Sarah Ward In Bitter Chill

ISBN 13: 9780571321001

In Bitter Chill

3.66 avg rating
( 2,408 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780571321001: In Bitter Chill
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The deepest secrets are the ones we keep from ourselves in this richly atmospheric, compellingly written, and expertly constructed crime debut from an emerging talent.

Derbyshire, 1978: a small town in the idyllic English countryside is traumatized by the kidnapping of two young schoolgirls, Rachel Jones and Sophie Jenkins. Within hours, Rachel is found wandering alone near the roadside, unharmed yet unable to remember anything, except that her abductor was a woman. No trace of Sophie is ever discovered.

Present day: over thirty years later, Sophie's mother commits suicide. Detective inspector Francis Sadler and detective constable Connie Childs are assigned to look at the kidnapping again to see if modern police methods can discover something that the original team missed. Rachel, with the help of her formidable mother and grandmother, recovered from the kidnapping and has become a family genealogist. She wants nothing more than to continue living quietly beneath the radar, but the discovery of the strangled body of one of her former teachers days after the suicide brings the national media back to her doorstep. Desperate to stop a modern killer from striking again, Rachel and the police must unpick the clues to uncover what really happened all those years ago as the past threatens to engulf the present.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

SARAH WARD is an online book reviewer whose blog, Crimepieces, reviews the best of current crime fiction published around the world. She has also reviewed for the Eurocrime and Crimesquad websites and is a judge for the Petrona Award for Scandinavian translated crime novels. Sarah lives in rural Derbyshire in England where her debut novel, In Bitter Chill, is set.

Review:

"Great new mystery set in the atmospheric Peak District of England. When a woman’s suicide is found to be related to an unsolved case of a missing girl, the police must reinvestigate a long cold case. I hope this book will be the first in a new series!"―Pamela Wiggins, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC, October 2015 LibraryReads

“Ward, a reviewer of international crime fiction on her blog, Crimepieces, skillfully weaves a compelling plot in this police procedural with a genealogical bent. An accomplished debut by a writer to watch.” ―Booklist

“Relentless, compelling, and meticulously suspenseful. Fans of Ian Rankin and Elizabeth George will rejoice at this atmospheric and authentic debut, expertly told, where modern-day police struggle to untangle disturbing secrets of the past. Terrific.” ―Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony and Mary Higgins Clark award winning author of Truth Be Told

In Bitter Chill deserves to be one of the stand out debuts of 2015. A tense, page-turning mystery that grips readers from the first. I'm looking forward to more from Sarah Ward.” ―William Ryan, author of The Darkening Field

In Bitter Chill is an elegant and thoughtful novel, as well as a compassionate investigation into the dark heart of family relationships and the lurking power of long buried secrets. This is a fine debut, and Sarah Ward is a writer to watch.” ―Chris Ewan, award-winning author of Dead Line

“The most engaging debut I have come across in a long time.” ―Yrsa Sigurdardottir, author of I Remember You

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sarah Ward
ISBN 10: 0571321003 ISBN 13: 9780571321001
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Start At Page 1
(Emneth, WIsbech, NFK, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 8950

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.53
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sarah Ward
Published by Faber & Faber
ISBN 10: 0571321003 ISBN 13: 9780571321001
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780571321001

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 2.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ward, Sarah
ISBN 10: 0571321003 ISBN 13: 9780571321001
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Publisher/Verlag: Faber & Faber, London | You can't bury the truth forever | Bampton, Derbyshire, January 1978. Two girls go missing: Rachel Jones returns, Sophie Jenkins is never found. Thirty years later: Sophie Jenkins's mother commits suicide.Rachel Jones has tried to put the past behind her and move on with her life. But news of the suicide re-opens old wounds and Rachel realises that the only way she can have a future is to finally discover what really happened all those years ago.This is a story about loss and family secrets, and how often the very darkest secrets are those that are closest to you. | Format: Paperback | Language/Sprache: english | 287 gr | 197x129x20 mm | 368 pp. Seller Inventory # K9780571321001

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.52
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ward, Sarah
Published by Faber & Faber (2015)
ISBN 10: 0571321003 ISBN 13: 9780571321001
New Paperback Quantity Available: 17
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001694771

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.68
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Sarah Ward
Published by Faber And Faber (2015)
ISBN 10: 0571321003 ISBN 13: 9780571321001
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber And Faber, 2015. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # EH9780571321001

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.52
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ward, Sarah
Published by Faber & Faber Crime
ISBN 10: 0571321003 ISBN 13: 9780571321001
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber Crime. Condition: New. Bampton, Derbyshire, January 1978. Two girls go missing: Rachel Jones returns, Sophie Jenkins is never found. Thirty years later: Sophie Jenkins' mother commits suicide. Rachel Jones has tried to put the past behind her and move on with her life. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (P) Professional & Vocational; (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 131 x 198 x 25. Weight in Grams: 288. . 2012. Main. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780571321001

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ward, Sarah
Published by Faber & Faber Crime (2012)
ISBN 10: 0571321003 ISBN 13: 9780571321001
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber Crime, 2012. Condition: New. Bampton, Derbyshire, January 1978. Two girls go missing: Rachel Jones returns, Sophie Jenkins is never found. Thirty years later: Sophie Jenkins' mother commits suicide. Rachel Jones has tried to put the past behind her and move on with her life. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (P) Professional & Vocational; (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 131 x 198 x 25. Weight in Grams: 288. . 2012. Main. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780571321001

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sarah Ward
Published by Faber & Faber 2015-11-05, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 0571321003 ISBN 13: 9780571321001
New paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber 2015-11-05, London, 2015. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780571321001

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sarah Ward
Published by Faber & Faber (2015)
ISBN 10: 0571321003 ISBN 13: 9780571321001
New Softcover Quantity Available: 19
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Faber & Faber, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780571321001_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.22
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Sarah Ward
ISBN 10: 0571321003 ISBN 13: 9780571321001
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0571321003. Seller Inventory # ST0571321003

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book