Amy Hest How to Get Famous in Brooklyn

ISBN 13: 9780689802935

How to Get Famous in Brooklyn

4 avg rating
( 2 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780689802935: How to Get Famous in Brooklyn
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Janie observes the day-to-day activity in her Brooklyn neighborhood and records it all in her notebook.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Publishers Weekly:

In a sort of junior version of Hest's novel The Private Notebook of Katie Roberts, Age 11 (reviewed June 5), a strong-minded protagonist fills the pages of this picture book with "her" art and stories about her contemporary Brooklyn neighborhood. Much of the text is set on the ruled sheets of a spiral-bound notebook, presumably the repository for young Janie's observant jottings and drawings. From the women who frequent Margie's Hair Palace "to try and get gorgeous" to Mo and his wife at the corner deli, Janie has something to say about all the locals. The friendly hustle and bustle of community life is captured well, as is Janie's child's-eye view-who is building a swimming pool, which shops are kid-friendly, who sells the best fudge sundaes. Debut artist Sawaya's bright, people-filled acrylic paintings warmly document local life, the simplicity of folk art permeating her illustrations as if to suggest a child's vision. The image of Janie prowling the blocks or sitting scribbling on her front stoop in each frame may inspire readers to begin a little journal-keeping of their own. Ages 5-8.
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Booklist:

Ages 5^-8. In the tradition of Harriet, Janie, the heroine of this picture book, is a spy, writing in her loose-leaf notebook (a part of the book's design) all that transpires in her Brooklyn neighborhood. Whether she's in Margie's Beauty Shop watching the women "Yak-yak" or buying notebooks and crullers at Mo's Candy or riding her hand-me-down bike through the neighborhood, Janie has a keen eye and a cocked ear. Sawaya's acrylic paintings use a primitive style to capture the energy of the city; they give the book momentum when the text occasionally drags. Kids will enjoy the dramatic ending in which a storm whips up and blows Janie's stories all over Brooklyn. The last page shows friends and neighbors reading her observations. "And that, for your information, is how you get famous in Brooklyn!" Ilene Cooper

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hest, Amy
Published by Simon & Schuster Children's Pu (1995)
ISBN 10: 0689802935 ISBN 13: 9780689802935
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Children's Pu, 1995. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110689802935

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 59.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hest, Amy
Published by Simon & Schuster Children's Pu (1995)
ISBN 10: 0689802935 ISBN 13: 9780689802935
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Children's Pu, 1995. Hardcover. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB0689802935

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 59.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Amy Hest, Linda Dalal Sawaya (Illustrator)
Published by Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing (1995)
ISBN 10: 0689802935 ISBN 13: 9780689802935
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing, 1995. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0689802935

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 77.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds