The Ugly Sister: A Novel of the Holocaust

3 avg rating
( 2 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780615984803: The Ugly Sister: A Novel of the Holocaust
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

With five gorgeous older sisters, what's an “ugly sister” to do? Pursue and win the handsomest man in town! But joy is short-lived as the Nazi death machine roars down to destroy everything they value and everyone they love.   The sisters turn to politics, prayer and deception, tradition and dependency, even taking up arms. A beautiful sister poses as a German and she becomes the true UGLY SISTER . The youngest sister shows her inner beauty and strength, and, will not let anything—neither the monstrous butchers nor a raging God—keep her from her beloved.   THE UGLY SISTER is a novel of the Holocaust that is different from any you have read before. The heroes and villains of this story are women just as they were in real life. Based on real people and events, it comes alive today, because we live in a world where anti-Semitism is again on the rise, and where women are still so far from realizing their human potential. In the tradition of The Book Thief and Sarah's Key, THE UGLY SISTER is best-selling author Gila Berkowitz's epic novel of family. It is about the love and faith that can bind a family tightly, and the envy and betrayal that can rip it apart.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

GILA BERKOWITZ is a veteran author and journalist. She was a reporter for Reuters and the LA Times and has contributed fiction and non-fiction to magazines ranging from Good Housekeeping to Playboy. Berkowitz taught at Stanford University, where she was a Knight Fellow in Journalism and received the Dreyfus Writing Award. Her best-selling first novel, The Brides, was optioned for television and translated into three languages. She divides her time between New Jersey and Jerusalem.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Berkowitz, Gila
Published by Iron Dome Press 7/27/2014 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0615984800 ISBN 13: 9780615984803
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Iron Dome Press 7/27/2014, 2014. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Ugly Sister: A Novel of the Holocaust. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780615984803

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Berkowitz, Gila
Published by Iron Dome Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 0615984800 ISBN 13: 9780615984803
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Iron Dome Press, 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780615984803

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Gila Berkowitz
Published by Iron Dome Press
ISBN 10: 0615984800 ISBN 13: 9780615984803
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Iron Dome Press. Paperback. Condition: New. 364 pages. Dimensions: 9.0in. x 6.0in. x 0.8in.With five gorgeous older sisters, whats an ugly sister to do Pursue and win the handsomest man in town! But joy is short-lived as the Nazi death machine roars down to destroy everything they value and everyone they love. The sisters turn to politics, prayer and deception, tradition and dependency, even taking up arms. A beautiful sister poses as a German and she becomes the true UGLY SISTER . The youngest sister shows her inner beauty and strength, and, will not let anythingneither the monstrous butchers nor a raging Godkeep her from her beloved. THE UGLY SISTER is a novel of the Holocaust that is different from any you have read before. The heroes and villains of this story are women just as they were in real life. Based on real people and events, it comes alive today, because we live in a world where anti-Semitism is again on the rise, and where women are still so far from realizing their human potential. In the tradition of The Book Thief and Sarahs Key, THE UGLY SISTER is best-selling author Gila Berkowitzs epic novel of family. It is about the love and faith that can bind a family tightly, and the envy and betrayal that can rip it apart. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Seller Inventory # 9780615984803

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Gila Berkowitz
Published by Iron Dome Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0615984800 ISBN 13: 9780615984803
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Iron Dome Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. With five gorgeous older sisters, what's an "ugly sister" to do? Pursue and win the handsomest man in town! But joy is short-lived as the Nazi death machine roars down to destroy everything they value and everyone they love. The sisters turn to politics, prayer and deception, tradition and dependency, even taking up arms. A beautiful sister poses as a German and she becomes the true UGLY SISTER . The youngest sister shows her inner beauty and strength, and, will not let anything-neither the monstrous butchers nor a raging God-keep her from her beloved. THE UGLY SISTER is a novel of the Holocaust that is different from any you have read before. The heroes and villains of this story are women just as they were in real life. Based on real people and events, it comes alive today, because we live in a world where anti-Semitism is again on the rise, and where women are still so far from realizing their human potential. In the tradition of The Book Thief and Sarah's Key, THE UGLY SISTER is best-selling author Gila Berkowitz's epic novel of family. It is about the love and faith that can bind a family tightly, and the envy and betrayal that can rip it apart. Seller Inventory # APC9780615984803

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Gila Berkowitz
Published by Iron Dome Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0615984800 ISBN 13: 9780615984803
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Iron Dome Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. With five gorgeous older sisters, what's an "ugly sister" to do? Pursue and win the handsomest man in town! But joy is short-lived as the Nazi death machine roars down to destroy everything they value and everyone they love. The sisters turn to politics, prayer and deception, tradition and dependency, even taking up arms. A beautiful sister poses as a German and she becomes the true UGLY SISTER . The youngest sister shows her inner beauty and strength, and, will not let anything-neither the monstrous butchers nor a raging God-keep her from her beloved. THE UGLY SISTER is a novel of the Holocaust that is different from any you have read before. The heroes and villains of this story are women just as they were in real life. Based on real people and events, it comes alive today, because we live in a world where anti-Semitism is again on the rise, and where women are still so far from realizing their human potential. In the tradition of The Book Thief and Sarah's Key, THE UGLY SISTER is best-selling author Gila Berkowitz's epic novel of family. It is about the love and faith that can bind a family tightly, and the envy and betrayal that can rip it apart. Seller Inventory # APC9780615984803

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Berkowitz, Gila
Published by Iron Dome Press
ISBN 10: 0615984800 ISBN 13: 9780615984803
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Iron Dome Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0615984800 Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9780615984803

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Gila Berkowitz
Published by Iron Dome Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 0615984800 ISBN 13: 9780615984803
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Iron Dome Press, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0615984800

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Berkowitz, Gila
Published by Iron Dome Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 0615984800 ISBN 13: 9780615984803
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Iron Dome Press, 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780615984803

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Berkowitz, Gila
Published by Iron Dome Press (2018)
ISBN 10: 0615984800 ISBN 13: 9780615984803
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Iron Dome Press, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # P110615984800

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 44.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds