The Barmaid's Brain: And Other Strange Tales from Science

3.69 avg rating
( 191 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780670871469: The Barmaid's Brain: And Other Strange Tales from Science

Here are twenty-one unexpected and fascinating tales of science's stranger facts and episodes-from why we laugh, to why moths fly to the light, to how slinging drinks affects both memory and perception in a barmaid's brain (for the better!).

Best-selling author and media personality Jay Ingram offers investigations from the very edges of science that evoke the impressive breadth of the scientific mind and demonstrate how science works. Ingram explores how science adds to a re-examination of history with startling new theories about the Salem witches and a psychiatric profile of Joan of Arc. He describes remarkable battles-from the parasitic nastiness of cowbirds to the microscopic viciousness of bacteriophages. And he lets us in on some of the odder concerns of scientists: Will we be able to build a ladder attaching earth to an orbiting satellite? Is it possible that early humans spent their lives in water instead of on land?

Surprising, witty, and always edifying, The Barmaid's Brain serves up a splendid cocktail of fact, theory, and anecdote guaranteed to entertain and stimulate.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"Ingram . . . acts as a kind of cross between a clear-eyed journalist and a tongue-in-cheek comedian."
--The Globe and Mail

"Jay Ingram has taken on the role of alchemist: he turns the lead of scientific jargon into literary gold."
--Calgary Herald

"Ingram is a wizard at transforming complex curiosities of the natural and physical sciences into entertaining anecdotes."
--The Edmonton Sun

"Lively . . . witty . . . In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, [Ingram] manages a difficult trick--making the minutiae of science seem alluring to the uninitiated."
--Maclean's

About the Author:

Jay Ingram is the author of the best-selling books The Science of Everyday Life, Talk, Talk, Talk and The Burning House, which won the 1995 Canadian Science Writers Book Award. He hosts his own weekly prime time show called "Discovery Connection" which now airs in the U.S., and is co-host and producer of Discovery Channel's award winning "@discovery.ca" television's first and only daily science and nature news magazine. He has received two ACTRA Awards including one for Best Host: the Sandford Fleming Medal from the Royal Canadian Institute for his work popularizing science; and the Royal Science of Canada McNeil Medal for the Public Awareness of Science. He also contributes a weekly science column to the Toronto Star.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: US$ 16.95
From Canada to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jay Ingram
Published by Viking (1998)
ISBN 10: 067087146X ISBN 13: 9780670871469
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mad Hatter Bookstore
(Westbank, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: As New. 1st Edition. 1st Edition-First Printing with full number line. Hardcover.Not price clipped. Weird, witty and always edifying, The Barmaid's Brain serves up a splendid cocktail of fact, theory and anecdote in twenty-one of Jay Ingram's favorite tales from the world of science. An attractive, clean, unmarked and collectible copy!. Bookseller Inventory # 001277

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.95
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds