Jeanne Titherington Pumpkin Pumpkin

ISBN 13: 9780688099305

Pumpkin Pumpkin

3.92 avg rating
( 840 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780688099305: Pumpkin Pumpkin
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Jamie plants a pumpkin seed in the spring and, after watching it grow all summer, carves a face in it for Halloween! But best of all, he saves some seeds that he will plant again next spring. "Truly a book for all seasons."--Horn Book.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

In Her Own Words...

"It was never my plan to become a writer and illustrator of children's books. Although I knew from the age of ten that I wanted to be an artist, it took a long time to discover just what kind of an artist I would be.

"When I was in art school, first at Pratt Institute and then at Portland School of Art, I was a painting major. To be honest, though, I was classified as a painting major because no one could figure out where else to put me. At that time I was making Joseph Cornell-like box constructions, with collage, found objects, and drawings. Graduation from art school left me unable to afford a large enough living space to store all the wonderful junk necessary for my constructions, so I devoted myself almost completely to my drawing.

"After exhibiting my work several times during the next few years, I was encouraged by a friend familiar with publishing to try my hand at illustration. On a whim I made a completely unorganized trip to New York, then Boston. Despite the fact that I did everything all wrong, I managed to get my first job illustrating a children's book. I've been illustrating ever since, and now, with the help and encouragement of Susan Hirschman, I am writing children's books as well.

"I grew up in Maine and still summer there, but I presently live and work in Houston, Texas, with my husband, James Nutter, daughter, Anna, and son, John Gabriel. I love what I do and feel truly blessed in the life I have.

"An important reason why I love what I do so much is that it combines so many of my interests: art, of course; language; fairy tales and mythology; day and night dreams; the world of the child. The last, "the world of the child," is a deeply personal interest for me; I think, in a way, that I have never grown up. I guess I hope I never will."

From School Library Journal:

PreSchool-Grade 2 Softly colored pencil illustrations in a realistic style effectively communicate Jamie's pride as a very young gardener. He plants a seed, then grows and harvests a pumpkin from which he saves seeds for next year. The large, detailed drawings capture Jamie's anticipation and pleasure just right. The garden creatures appearing on every page and grandpa, whom we catch sight of now and then, are a delightful supporting cast. Nonreaders can easily follow the story in pictures alone. Very large, clear print on facing pages makes the simple narrative inviting for beginning readers, too. Libraries serving young children shouldn't miss this satisfying book in the tradition of Ruth Krauss and Crockett Johnson's The Carrot Seed (Harper, 1945) and Bijou Le Tord's Rabbit Seeds (Four Winds, 1984). The strong sense of the cycles of nature and a youngster's accomplishment make for a winning combination. Anna Biagioni Hart, Sherwood Regional Lib . , Alexandria, Va.
Copyright 1986 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780688056957: Pumpkin Pumpkin

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0688056954 ISBN 13:  9780688056957
Publisher: Greenwillow Books, 1986
Hardcover

9780395731321: Pumpkin Pumpkin Houghton Mifflin Reading Grade 1 Big Book Plus Series

Hought..., 1996
Softcover

9780688056964: Pumpkin Pumpkin

Greenw..., 1986
Library Binding

9780590428712: Pumpkin Pumpkin

Mulber..., 1986
Softcover

9780395731543: Pumpkin Pumpkin

Hought..., 1996
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Titherington, Jeanne
Published by Greenwillow Books (1990)
ISBN 10: 0688099300 ISBN 13: 9780688099305
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books, 1990. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # 0688099300

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Titherington, Jeanne
Published by Greenwillow Books (1990)
ISBN 10: 0688099300 ISBN 13: 9780688099305
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books, 1990. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 0688099300

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Titherington, Jeanne
Published by Greenwillow Books
ISBN 10: 0688099300 ISBN 13: 9780688099305
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688099300 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY, DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780688099305

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 3.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Titherington, Jeanne
ISBN 10: 0688099300 ISBN 13: 9780688099305
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 1990. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780688099305

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 3.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Titherington, Jeanne
ISBN 10: 0688099300 ISBN 13: 9780688099305
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 1990. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # KB-9780688099305

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 3.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Titherington, Jeanne
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0688099300 ISBN 13: 9780688099305
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0688099300

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Titherington, Jeanne
Published by Greenwillow Books
ISBN 10: 0688099300 ISBN 13: 9780688099305
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688099300. Seller Inventory # Z0688099300ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Titherington, Jeanne
Published by Greenwillow Books
ISBN 10: 0688099300 ISBN 13: 9780688099305
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688099300. Seller Inventory # Z0688099300ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Titherington, Jeanne
Published by Greenwillow Books
ISBN 10: 0688099300 ISBN 13: 9780688099305
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688099300. Seller Inventory # Z0688099300ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Titherington, Jeanne
Published by Greenwillow Books
ISBN 10: 0688099300 ISBN 13: 9780688099305
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Greenwillow Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688099300. Seller Inventory # Z0688099300ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book