Puccini's Turandot : The End of the Great Tradition (Princeton Studies in Opera)

3.8 avg rating
( 5 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780691027128: Puccini's Turandot : The End of the Great Tradition (Princeton Studies in Opera)

Unfinished at Puccini's death in 1924, Turandot was not only his most ambitious work, but it became the last Italian opera to enter the international repertory. In this colorful study two renowned music scholars demonstrate that this work, despite the modern climate in which it was written, was a fitting finale for the centuries-old Great Tradition of Italian opera. Here they provide concrete instances of how a listener might encounter the dramatic and musical structures of Turandot in light of the Italian melodramma, and firmly establish Puccini's last work within the tradition of Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, and Verdi. In a summary of the sounds, sights, and symbolism of Turandot, the authors touch on earlier treatments of the subject, outline the conception, birth, and reception of the work, and analyze its coordinated dramatic and musical design. Showing how the evolution of the libretto documents Puccini's reversion to large musical forms typical of the Great Tradition in the late nineteenth century, they give particular attention to his use of contrasting Romantic, modernist, and two kinds of orientalist coloration in the general musical structure. They suggest that Puccini's inability to complete the opera resulted mainly from inadequate dramatic buildup for Turandot's last-minute change of heart combined with an overly successful treatment of the secondary character.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Library Journal:

Puccini's final work, Turandot (1926), which was completed posthumously, is the last of the great Italian operas to enter the standard repertoire. Puccini had heard Stravinsky and Schoenberg by the 1920s, and he incorporated artistic trends of the day into his new opera. Ashbrook (humanities, Indiana State Univ.) and Powers (music, Princeton Univ.) examine the use of dissonance and exotic themes as well as Puccini's more melodic previous works in relation to the characters, with special emphasis on the two soprano-tenor duets. Turandot 's literary and musical roots, staging, and performance histories are investigated with convincing, richly detailed insights. Yet the many musical examples will be of little significance to readers not familiar with music scores and music theory. For collections supporting serious opera studies.
- James E. Ross, Seattle, Wash.
Copyright 1991 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

William Ashbrook; Harold Powers
Published by Princeton University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Princeton University Press, 1991. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0691027129

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ashbrook, William, Powers, Harold
Published by Princeton University Press (2017)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Princeton University Press, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # P110691027129

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 39.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

William Ashbrook, Harold Powers
Published by Princeton University Press, United States (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Princeton University Press, United States, 1991. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. Language: English . Brand New Book. Unfinished at Puccini s death in 1924, Turandot was not only his most ambitious work, but it became the last Italian opera to enter the international repertory. In this colorful study two renowned music scholars demonstrate that this work, despite the modern climate in which it was written, was a fitting finale for the centuries-old Great Tradition of Italian opera. Here they provide concrete instances of how a listener might encounter the dramatic and musical structures of Turandot in light of the Italian melodramma, and firmly establish Puccini s last work within the tradition of Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, and Verdi. In a summary of the sounds, sights, and symbolism of Turandot, the authors touch on earlier treatments of the subject, outline the conception, birth, and reception of the work, and analyze its coordinated dramatic and musical design. Showing how the evolution of the libretto documents Puccini s reversion to large musical forms typical of the Great Tradition in the late nineteenth century, they give particular attention to his use of contrasting Romantic, modernist, and two kinds of orientalist coloration in the general musical structure. They suggest that Puccini s inability to complete the opera resulted mainly from inadequate dramatic buildup for Turandot s last-minute change of heart combined with an overly successful treatment of the secondary character. Bookseller Inventory # AAH9780691027128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 47.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

William Ashbrook, Harold Powers
Published by Princeton University Press, United States (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Princeton University Press, United States, 1991. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. Language: English . Brand New Book. Unfinished at Puccini s death in 1924, Turandot was not only his most ambitious work, but it became the last Italian opera to enter the international repertory. In this colorful study two renowned music scholars demonstrate that this work, despite the modern climate in which it was written, was a fitting finale for the centuries-old Great Tradition of Italian opera. Here they provide concrete instances of how a listener might encounter the dramatic and musical structures of Turandot in light of the Italian melodramma, and firmly establish Puccini s last work within the tradition of Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, and Verdi. In a summary of the sounds, sights, and symbolism of Turandot, the authors touch on earlier treatments of the subject, outline the conception, birth, and reception of the work, and analyze its coordinated dramatic and musical design. Showing how the evolution of the libretto documents Puccini s reversion to large musical forms typical of the Great Tradition in the late nineteenth century, they give particular attention to his use of contrasting Romantic, modernist, and two kinds of orientalist coloration in the general musical structure. They suggest that Puccini s inability to complete the opera resulted mainly from inadequate dramatic buildup for Turandot s last-minute change of heart combined with an overly successful treatment of the secondary character. Bookseller Inventory # AAH9780691027128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 48.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Ashbrook, William
Published by Princeton University Press (1992)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Princeton University Press, 1992. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # WP-9780691027128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 38.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

William Ashbrook, Harold Powers
Published by Princeton University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Princeton University Press, 1991. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0691027129

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 48.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ashbrook, William
Published by Princeton University Press (1992)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Princeton University Press, 1992. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9780691027128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 48.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

William Ashbrook, Harold Powers
Published by Princeton University Press 1992-07-01, S.l. (1992)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
New paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Princeton University Press 1992-07-01, S.l., 1992. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780691027128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 50.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Ashbrook, William
Published by Princeton University Press (2017)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Princeton University Press, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # 0691027129

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Ashbrook, William
Published by Princeton University Press (1992)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Princeton University Press, 1992. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9780691027128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 50.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book