Nevil Shute No Highway

ISBN 13: 9780745162751

No Highway

3.91 avg rating
( 1,163 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780745162751: No Highway
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When a passenger plane crashes in unexplained circumstances, Theodore Honey, a shy inconspicuous aircraft engineer with eccentric interests in quantum mechanics and spiritualism, must convince his superiors that his unorthodox theories are correct before more lives are lost.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

NEVIL SHUTE NORWAY was born on January 17, 1899 in Ealing, London. After attending the Dragon School and Shrewsbury School, he studied Engineering Science at Balliol College, Oxford. He worked as an aeronautical engineer and published his first novel, Marazan, in 1926. In 1931 he married Frances Mary Heaton and they went on to have two daughters. During the Second World War he joined the Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve where he worked on developing secret weapons. After the war he continued to write and settled in Australia where he lived until his death on January 12, 1960. His most celebrated novels include Pied Piper (1942), No Highway (1948), A Town Like Alice (1950) and On the Beach (1957).

Review:

 · "No Highway is a novel which engages the heart and grips the mind." --Evening Standard

 · "Shute was a brilliant storyteller and terrific example for any writer." --Express

 · "Mr. Shute is a storyteller in the tradition of R. L. Stevenson and Kipling." --Evening News

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781546702702: No Highway

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1546702709 ISBN 13:  9781546702702
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishi..., 2017
Softcover

9780434699124: No Highway

David ..., 1980
Hardcover

9781842322734: No Highway

House ..., 2000
Softcover

9780099530091: No Highway

Vintag..., 2009
Softcover

9780330020725: No Highway

Pan Bo..., 1979
Softcover