Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

3.82 avg rating
( 599 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780670785162: Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

“It is my honor to introduce these pages—so gravelly, so straggly, so hopeful, bright, and true.”  —Elizabeth Gilbert

When she was seven, Rayya Elias and her family fled the political conflict in their native Syria, settling in Detroit. Bullied in school and caught between the world of her traditional family and her tough American classmates, she rebelled early.

Elias moved to New York City to become a musician and kept herself afloat with an uncommon talent for cutting hair. At the height of the punk movement, life on the Lower East Side was full of adventure, creative inspiration, and temptation. Eventually, Elias’s passionate affairs with lovers of both sexes went awry, her (more than) occasional drug use turned to addiction, and she found herself living on the streets—between her visits to jail.

This debut memoir charts four decades of a life lived in the moment, a path from harrowing loss and darkness to a place of peace and redemption. Elias’s wit and lack of self-pity in the face of her extreme highs and lows make Harley Loco a powerful read that’s sure to appeal to fans of Patti Smith, Augusten Burroughs, and Eleanor Henderson.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Rayya Elias was born in Aleppo, Syria, in 1960 and moved to the United States in 1967. She is a musician, hairdresser, and filmmaker, and also sells real estate to make some extra scratch. Elias lives in New York City and has been clean since August 8, 1997.

Review:

“Elias’ spiky, punky memoir takes us from her idyllic Syrian childhood to her plunge into sex, drugs, rock’n’roll, and more drugs in New York City’s East Village.”
-- Elle
 
“More than a memoir, Elias’ tale –from Syria in the 1960s to New York in the 1980s – offers a street-level snapshot of some of history’s most critical time periods.  Through her intimate storytelling, we get a glimpse into the highly personal struggles of addiction and the powerlessness of those caught in its grip.” 
-- Bust Magazine
 
"Rayya Elias's life reads like Huck Finn on heroin. Her story of fleeing Syria as a child,  growing up in Detroit and spending her young adulthood trolling around the East Village is as American as they come, including as it does immigration, addiction and hard won deliverance. Through it all Elias's voice burns fire hot and is completely engaging."
-- Darcey Steinke
 
“Rayya’s writing doesn’t come out on the page feeling like it was squeezed from a standard-issue literary toothpaste tube. Instead, her stories are like tough little stray creatures, born in the lowest hollows of the dirtiest street corners, which then – as you watch, breath held – fight their way to rapture.” 
-- Elizabeth Gilbert
 
 “Rayya Elias's Harley Loco grabs you by the throat on the very first page, and then never stops shaking you -- even after you've closed the book. It's a punk song disguised as a memoir: raw, slashing, gritty, and shot through with all the wild confusion of youth. But it's also wise, unpredictable, and relentlessly affecting.” 
--Jonathan Miles
From the Hardcover edition.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

List Price: US$ 27.95
US$ 9.57

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780143125051: Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0143125052 ISBN 13:  9780143125051
Publisher: Penguin Books, 2014
Softcover

9781408837696: Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair and Post-punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

Blooms..., 2014
Softcover

9781408837672: Harley Loco: A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair and Post-punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side

Blooms..., 2013
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Elias, Rayya
Published by Viking
ISBN 10: 0670785164 ISBN 13: 9780670785162
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Viking. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0670785164. Seller Inventory # Z0670785164ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Elias, Rayya
Published by Viking 2013-04-04 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670785164 ISBN 13: 9780670785162
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Viking 2013-04-04, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0670785164. Seller Inventory # Z0670785164ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Elias, Rayya
Published by Viking
ISBN 10: 0670785164 ISBN 13: 9780670785162
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Viking. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0670785164. Seller Inventory # Z0670785164ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Elias, Rayya
Published by Viking
ISBN 10: 0670785164 ISBN 13: 9780670785162
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Viking. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0670785164. Seller Inventory # Z0670785164ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Elias, Rayya
Published by Viking
ISBN 10: 0670785164 ISBN 13: 9780670785162
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Viking. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0670785164. Seller Inventory # Z0670785164ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Rayya Elias
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670785164 ISBN 13: 9780670785162
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Viking, 2013. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # MB011MEMY6A

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Rayya Elias
ISBN 10: 0670785164 ISBN 13: 9780670785162
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ShopBook
(Sussex, WI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # EE-23

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Rayya Elias
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670785164 ISBN 13: 9780670785162
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Viking, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0670785164n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 92.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds