Arnhem: The Battle For Survival

4.33 avg rating
( 82 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780670918881: Arnhem: The Battle For Survival
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Arnhem by John Nichol and Tony Rennell is an absolutely gripping narrative packed with action and heroic tales of courage. 'Riveting ... reveals the ice-cool courage of British troops trapped in the bloody shambles of Arnhem' Daily Mail In September 1944, a mighty shock force of battle-hardened Allied troops dropped from the skies into enemy-occupied Holland in what was hoped would be the decisive final battle of World War II. Landing miles behind the German lines, their daring mission was to secure bridges across the Rhine so that ground forces could make a rapid dash into Nazi Germany. If all went well, the war could be over by Christmas. The plan went terribly wrong ... Seen through the dramatic first-hand accounts of those who were there, Arnhem is the gripping story of a bitter military defeat that became a triumph of the human spirit. It paints a vivid portrait of those in the cauldron of war, fighting for their lives, fighting for their comrades, fighting for their honour, a battle they won hands down. For fans of A Bridge Too Far, Saving Private Ryan and Band of Brothers, and for readers of Antony Beevor's Stalingrad and Hugh Sebag-Montefiore's Dunkirk. John Nichol is a former RAF flight lieutenant whose Tornado bomber was shot down on a mission over Iraq during the first Gulf War in 1991. He was captured and became a prisoner of war. He is the bestselling co-author of Tornado Down and, with Tony Rennell, The Last Escape, Tail-End Charlies, Home Run and Medic, and author of five novels. He is also a journalist and widely quoted military commentator. His website is www.johnnichol.com. Tony Rennell is the author of Last Days of Glory: The Death of Queen Victoria and co-author of When Daddy Came Home, a highly praised study of demobilization in 1945, and with John nichol, The Last Escape, Tail-End Charlies, Home Run and Medic. He is a former deputy editor of the Sunday Times and writes regularly on historical subjects for the Daily Mail.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

John Nichol is the bestselling co-author of Tornado DownThe Last Escape and Tail -End Charlies and the author of five novels. 

Tony Rennell is the author of Last Days of Glory: The Death of Queen Victoria and co-author of When Daddy Came HomeThe Last Escape & Tail-End Charlies.

Review:

The brutal hand-to-hand fighting in Arnhem itself is vividly described, as is the remarkable evacuation ... This is history from the ordinary soldier's point of view and is all the better for it * Daily Express * Riveting ... reveals the ice-cool courage of British troops trapped in the bloody shambles of Arnhem * Daily Mail *

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Good
Ships from the UK. Former Library... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: US$ 5.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nichol, John, Rennell, Tonny
Published by Viking (2011)
ISBN 10: 0670918881 ISBN 13: 9780670918881
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)

Book Description Viking, 2011. Condition: Good. 1st Edition. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP68752734

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Rennell, Tony
ISBN 10: 0670918881 ISBN 13: 9780670918881
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR003773133

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 2.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Rennell, Tony
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2011)
ISBN 10: 0670918881 ISBN 13: 9780670918881
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goldstone Books
(Llandybie, United Kingdom)

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Seller Inventory # mon0003531052

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Rennell, Tony, Nichol, John
Published by Viking (2011)
ISBN 10: 0670918881 ISBN 13: 9780670918881
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WeBuyBooks
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Viking, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Seller Inventory # wbb0012430782

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.53
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Nichol, John
Published by Viking (2011)
ISBN 10: 0670918881 ISBN 13: 9780670918881
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HeyBuy uk
(Brill, United Kingdom)

Book Description Viking, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: Used; Good. We are committed to providing each customer with the highest standard of customer service. All books are picked, packed and dispatched from the United Kingdom. Seller Inventory # FH1169629

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.19
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

John Nichol; Tonny Rennell
Published by - -
ISBN 10: 0670918881 ISBN 13: 9780670918881
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)

Book Description - -. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. Seller Inventory # 6545-9780670918881

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.58
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

John Nichol; Tonny Rennell
Published by -
ISBN 10: 0670918881 ISBN 13: 9780670918881
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description -. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Arnhem: The Battle for Survival This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. Seller Inventory # 7719-9780670918881

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.58
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

John Nichol; Tony Rennell
Published by Viking (2011)
ISBN 10: 0670918881 ISBN 13: 9780670918881
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
MusicMagpie
(Stockport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Viking, 2011. Condition: Very Good. Seller Inventory # U9780670918881

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 7.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

John & Rennell, Tony Nichol
Published by Penguin / Viking (2011)
ISBN 10: 0670918881 ISBN 13: 9780670918881
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Penguin / Viking, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG0670918881

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 15.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

John Nichol & Tony Rennell
Published by Viking, London & New York (2011)
ISBN 10: 0670918881 ISBN 13: 9780670918881
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
CARDINAL BOOKS ~~ ABAC/ILAB
(London -- Birr, ON, Canada)

Book Description Viking, London & New York, 2011. Hardcover. Condition: As New. Dust Jacket Condition: As New. Hardcover in dust jacket. As new. Size: 8vo - over 7 - 9" tall. Book. Seller Inventory # 59892w14

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 15.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book