Souls Raised from the Dead: A Novel

3.67 avg rating
( 174 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780684801049: Souls Raised from the Dead: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The author of Heading West and Beast of the Southern Wild and Other Stories returns with a poignant, powerful novel of a small town in the tradition of Faulkner, O'Connor, and Welty. Reprint. 12,500 first printing. Tour.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Doris Betts is Alumni Distinguished Professor of English at the University of North Carolina.

From Kirkus Reviews:

The first novel by Betts (Heading West, 1981) in over ten years indulges in the clich‚s of domestic melodrama--a divorced couple, the illness of their only child, the burden and joy of non- nuclear families--but it's all done in an inviting Southern voice. Unfortunately, Betts has long been outclassed by those who followed her earlier example: Lee Smith, Marianne Gingher, and Kaye Gibbons, to name a few. Mary Thompson, the clever and sharp-witted daughter of a highway patrolman in North Carolina, is the latest in a long line of spunky fictional Southern girls. Full of yearning for the mother who ran off when she was ten, Mary develops an obsession with horses. Her stoical dad, Frank, has no idea how to raise a girl but is full of good intentions. When Mary is diagnosed with chronic renal failure, Frank's life also takes a turn for the worse. He can't commit to either of the women in his life--a local journalist or Mary's riding instructor--and finds matters further complicated by the return of his ex, a vain beauty whose selfishness has tragic consequences and whose entire family is considered trashy by Frank's supportive, devout mother and his sarcastic father. Dialysis stunts Mary's development into womanhood and makes her an impatient candidate for a transplant. While her grandparents bury all their long-nurtured grudges, her mother--the ideal donor- -disappears with her new, young husband. The teary denouement comes after a blow-by-blow narrative of Mary's illness. In her effort to survey the range of human reactions to the suffering of others, Betts relies on too many pointless subplots that just wander into oblivion and fantasy. She also suffers from a penchant for puns and one-liners, putting words in her protagonists mouths that are inappropriately out of character. Still, guaranteed to exercise the tear ducts. -- Copyright ©1994, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780679426219: Souls Raised From The Dead

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0679426213 ISBN 13:  9780679426219
Publisher: Knopf, 1994
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Betts, Doris
Published by Touchstone (1995)
ISBN 10: 0684801043 ISBN 13: 9780684801049
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Lover's Warehouse
(Watauga, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Touchstone, 1995. Paperback. Condition: New. There is very little shelf wear. The spine remains free of creasing. The pages of this book are clean and unmarked. FAST SHIPPING & FREE TRACKING!. Seller Inventory # 169151

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Doris Betts
Published by Touchstone (1995)
ISBN 10: 0684801043 ISBN 13: 9780684801049
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Touchstone, 1995. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0684801043

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Doris Betts
Published by Touchstone (1995)
ISBN 10: 0684801043 ISBN 13: 9780684801049
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Touchstone, 1995. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0684801043

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Betts, Doris
Published by Touchstone
ISBN 10: 0684801043 ISBN 13: 9780684801049
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Touchstone. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0684801043 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0261811

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds