The Brendan Voyage: Across the Atlantic in a Leather Boat

4.18 avg rating
( 894 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780717139279: The Brendan Voyage: Across the Atlantic in a Leather Boat

It has been described as the greatest epic voyage in modern Irish history. Tim Severin and his companions built a boat using only techniques and materials available in the sixth-century A.D., when St Brendan was supposed to have sailed to America. The vessel comprised forty-nine ox hides stitched together in a patchwork and stretched over a wooden frame. This leather skin was only a quarter of an inch thick. Yet Severin and his crew sailed Brendan from Brandon Creek in Dingle to Newfoundland, surviving storms and a puncture from pack ice. The Brendan Voyage is Tim Severin's dramatic account of their journey. This new edition of a book already translated into twenty-seven languages introduces a new generation of readers to an enduring classic. Tim Severin didn't prove St Brendan reached America, only that he could have, that it was possible. Brilliantly written, The Brendan Voyage conveys unforgettably the sensation of being in a small, open boat in the vastness of the North Atlantic, visited by inquisitive whales, reaching mist-shrouded landfalls, and receiving a welcome from seafaring folk wherever the crew touched land.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

Could an Irish monk in the sixth century really have sailed all the way across the Atlantic in a small open boat, thus beating Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years? Relying on the medieval text of St. Brendan, award-winning adventure writer Tim Severin painstakingly researched and built a boat identical to the leather curragh that carried Brendan on his epic voyage. He found a centuries-old, family-run tannery to prepare the ox hides in the medieval way; he undertook an exhaustive search for skilled harness makers (the only people who would know how to stitch the three-quarter-inch-thick hides together); he located one of the last pieces of Irish-grown timber tall enough to make the mainmast. But his courage and resourcefulness were truly tested on the open seas, including one heart-pounding episode when he and his crew repaired a dangerous tear in the leather hull by hanging over the side--their heads sometimes submerged under the freezing waves--to restitch the leather. A modern classic in the tradition of Kon-Tiki, "The Brendan Voyage seamlessly blends high adventure and historical relevance. It has been translated into twenty-seven languages since its original publication in 1978.
With a new Introduction by Malachy McCourt, author of A Monk Swimming

From the Back Cover:

"Enthralling!"--The Guardian

"An extraordinary explorer." --The Independent

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 26.95
US$ 13.96

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tim Severin
Published by Gill, Ireland (2005)
ISBN 10: 0717139271 ISBN 13: 9780717139279
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gill, Ireland, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. It has been described as the greatest epic voyage in modern Irish history. Tim Severin and his companions built a boat using only techniques and materials available in the sixth-century A.D., when St Brendan was supposed to have sailed to America. The vessel comprised forty-nine ox hides stitched together in a patchwork and stretched over a wooden frame. This leather skin was only a quarter of an inch thick. Yet Severin and his crew sailed Brendan from Brandon Creek in Dingle to Newfoundland, surviving storms and a puncture from pack ice. The Brendan Voyage is Tim Severin s dramatic account of their journey. This new edition of a book already translated into twenty-seven languages introduces a new generation of readers to an enduring classic. Tim Severin didn t prove St Brendan reached America, only that he could have, that it was possible. Brilliantly written, The Brendan Voyage conveys unforgettably the sensation of being in a small, open boat in the vastness of the North Atlantic, visited by inquisitive whales, reaching mist-shrouded landfalls, and receiving a welcome from seafaring folk wherever the crew touched land. Bookseller Inventory # AGM9780717139279

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Tim Severin
ISBN 10: 0717139271 ISBN 13: 9780717139279
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BER-00121077

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Tim Severin
Published by Gill, Ireland (2005)
ISBN 10: 0717139271 ISBN 13: 9780717139279
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gill, Ireland, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. It has been described as the greatest epic voyage in modern Irish history. Tim Severin and his companions built a boat using only techniques and materials available in the sixth-century A.D., when St Brendan was supposed to have sailed to America. The vessel comprised forty-nine ox hides stitched together in a patchwork and stretched over a wooden frame. This leather skin was only a quarter of an inch thick. Yet Severin and his crew sailed Brendan from Brandon Creek in Dingle to Newfoundland, surviving storms and a puncture from pack ice. The Brendan Voyage is Tim Severin s dramatic account of their journey. This new edition of a book already translated into twenty-seven languages introduces a new generation of readers to an enduring classic. Tim Severin didn t prove St Brendan reached America, only that he could have, that it was possible. Brilliantly written, The Brendan Voyage conveys unforgettably the sensation of being in a small, open boat in the vastness of the North Atlantic, visited by inquisitive whales, reaching mist-shrouded landfalls, and receiving a welcome from seafaring folk wherever the crew touched land. Bookseller Inventory # AGM9780717139279

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Severin, Timothy
Published by Ireland: Gill & Macmillan (2005)
ISBN 10: 0717139271 ISBN 13: 9780717139279
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
bainebridge booksellers
(Bronx, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ireland: Gill & Macmillan, 2005. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. No Jacket. Language: eng Language: eng. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-12503770053

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Severin, Tim
Published by Gill & Macmillan Ltd
ISBN 10: 0717139271 ISBN 13: 9780717139279
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gill & Macmillan Ltd. Book Condition: New. 2005. Paperback. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780717139279

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Severin, Tim
Published by Gill & Macmillan Ltd (2005)
ISBN 10: 0717139271 ISBN 13: 9780717139279
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gill & Macmillan Ltd, 2005. Book Condition: New. 2005. Paperback. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780717139279

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Tim Severin
Published by Gill & Macmillan Ltd
ISBN 10: 0717139271 ISBN 13: 9780717139279
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gill & Macmillan Ltd. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780717139279

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Tim Severin
Published by Gill & Macmillan (2005)
ISBN 10: 0717139271 ISBN 13: 9780717139279
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gill & Macmillan, 2005. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EH9780717139279

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.52
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Tim Severin
Published by Gill & MacMillan, Limited (2005)
ISBN 10: 0717139271 ISBN 13: 9780717139279
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gill & MacMillan, Limited, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0717139271

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Tim Severin
Published by Gill Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0717139271 ISBN 13: 9780717139279
New Softcover Quantity Available: 8
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gill Books, 2005. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780717139279_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book