Tibor R. Machan The Passion for Liberty

ISBN 13: 9780742531031

The Passion for Liberty

3.67 avg rating
( 3 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780742531031: The Passion for Liberty
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In The Passion for Liberty, Tibor R. Machan defends a libertarian conception of a free society, one in which individuals are sovereign, self-governing beings, not subject to others' will without their consent. In the tradition of John Locke, Adam Smith, Ayn Rand, and Robert Nozick, Machan argues that such a society―far from being hedonistic, licentious, or disorderly―is the best possible ideal for humans. In doing so, he addresses specific issues such as affirmative action, abortion, military intervention, and torture in light of the relationship between liberty and democracy. As freedom takes on a new urgency, The Passion for Liberty reminds us of the importance of individual liberty and why it needs to be defended.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Tibor R. Machan is professor emeritus of philosophy at Auburn University and currently distinguished fellow and Freedom Communications Professor of Business Ethics and Free Enterprise at Chapman University.

Review:

The Passion for Liberty makes a convincing case for freedom, using a moral (as opposed to utilitarian) argument. This is an impressive primer on the principles of liberty. (National Review)

A remarkably clear, concise, and engaging statement of the 'libertarian' defense of liberty. What is especially useful is the application of that defense to specific public policy issues, something that the reader will find helpful and challenging. (Nicholas Capaldi, Loyola University, New Orleans)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780742531024: The Passion for Liberty

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0742531023 ISBN 13:  9780742531024
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2003
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Machan, Tibor R.
Published by Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Nye Discount Books, Inc.
(Venice, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman & Littlefield Publishers. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0742531031 Brand new, Unopened, may have slight shelf wear. Excellent Customer Service. Ships Quickly. Seller Inventory # 6B-SMME-BB7O

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Machan, Tibor R.
Published by Rowman and Littlefield Publishers
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman and Littlefield Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0742531031

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 28.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by Rowman & Littlefield Publishers (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2003. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0742531031

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by Rowman & Littlefield Publishers (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0742531031

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 30.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Tibor Machan defends a libertarian conception of a free society, one in which individuals are sovereign, self-governing beings, not subject to others will without their consent. In the tradition of John Locke, Adam Smith, Ayn Rand, and Robert Nozick, Machan argues that such a society-far from being hedonistic, licentious, or disorderly-is the best possible ideal for humans. In doing so, he addresses specific issues such as affirmative action, abortion, military intervention, and torture in light of the relationship between liberty and democracy. Seller Inventory # ANB9780742531031

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 35.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Machan, Tibor R.
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2003. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # TR-9780742531031

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 36.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Tibor Machan defends a libertarian conception of a free society, one in which individuals are sovereign, self-governing beings, not subject to others will without their consent. In the tradition of John Locke, Adam Smith, Ayn Rand, and Robert Nozick, Machan argues that such a society-far from being hedonistic, licentious, or disorderly-is the best possible ideal for humans. In doing so, he addresses specific issues such as affirmative action, abortion, military intervention, and torture in light of the relationship between liberty and democracy. Seller Inventory # ANB9780742531031

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 41.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Tibor Machan defends a libertarian conception of a free society, one in which individuals are sovereign, self-governing beings, not subject to others will without their consent. In the tradition of John Locke, Adam Smith, Ayn Rand, and Robert Nozick, Machan argues that such a society-far from being hedonistic, licentious, or disorderly-is the best possible ideal for humans. In doing so, he addresses specific issues such as affirmative action, abortion, military intervention, and torture in light of the relationship between liberty and democracy. Seller Inventory # BTE9780742531031

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 53.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Tibor R. Machan
Published by Rowman & Littlefield Publ Grou (2003)
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman & Littlefield Publ Grou, 2003. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # TV9780742531031

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 62.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.48
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Machan, Tibor R.
Published by Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
ISBN 10: 0742531031 ISBN 13: 9780742531031
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman & Littlefield Publishers. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0742531031 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # SWATI2132715120

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 70.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds