Tim Tyler Engine

ISBN 13: 9780615215471

Engine

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780615215471: Engine

A defeated HERO. A young STUDENT. An aging MASTER. A lost PRINCESS. FATE has called them together to defend a small hidden world against the chimes of DOOM. MAGIC versus METAL! SCIENCE versus SORCERY! the PAST versus the FUTURE for the life of an ancient DRAGON and the fate of all time! These are the ones, chosen as the LAST defense, in the last great war of GOOD versus EVIL! This is Engine. Engine tells the tale of a small hidden world, and Its Dragon Diety, who are targeted for destruction by an intergalactic war party. lost heroes of the world then must band together, to defend the planet, while re-discovering the heroes within themselves. Fans of Jack Kirby, Dragonball z, Anime, Asian Kung Fu Cinema and Star Wars will love Engine.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Tim Tyler is a 25+ year veteran of the independent comics industry, where he worked on, created, or published such popular titles as Razor, Faust, Dreadstar, Blood Reign, Devil-Jack, Hades, Djustine and Frankenstein. Tim attrended the Joe Kubert School of art in 1984, and has been working in the industry ever since. Engine, his newest book, is his first foray into the Graphic Novel format. Tim is married, with 3 children, and resides in the mountains of Kentucky.

Review:

I just got around to reading every page of ENGINE in one sitting. Turns out, this is the best way to enjoy this story, because it s one of those bold strokes storytelling epics that deserves to be digested in big chunks. The story jumps to three locations following 1. a missing pirate Han Solo type of sorts who turns out to be not so missing, 2. an apprentice and master fighting a giant Celestial-like robot-thing, and 3. a powerful evil lord planning something world-shattering and evil. These cheesy descriptions don t do the scenes justice, though. Tyler pops back and forth between the three plots and makes their eventual intersection highly anticipated and cleverly developed. Elements are definitely borrowed from STAR WARS, Silver Age super-hero comics, LORD OF THE RINGS, and martial arts films. But this isn t one of those throw something against the wall and see what sticks sort of reads. It s a fully realized universe with interesting characters and an expansive plot. Aside from the epic scope of the story, the true highlight of this webcomic is the art. To say it is Kirby-esque is just about right. Tyler himself talked about his Kirby influences when he emailed me the link. There are plenty of highly detailed, yet boldly lined characters bursting into each other and COMIN -AT-CHA!!! from the panel. Tyler incorporates quite a few splash pages in this book, but never did I get the feeling that this was a gratuitous gesture. Tyler s story simply calls for splashes with all of the fighting, shocking twists, and exciting events occurring in the story. All in all, this is a webcomic that I plan on clicking back to as the story develops. About three full issues are finished, so if you start on page one, be sure to reserve a bit of time to play catch up. Not sure when new pages drop, but this is definitely a comic worth revisiting. Plus, as always with dot.comics, the damn thing is free, so there s no excuse not to check it out. Just follow the above link and click through the pages of ENGINE. There are a lot of hidden treasures floating out there in the internet ENGINE is one of them. --Aint it cool news

So? Engine? If you're not reading this...you need to read it now, I can't tell you how cool Engine is...you have to see it for yourself, suffice it to say that Engine is an amazing comic and the level of detail is mindblowing, this comic deserves a feature STAT! --Online Fan

There's not much I can say about Engine that hasn't been said before. The artwork started out as stunning and then got better from there. The most recent run of pages has added grayscale toning and that has pretty much elevated them from great to perfect. There are definite echoes of Kirby in the style and that alone ought to be reason enough to make you want to go and see it; but when every page is also a breakneck action-fest liberally laced with a mischievous sense of humor, it becomes irresistible. --Online Fan

So? Engine? If you're not reading this...you need to read it now, I can't tell you how cool Engine is...you have to see it for yourself, suffice it to say that Engine is an amazing comic and the level of detail is mindblowing, this comic deserves a feature STAT! --Online Fan

There's not much I can say about Engine that hasn't been said before. The artwork started out as stunning and then got better from there. The most recent run of pages has added grayscale toning and that has pretty much elevated them from great to perfect. There are definite echoes of Kirby in the style and that alone ought to be reason enough to make you want to go and see it; but when every page is also a breakneck action-fest liberally laced with a mischievous sense of humor, it becomes irresistible. --Online Fan

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 9.95
US$ 326.37

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tim Tyler
Published by Shadow-Planet (2008)
ISBN 10: 0615215475 ISBN 13: 9780615215471
New Perfect Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Shadow-Planet, 2008. Perfect Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 615215475

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 326.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds