Arabian Sands: The Great Classic of Desert Literature

4.16 avg rating
( 4,010 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780670130054: Arabian Sands: The Great Classic of Desert Literature
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Arabian Sands has never been out of print since it was first published, to great critical acclaim, in 1959. This new edition contains all the original photographs. With this book Wilfred Thesiger took his place among the few great Arabian travellers - not only as an explorer but as a writer. Doughty, Lawrence, Bertram Thomas and St John Philby preceded him but, as St John Philby himself said, 'The crowning touches have been placed on this exploratory activity in Arabia by Wilfred Thesiger, who is probably the greatest of all the explorers...' Arabian Sands covers the five years ending in 1950 which, with the exception of brief interruptions only, Thesiger spent in and around the Empty Quarter, the half million square miles of one of the cruellest deserts of the world. Before him, no other traveller, European or Arab - apart from the Bedu who live there - had twice dared to cross those empty wastes. Travelling without European companions and living as an Arab, Thesiger's experience and knowledge of the desert life are unique - and will remain so, for the world he describes has vanished, has succumbed to the invasion of technicians in search of oil. This account of the Arabian Sands and its people, its tribal warfare and ancient history, its daily life and landscape, is of such range and value, so supremely well written, that the book can confidently be claimed as a classic of Arabian travel literature.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Wilfred Thesiger (1910-2003) was a British explorer and travel writer. He was born at Addis Ababa, Abyssinia (now Ethiopia). Educated at Eton and Oxford, he worked in the Sudan Political Service and and later, for a year, as a Political Officer for the Ethiopian Emperor, Haile Selassie. He is best known for two travel books: Arabian Sands (1959) and The Marsh Arabs (1964).
 
Rory Stewart (introducer) has written for the New York Times MagazineGranta, and the London Review of Books, and is the author of The Places In Between and The Prince of the Marshes. A former fellow at the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government, he was awarded the Order of the British Empire by the British government for services in Iraq.

Review:

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, ["Arabian Sands"] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." -"The Daily Telegraph", London "The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life." -"The Sunday Times", London

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780141442075: Arabian Sands (Penguin Classics)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0141442077 ISBN 13:  9780141442075
Publisher: Penguin Classics, 2008
Softcover

9781860632839: Arabian Sands

Motiva..., 2010
Hardcover

9781873544754: Arabian Sands

Motiva..., 1998
Hardcover

9780140095142: Arabian Sands: Revised Edition (Travel Library)

Pengui..., 1985
Softcover

9780002170055: Arabian Sands

Fairmo..., 1983
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Thesiger, Wilfred
Published by The Viking Press (1984)
ISBN 10: 0670130052 ISBN 13: 9780670130054
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Viking Press, 1984. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB0670130052

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 172.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Wilfred Thesiger
Published by The Viking Press (1984)
ISBN 10: 0670130052 ISBN 13: 9780670130054
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description The Viking Press, 1984. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0670130052

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 312.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds