Engaging Technology in Theological Education: All That We Can't Leave Behind (Communication, Culture, and Religion)

4.43 avg rating
( 7 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780742532236: Engaging Technology in Theological Education: All That We Can't Leave Behind (Communication, Culture, and Religion)

We live in a media culture, surrounded by ever-evolving digital technologies. While state schools and secular organizations have embraced the new teaching tools and models for learning that technology affords, religious institutions have struggled with how and why to do the same. All that we can't leave behind: Engaging technology in theological education is a breakthrough book that invites religious educators to both engage and adapt their pedagogy to incorporate new media and technology. Drawing from her expertise as a seminary professor and consultant to religious institutions on the use of technology in teaching, Mary Hess invites professors, pastors, seminarians, and anyone interested in religious education into critical reflection on ways of engaging technology to enhance learning and serve as critical interpreters within communities of faith.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Mary E. Hess is assistant professor of educational leadership at Luther Seminary, St. Paul, Minnesota.

Review:

Mary Hess is one of the most innovative and interesting voices working in theological schools today. Her insights both surprise and enlighten. She understands the pedagogical potholes and possibilities that technology presents for seminary education. Reading her work will change the way I teach. (Scott Cormode, professor, Claremont School of Theology; creator of www.christianleaders.org)

Mary Hess has produced an engaging set of reflections on popular culture, viewed through the lens of an educator. In the tradition of Brookfield and Palmer, she both respects and queries her subject and invites the reader into her reflections. Her analysis draws the reader into her reflections rather than merely declaring her conclusions. A spirited book! (Richard Nysse, professor of Old Testament and Associate Dean for Learning Systems and Technology, Luther Seminary)

Philosophically deep and culturally diverse and relevant...seminary faculties have in Hess's book a series of wonderful discussion starters about the 'why-to' of technology for theological education. (Teaching Theology & Religion)

A thoughtful analysis on the ways in which media culture can, and ought, to be used in the seminary context. In the process of explaining her rationale for a distinctly modern approach to theological education, she makes a variety of practical points as well, that would certainly prove helpful to those wishing to adopt her methodological and theoretical propositions. (Religious Education:An Interfaith Journal Of Spirituality,Growth And Transformation)

Mary Hess's essays probe deeply the most crucial questions about technology in theological education. She makes the compelling case that responsible theological education must engage digital culture―not in an instrumental how-to way but in an adaptive one―if we are to remain faithful to the life of Jesus Christ. The conversation is unquestionably two-way: mass mediated popular culture produces, circulates, and contests meaning, but Christian faith provides critical tools and practices by which contemporary meanings are tested for adequacy as God continues to reveal Godself for our time. Being the outstanding teacher she is, the author does not merely set the issues before us but effectively frames them with pedagogical insight, suggestions, examples, and implications rooted in the essential practices of our teaching and learning. Through this invitation into sustained reflection about our processes of meaning-making through digital cultures, and her persuasive argument for its significance for the life of the church, Mary Hess clearly succeeds in giving back to the communities that have nurtured her. This book is a must-read for those who are committed to quality theological education and the preparation of leaders for the church. (Lucinda Huffaker, Director of Supervised Ministries, Yale Divinity School)

Part of the great value of Engaging Technology in Theological Education, is implicit in its calling and challenging theological educators to consider the multiple-intelligences and varied learning styles among students....Hess has written a wonderful resource for faculty in reflecting on their pedagogical strategies and approaches - especially if and when anticipating developing online course and curricula. It would serve especially well as the heart of a faculty conference or retreat on technology and pedagogy. (Review & Expositor)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hess, Mary E.
Published by Rowman and Littlefield Publishers
ISBN 10: 0742532232 ISBN 13: 9780742532236
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman and Littlefield Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0742532232

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 70.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hess, Mary E.
ISBN 10: 0742532232 ISBN 13: 9780742532236
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2005. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780742532236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 77.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ms Mary E. Hess
Published by ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0742532232 ISBN 13: 9780742532236
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States, 2005. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Drawing from her expertise as a seminary professor and consultant to religious institutions on the use of technology in teaching, Mary E. Hess invites professors, pastors, seminarians, and anyone interested in religious education into critical reflection on ways of engaging technology to enhance learning and serve as critical interpreters within communities of faith. Bookseller Inventory # ANB9780742532236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 83.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ms Mary E. Hess
Published by ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0742532232 ISBN 13: 9780742532236
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ROWMAN LITTLEFIELD, United States, 2005. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Drawing from her expertise as a seminary professor and consultant to religious institutions on the use of technology in teaching, Mary E. Hess invites professors, pastors, seminarians, and anyone interested in religious education into critical reflection on ways of engaging technology to enhance learning and serve as critical interpreters within communities of faith. Bookseller Inventory # ANB9780742532236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 85.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Ms Mary E. Hess
Published by Rowman and Littlefield (2005)
ISBN 10: 0742532232 ISBN 13: 9780742532236
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rowman and Littlefield, 2005. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780742532236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 80.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hess, Mary E.
ISBN 10: 0742532232 ISBN 13: 9780742532236
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2005. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # TR-9780742532236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 90.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hess Ph.D, Mary E.
Published by Sheed & Ward
ISBN 10: 0742532232 ISBN 13: 9780742532236
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sheed & Ward. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0742532232 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132716746

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 90.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

HESS, MARY E. PH.D
Published by RL (2017)
ISBN 10: 0742532232 ISBN 13: 9780742532236
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description RL, 2017. Hardback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780742532236 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Print on Demand title, produced to the highest standard, and there would be a delay in dispatch of around 10 working days. For all enquiries, please contact Herb Tandree Philosophy Books directly - customer service is our primary goal. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE01264386

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 96.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.66
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Mary E. Hess
Published by Sheed & Ward 2005-04-19, Lanham, Md. (2005)
ISBN 10: 0742532232 ISBN 13: 9780742532236
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sheed & Ward 2005-04-19, Lanham, Md., 2005. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780742532236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 100.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Mary E. Hess
ISBN 10: 0742532232 ISBN 13: 9780742532236
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Drawing from her expertise as a seminary professor and consultant to religious institutions on the use of technology in teaching, Mary Hess invites professors, pastors, seminarians, and an.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 200 pages. 0.422. Bookseller Inventory # 9780742532236

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 108.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book