John Irving A Son of the Circus

ISBN 13: 9780679434962

A Son of the Circus

3.62 avg rating
( 17,144 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780679434962: A Son of the Circus
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A Hindi film star . . . an American missionary . . . twins separated at birth . . . a dwarf chauffeur . . . a serial killer . . . all are on a collision course. In the tradition of A Prayer for Owen Meany, Irving's characters transcend nationality. They are misfits--coming from everywhere, belonging nowhere. Set almost entirely in India, this is John Irving's most ambitious novel and a major publishing event.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Born in New Hampshire, John Irving is the author of several novels. Mr. Irving is married and has three sons; he lives in Vermont and in Toronto.

From Publishers Weekly:

Though there are flashes here of the dramatic verve of The World According to Garp and Cider House Rules , Irving's long-awaited eighth novel is generally a tedious affair: rambling; lacking suspense; devoid of energetic or lyric prose; sometimes verging on farce and other times almost as lethargic as the sultry atmosphere of Bombay, where it is set. Here Irving is concerned again with people who do not feel at home in the world: immigrants, social outcasts, pariahs because of physical handicaps, those uncomfortable with their sexual orientation. The characters include a Bombay-born physician and secret screenwriter who feels as much a foreigner in India as he does in his new home, Toronto; a movie star who is synonymous with the role he plays; his twin brother, who aspires to be a priest but doubts his vocation; assorted circus performers, dwarfs and cripples, prostitutes, transsexuals, policemen, Hollywood figures, a blonde American hippie, Jesuit missionaries and more sad folk teeming with strange quirks and shameful secrets. The plot revolves around the murders of prostitutes by a transsexual serial killer, who carves a winking elephant on their bodies, and the legacies from the past that bring the main characters to the hunt for the murderer. The hefty narrative gives Irving plenty of room to speculate on outcasts of all kinds, the volatility of sexual identity, the false lure of organized religion, the insidious evil of class distinctions, the chasm between appearance and reality. For those looking for his trademark leitmotifs, Irving provides two: falling into the net and allowed to use the lift . He titillates by equipping a character with a giant dildo. He includes a strange homage to novelist James Salter. His attempt to provoke readers into empathy for humanity's lost souls is admirable, but his novel does not engage the reader until the last hundred pages, and that may not be soon enough to satisfy those yearning for a seductive story.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780345417992: A Son of the Circus (Ballantine Reader's Circle)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0345417992 ISBN 13:  9780345417992
Publisher: Ballantine Books, 1997
Softcover

9780345389961: A Son of the Circus

Ballan..., 1995
Softcover

9780747518457: Son of the Circus

Blooms..., 1994
Hardcover

9780747517634: A Son of the Circus

Frankl..., 1994
Hardcover

9780345915627: A Son of the Circus

Ballan...
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Irving, John
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0679434968 ISBN 13: 9780679434962
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. LIBRARY BINDING. Condition: New. 0679434968 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z0679434968ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Irving, John
Published by Random House (1994)
ISBN 10: 0679434968 ISBN 13: 9780679434962
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 1994. Library Binding. Condition: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Seller Inventory # 160813378

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Irving, John
Published by Random House (1994)
ISBN 10: 0679434968 ISBN 13: 9780679434962
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 1994. Library Binding. Condition: New. A fine book at a fair price. Clean, tight, unmarked. Text is excellent. We ship within 24 hours, carefully wrapped. We guarantee your satisfaction. No need to pay more. Small bend on the inside back of the DJ. We sell books from New to Acceptable. We take care to be accurate in our description. Most of our books were gently read and in fine condition. BNCTucsonbooks ships daily. Proceeds from the sales of books support an endowed scholarship to Brandeis University, Waltham Mass. Seller Inventory # mon0000061064

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John Irving
Published by Random House (1994)
ISBN 10: 0679434968 ISBN 13: 9780679434962
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 1994. Library Binding. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0679434968

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

John Irving
Published by Random House (1994)
ISBN 10: 0679434968 ISBN 13: 9780679434962
New First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 1994. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0679434968

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Irving, John
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0679434968 ISBN 13: 9780679434962
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
London Bridge Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. LIBRARY BINDING. Condition: New. 0679434968 Dispatched from London. Seller Inventory # Z0679434968ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 14.77
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Irving, John
Published by Random House (1994)
ISBN 10: 0679434968 ISBN 13: 9780679434962
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 1994. Library Binding. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110679434968

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 33.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Irving; John
Published by Random House (1994)
ISBN 10: 0679434968 ISBN 13: 9780679434962
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Whiskey Bend Booksellers
(Port Angeles, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 1994. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Stated First Trade Edition plus complete Random House number line, New/New. Book and dust jacket are in VERY FINE/Very Fine condition. Bright, tight and square. Perfect (clean and compact) text-block edges. Unread. Unflawed. DJ is equally pristine, fresh and crisp with sharp edges all around and the original price ($25.00) intact. A bookstore fresh copy. Seller Inventory # 000865

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 40.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Irving, John
Published by Random House Inc, Westminster, Maryland, U.S.A. (1994)
ISBN 10: 0679434968 ISBN 13: 9780679434962
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Crowfly Books
(South Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Inc, Westminster, Maryland, U.S.A., 1994. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition (1st printing). This is a New and Unread copy of the first edition (1st printing)l. Book. Seller Inventory # 028033

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 45.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds