Tibor R. Machan The Passion for Liberty

ISBN 13: 9780742531031

The Passion for Liberty

3.67 avg rating
( 3 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780742531031: The Passion for Liberty

In The Passion for Liberty, Tibor R. Machan defends a libertarian conception of a free society, one in which individuals are sovereign, self-governing beings, not subject to others' will without their consent. In the tradition of John Locke, Adam Smith, Ayn Rand, and Robert Nozick, Machan argues that such a society?far from being hedonistic, licentious, or disorderly?is the best possible ideal for humans. In doing so, he addresses specific issues such as affirmative action, abortion, military intervention, and torture in light of the relationship between liberty and democracy. As freedom takes on a new urgency, The Passion for Liberty reminds us of the importance of individual liberty and why it needs to be defended.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Tibor R. Machan is professor emeritus of philosophy at Auburn University and currently distinguished fellow and Freedom Communications Professor of Business Ethics and Free Enterprise at Chapman University.

Review:

The Passion for Liberty makes a convincing case for freedom, using a moral (as opposed to utilitarian) argument. This is an impressive primer on the principles of liberty. (National Review)

A remarkably clear, concise, and engaging statement of the 'libertarian' defense of liberty. What is especially useful is the application of that defense to specific public policy issues, something that the reader will find helpful and challenging. (Capaldi, Nicholas)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Machan, Tibor R.
Published by Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Nye Discount Books, Inc.
(Venice, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman & Littlefield Publishers. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0742531031 Brand new, Unopened, may have slight shelf wear. Excellent Customer Service. Ships Quickly. Bookseller Inventory # 6B-SMME-BB7O

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2003-05-28 (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman & Littlefield Publishers 2003-05-28, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-NBN-00002387

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.79
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Tibor R. Machan
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97807425310310000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 231 x 149 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Tibor Machan defends a libertarian conception of a free society, one in which individuals are sovereign, self-governing beings, not subject to others will without their consent. In the tradition of John Locke, Adam Smith, Ayn Rand, and Robert Nozick, Machan argues that such a society-far from being hedonistic, licentious, or disorderly-is the best possible ideal for humans. In doing so, he addresses specific issues such as affirmative action, abortion, military intervention, and torture in light of the relationship between liberty and democracy. Bookseller Inventory # AAR9780742531031

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Machan, Tibor R.
Published by Rowman and Littlefield Publishers
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman and Littlefield Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0742531031

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 231 x 149 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Tibor Machan defends a libertarian conception of a free society, one in which individuals are sovereign, self-governing beings, not subject to others will without their consent. In the tradition of John Locke, Adam Smith, Ayn Rand, and Robert Nozick, Machan argues that such a society-far from being hedonistic, licentious, or disorderly-is the best possible ideal for humans. In doing so, he addresses specific issues such as affirmative action, abortion, military intervention, and torture in light of the relationship between liberty and democracy. Bookseller Inventory # AAR9780742531031

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Machan, Tibor R.
Published by Rowman & Littlefield Publishers (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0742531031

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman & Littlefield. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Passion for Liberty, Tibor R. Machan, Tibor Machan defends a libertarian conception of a free society, one in which individuals are sovereign, self-governing beings, not subject to others' will without their consent. In the tradition of John Locke, Adam Smith, Ayn Rand, and Robert Nozick, Machan argues that such a society-far from being hedonistic, licentious, or disorderly-is the best possible ideal for humans. In doing so, he addresses specific issues such as affirmative action, abortion, military intervention, and torture in light of the relationship between liberty and democracy. Bookseller Inventory # B9780742531031

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by Rowman and Littlefield (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman and Littlefield, 2003. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # CW-9780742531031

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.41
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Machan, Tibor R., Professor
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2003. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # TR-9780742531031

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book