Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography

4.11 avg rating
( 1,084 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780679416869: Dr. Seuss & Mr. Geisel: A Biography
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

California journalists Neil and Judith Morgan present the authorized biography of the late Ted Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss, the phenomenally successful, beloved author and illustrator of dozens of memorable children's books, including The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham. 16 pages of photos.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan have written articles together for National Geographic and other magazines. Neil's eleven books include Westward Tilt and The California Syndrome; Judith's first book, California, with Dewitt Jones, appeared in 1989. California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan have written articles together for National Geographic and other magazines. Neil's eleven books include Westward Tilt and The California Syndrome; Judith's first book, California, with Dewitt Jones, appeared in 1989.

From Publishers Weekly:

In this authorized biography, California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan present a dutifully researched and intimate portrait of the late children's-book author and artist beloved by millions. Fans of The Cat in the Hat, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas and other classics may be surprised to learn that Dr. Seuss was terrified of children and had none of his own, and that writing verse was a supreme effort for him. While children's literature is Ted Geisel's principal claim to fame, his creative life was multifarious, including an apprenticeship with film director and army major Frank Capra during WWII and stints in advertising. The authors deftly evoke the settings where Geisel lived and worked, such as his hometown of Springfield, Mass.; Oxford, England, where he studied; and coastal La Jolla, Calif., where he spent roughly half his life. Friends of their subject, the Morgans also vividly depict a quiet but exuberant man with a keen wit and biting?though never mean-spirited?sense of humor. A pleasing combination of fact and anecdote, this volume is a fitting tribute.
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Judith Morgan
Published by Random House (1995)
ISBN 10: 0679416862 ISBN 13: 9780679416869
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 1995. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0679416862

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 46.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Judith Morgan
Published by Random House (1995)
ISBN 10: 0679416862 ISBN 13: 9780679416869
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 1995. Hardcover. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0679416862

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 51.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Morgan, Judith
Published by Random House (1995)
ISBN 10: 0679416862 ISBN 13: 9780679416869
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 1995. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110679416862

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 50.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Morgan, Judith
Published by Random House (1995)
ISBN 10: 0679416862 ISBN 13: 9780679416869
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 1995. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB0679416862

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 50.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Morgan, Judith
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0679416862 ISBN 13: 9780679416869
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ACJBooks
(Staten Island, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0679416862 This is a hardcover book with dust jacket. Seller Inventory # 140SB1

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 49.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Morgan, Judith
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0679416862 ISBN 13: 9780679416869
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0679416862 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0257607

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds