long time.” ―Yrsa Sigurdardottir, author of I Remember You

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780571321001: In Bitter Chill

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0571321003 ISBN 13:  9780571321001
Publisher: Faber & Faber Crime, 2001
Softcover

9781250069177: In Bitter Chill: A Mystery (Inspector Francis Sadler)

Minota..., 2015
Hardcover

9781410486677: In Bitter Chill (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic)

Thornd..., 2016
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sarah Ward
Published by Faber & Faber (2015)
ISBN 10: 0571320988 ISBN 13: 9780571320981
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0571320988

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 43.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Ward, Sarah
Published by Faber & Faber (2015)
ISBN 10: 0571320988 ISBN 13: 9780571320981
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber, 2015. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110571320988

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 44.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds