Degrees of Freedom: Novels of Iris Murdoch

3.83 avg rating
( 18 ratings by Goodreads )
9780701116958: Degrees of Freedom: Novels of Iris Murdoch

Examines Iris Murdoch's early works of fiction and main philosophical ideas, relating the two and providing an insight into the larger dimensions of the novels. Byatt's survey groups and interrelates the novels, picks out recurrent themes and presents the key ideas.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

A.S. Byatt is internationally acclaimed as a novelist, short story-writer and critic. Her books include Possession (winner of the Booker Prize in 1990), and the quartet of The Virgin in the Garden, Still Life, Babel Tower and A Whistling Woman. Educated at York and Newnham College, Cambridge, she taught at the Central School of Art and Design, and was Senior Lecturer in English at University College, London, before becoming a full-time writer in 1983. She was appointed CBE in 1990 and DBE in 1999.


"Indispensable fto anyone wanting to understand what it is that Iris Murdoch is up to" -- Stephen Wall The Listener "An extremely intelligent and penetrating piece of work" -- Frank Kermode Guardian "Byatt is a wonderful writer, constantly engaging wherever she takes us" The Times "The great merit of Byatt's writing... is that it continually engages the reader's mind" Daily Telegraph

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Byatt, A. S.
Published by Chatto & Windus (1970)
ISBN 10: 0701116951 ISBN 13: 9780701116958
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Chatto & Windus, 1970. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110701116951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 82.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds