Kelly Simmons Standing Still: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780743289733

Standing Still: A Novel

3.44 avg rating
( 573 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780743289733: Standing Still: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Journalist and suburban mom Claire Cooper suffers from panic disorder. Most of her anxieties seem irrational, nothing that can't be fixed with the help of some Xanax. But late one stormy summer night, when her husband, Sam, is away on one of his frequent business trips, Claire's fears come to life. She discovers an intruder has broken into her young daughter's bedroom. She watches helplessly as he picks up her sleeping child from her bed. Desperate to protect her family, Claire puts herself in the line of fire and utters the plea that will undo her: "Take me instead."

As she drives away in the kidnapper's car, Claire fears for her children, but not for herself. And she can't help noticing the reversal in her marriage -- for the first time in ten years, Sam will not know where she is.

For the next week, Claire is tied to a bed in a strange motel room, the intruder her only com-panion. She is forced to lie still and contemplate the reasons for this assault on her family. Is this just a random crime, or something more sinister? Has the shadowy past that she tried so hard to leave behind finally caught up with her? Day after day, she goes deeper into herself, reevaluating her marriage and her role as a mother, and unburying the source of her crippling anxiety. In seven days she will step out to the very brink of her soul -- perhaps never to return.

A riveting debut novel that will appeal to fans of Sue Miller and Janet Fitch, Standing Still is a powerful exploration of the darker side of mother-hood and marriage.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Kelly Simmons is a former journalist and advertising creative director specializing in marketing to women. She lives with her family outside Philadelphia. Please visit her website at ByKellySimmons.com.

Excerpt. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.:

Racine, April 1977. A Polaroid with white edges. My Easter dress is robin's egg blue; it ripples against the church's red door like a flag. My father said it made my eyes look turquoise. He's not in the frame, but I know he's still alive and in front of me, taking the picture; not because I remember, but because the sky is dark and the March wind is whipping my long hair against my lips, bending the saplings next to the church, and yet I still look so completely, utterly unafraid.

Copyright © 2008 by Kelly Simmons

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 18.99
US$ 2.99

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780743289726: Standing Still: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0743289722 ISBN 13:  9780743289726
Publisher: Atria Books, 2008
Hardcover

9781410407368: Standing Still (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic Series)

Thornd..., 2008
Hardcover

9780739492345: Standing Still (Large Print Edition)

Doubleday, 2008
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Simmons, Kelly
Published by Washington Square Press 2008-01-01 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0743289730 ISBN 13: 9780743289733
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press 2008-01-01, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9780743289733B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 2.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Simmons, Kelly
Published by Washington Square Press
ISBN 10: 0743289730 ISBN 13: 9780743289733
New Quantity Available: 13
Seller:
TextbookRush
(Grandview Heights, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press. Condition: Brand New. Seller Inventory # 42759822

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 5.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Simmons, Kelly
Published by Washington Square Press
ISBN 10: 0743289730 ISBN 13: 9780743289733
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mesilla Internet
(Mesilla, NM, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0743289730 New. Seller Inventory # Z0743289730ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.48
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Simmons, Kelly
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 0743289730 ISBN 13: 9780743289733
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0743289730

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Simmons, Kelly
Published by Washington Square Press 2/10/2009 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0743289730 ISBN 13: 9780743289733
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press 2/10/2009, 2009. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Standing Still. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780743289733

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Kelly Simmons
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0743289730 ISBN 13: 9780743289733
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. Journalist and suburban mom Claire Cooper suffers from panic disorder. Most of her anxieties seem irrational, nothing that can t be fixed with the help of some Xanax. But late one stormy summer night, when her husband, Sam, is away on one of his frequent business trips, Claire s fears come to life. She discovers an intruder has broken into her young daughter s bedroom. She watches helplessly as he picks up her sleeping child from her bed. Desperate to protect her family, Claire puts herself in the line of fire and utters the plea that will undo her: Take me instead. As she drives away in the kidnapper s car, Claire fears for her children, but not for herself. And she can t help noticing the reversal in her marriage -- for the first time in ten years, Sam will not know where she is. For the next week, Claire is tied to a bed in a strange motel room, the intruder her only com-panion. She is forced to lie still and contemplate the reasons for this assault on her family. Is this just a random crime, or something more sinister? Has the shadowy past that she tried so hard to leave behind finally caught up with her? Day after day, she goes deeper into herself, reevaluating her marriage and her role as a mother, and unburying the source of her crippling anxiety. In seven days she will step out to the very brink of her soul -- perhaps never to return. A riveting debut novel that will appeal to fans of Sue Miller and Janet Fitch, Standing Still is a powerful exploration of the darker side of mother-hood and marriage. Seller Inventory # APC9780743289733

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Kelly Simmons
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0743289730 ISBN 13: 9780743289733
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.Journalist and suburban mom Claire Cooper suffers from panic disorder. Most of her anxieties seem irrational, nothing that can t be fixed with the help of some Xanax. But late one stormy summer night, when her husband, Sam, is away on one of his frequent business trips, Claire s fears come to life. She discovers an intruder has broken into her young daughter s bedroom. She watches helplessly as he picks up her sleeping child from her bed. Desperate to protect her family, Claire puts herself in the line of fire and utters the plea that will undo her: Take me instead. As she drives away in the kidnapper s car, Claire fears for her children, but not for herself. And she can t help noticing the reversal in her marriage -- for the first time in ten years, Sam will not know where she is. For the next week, Claire is tied to a bed in a strange motel room, the intruder her only com-panion. She is forced to lie still and contemplate the reasons for this assault on her family. Is this just a random crime, or something more sinister? Has the shadowy past that she tried so hard to leave behind finally caught up with her? Day after day, she goes deeper into herself, reevaluating her marriage and her role as a mother, and unburying the source of her crippling anxiety. In seven days she will step out to the very brink of her soul -- perhaps never to return. A riveting debut novel that will appeal to fans of Sue Miller and Janet Fitch, Standing Still is a powerful exploration of the darker side of mother-hood and marriage. Seller Inventory # APC9780743289733

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Simmons, Kelly
Published by Washington Square Press (2018)
ISBN 10: 0743289730 ISBN 13: 9780743289733
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 0743289730

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Kelly Simmons
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0743289730 ISBN 13: 9780743289733
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0743289730

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Simmons, Kelly
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0743289730 ISBN 13: 9780743289733
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780743289733

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book