Don't Stand So Close

3.51 avg rating
( 854 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780593072301: Don't Stand So Close

Stunning debut psychological thriller in the vein of Into the Darkest Corner and Sister.
     A lingering, compulsive debut novel that will keep you tightly in its grip. What would you do if a young girl knocked on your door and asked for your help? If it was snowing and she was freezing cold, but you were afraid and alone? What would you do if you let her in, but couldn'’t make her leave? What if she told you terrible lies about someone you love, but the truth was even worse? Stella has been cocooned in her home for three years. Severely agoraphobic, she knows she is safe in the stark, isolated house she shares with her husband, Max. The traumatic memories of her final case as a psychologist are that much easier to keep at a distance, too. But the night that Blue arrives on her doorstep with her frightened eyes and sad stories, Stella’'s carefully controlled world begins to unravel around her.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

LUANA LEWIS is a clinical psychologist and author of two non-fiction books. As well as writing for several newspapers, magazines and journals, she has recently completed an MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University.

Review:

"A frighteningly tense debut novel. The skin-crawling intimacy sets this thriller apart. The tension is almost suffocating, with a palpable feeling of dread leaping off every page. A searing debut...and not to be missed." Daily Mail "A beautiful read, brimming with intrigue and suspense... It's an incredibly accomplished debut, a real heart-racing chiller, and I genuinely didn't want it to end!" Samantha Hayes, author of Until You're Mine "This is a wonderfully tense story, full of characters who may or may not be telling the truth. Compellingly, creepy - not one to read while home alone." Glamour "A stunning debut psychological thriller." Sun "A tense, claustrophobic, and deeply unsettling novel about the damage a disturbed teenager threatens to wreak on one woman's life." Penny Hancock, author of Tideline, a Richard & Judy selection

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lewis, Luana
Published by Bantam Press, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 0593072308 ISBN 13: 9780593072301
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Literary Cat Books
(Tywyn, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Press, London, 2014. Original Boards. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. 315 pages. Dustjacket. Minor shelfwear. New What would you do if a young girl knocked on your door and asked for your help? If it was snowing and she was freezing cold, but you were afraid and alone? What would you do if you let her in, but couldn_'t make her leave? What if she told you terrible lies about someone you love, but the truth was even worse? Stella has been cocooned in her home for three years. Severely agoraphobic, she knows she is safe in the stark, isolated house she shares with her husband, Max. The traumatic memories of her final case as a psychologist are that much easier to keep at a distance, too. But the night that Blue arrives on her doorstep with her frightened eyes and sad stories, Stella_'s carefully controlled world begins to unravel around her__ Size: Octavo. Quantity Available: 1. Shipped Weight: Under 750 grams. Category: Crime & Detective Fiction; Britain; Modern; 315. ISBN: 0593072308. ISBN/EAN: 9780593072301. Pictures of this item not already displayed here available upon request. Inventory No: 021506. Bookseller Inventory # 021506

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.24
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lewis, Luana
Published by Bantam Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 0593072308 ISBN 13: 9780593072301
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Press, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000506965

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.27
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

LUANA LEWIS
Published by BANTAM PRESS, LONDON, UK (2014)
ISBN 10: 0593072308 ISBN 13: 9780593072301
New Soft cover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Long Acre Books
(Stevenage, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description BANTAM PRESS, LONDON, UK, 2014. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. A NICE CLEAN AND TIGHT UK FIRST EDITION FIRST PRINT UNCORRECTED PROOF COPY OF DON'T STAND SO CLOSE BY LUANA LEWIS. ALL BOOKS DESPATCHED WRAPPED IN BUBBLE WRAP AND A STRONG CARDBOARD BOX. Bookseller Inventory # 001187

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 22.77
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lewis, Luana
Published by Bantam Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 0593072308 ISBN 13: 9780593072301
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Press, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110593072308

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 51.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Luana Lewis
Published by Bantam Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 0593072308 ISBN 13: 9780593072301
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Press, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0593072308

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 82.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lewis, Luana
Published by Bantam Press
ISBN 10: 0593072308 ISBN 13: 9780593072301
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0593072308 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # XM-0593072308

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 79.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds