Neil Gaiman Stardust

ISBN 13: 9780747274193

Stardust

4.07 avg rating
( 281,220 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780747274193: Stardust

Tristan has lost his heart to the cool, distant Victoria, and in order to win her hand, he vows to retrieve a star they saw falling from the sky. To do this, he must go over an ancient wall, and is propelled into a world that is dangerous and strange beyond imagining. From the author of NEVERWHERE and GOOD OMENS.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. One fateful night, Tristran promises his beloved that he will retrieve a fallen star for her from beyond the Wall that stands between their rural English town (called, appropriately, Wall) and the Faerie realm. No one ever ventures beyond the Wall except to attend an enchanted flea market that is held every nine years (and during which, unbeknownst to him, Tristran was conceived). But Tristran bravely sets out to fetch the fallen star and thus win the hand of his love. His adventures in the magical land will keep you turning pages as fast as you can--he and the star escape evil old witches, deadly clutching trees, goblin press-gangs, and the scheming sons of the dead Lord of Stormhold. The story is by turns thrillingly scary and very funny. You'll love goofy, earnest Tristran and the talking animals, gnomes, magic trees, and other irresistible denizens of Faerie that he encounters in his travels. Stardust is a perfect read-aloud book, a brand-new fairy tale you'll want to share with a kid, or maybe hoard for yourself. (If you read it to kids, watch out for a couple of spicy sex bits and one epithet.) --Therese Littleton

From the Publisher:

American Library Award Winner
Mythopoeic Award Winner
World Fantasy Award Winner - Best Artist

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Feature (1999)
ISBN 10: 0747274193 ISBN 13: 9780747274193
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ceredigion Book Shop
(Nr Lampeter, CERED, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Feature, 1999. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Usual signs of a well read book but good overall condition. May not look good on your bookcase after reading and probably not suitable as a present unless hard to find elsewhere SECURE DAILY POSTING FROM UK. 30 DAY GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002531368

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.93
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Headline Book Publishing (1999)
ISBN 10: 0747274193 ISBN 13: 9780747274193
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Book Publishing, 1999. Book Condition: Fair. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP95098601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.42
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Headline Book Publishing (1999)
ISBN 10: 0747274193 ISBN 13: 9780747274193
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Book Publishing, 1999. Book Condition: Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP16507560

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.42
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gaiman, Neil
ISBN 10: 0747274193 ISBN 13: 9780747274193
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # GOR003136986

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.93
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Gaiman, Neil
ISBN 10: 0747274193 ISBN 13: 9780747274193
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR001278542

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 2.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.93
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gaiman, Neil
Published by Headline Book Publishing 1999-06-24 (1999)
ISBN 10: 0747274193 ISBN 13: 9780747274193
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Book Publishing 1999-06-24, 1999. Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. 0747274193 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # POTM-0747274193

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 17.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

GAIMAN Neil
Published by Headline, London (1999)
ISBN 10: 0747274193 ISBN 13: 9780747274193
Used Soft Cover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Earthborn Books
(Tavistock, DEVON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, London, 1999. Soft Cover. Book Condition: Very Good. No Jacket. First UK Edition. Rare uncorrected proof described as a Limited Edition on the front cover although there is no further reference to this attribute. Very Good condition. Appears unread. Showing shelf wear - a few spots and a little soiling to the text block edges, small nicks and creases, surface rubs and scratches to the covers. 238 pages. Please note: this proof shares the same ISBN as the first softcover edition published concurrently with the first hardcover edition. From the blurb: Life moves at a leisurely pace in the tiny town of Wall - named after the imposing stone barrier which separates the town from a grassy meadow. Here, young Tristran Thorn has lost his heart to the beautiful Victoria Forester and for the coveted prize of her hand, Tristran vows to retrieve a fallen star and deliver it to his beloved. It is an oath that sends him over the ancient wall and into a world that is dangerous and strange beyond imagining. Size: 207 x 146 x 14 mm. Uncorrected Proof. Bookseller Inventory # EB000277

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 27.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 18.42
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds