Collected Short Stories of W. Somerset Maugham, Vol. 2

4.33 avg rating
( 770 ratings by Goodreads )
9780749303464: Collected Short Stories of W. Somerset Maugham, Vol. 2

The second of four volumes of short stories which reflect Somerset Maugham's wry perception of human foibles and gift for evoking drama from a sense of time and place. Set in Malaya, America and England, they include "Flotsam and Jetsam," "The Man With the Sca,r" and "The Vessel of Wrath."

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

W. Somerset Maugham (1874-1965) lived in Paris until he was ten. He was educated at King's School, Canterbury, and at Heidelberg University. He afterwards walked the wards of St. Thomas's Hospital with a view to practice in medicine, but the success of his first novel, Liza of Lambeth (1897), won him over to letters. Something of his hospital experience is reflected, however, in the first of his masterpieces, Of Human Bondage (1915), and with The Moon and Sixpence (1919) his reputation as a novelist was assured.

His position as one of the most successful playwrights on the London stage was being consolidated simultaneously. His first play, A Man of Honour (1903), was followed by a procession of successes just before and after the First World War. (At one point only Bernard Shaw had more plays running at the same time in London.) His theatre career ended with Sheppey (1933). His fame as a short-story writer began with The Trembling of a Leaf, sub-titled Little Stories of the South Sea Islands, in 1921, after which he published more than ten collections.

W. Somerset Maugham's general books are fewer in number. They include travel books, such as On a Chinese Screen (1922) and Don Fernando (1935), essays, criticism, and the self-revealing The Summing Up (1938) and A Writer's Notebook (1949). He became a Companion of Honour in 1954. 

From AudioFile:

No one who relishes the little ironies of life can fail to appreciate this second audio collection of Maugham's short stories. It takes us on a strange journey to far worlds where we meet unusual people: the executioner in a French penal colony; a lonely Englishman on a South Sea island; a wealthy baron who is happier defying his parents, living the life of a Jewish musician. Charlton Griffin narrates with the ease of an urbane man of the world, but recreates Maugham's strange characters with pleasure and gusto. While his narrative voice is graceful and compelling, his characterizations are acutely individual, even bizarre. Their voices linger in our memory long after the tape is off. Combined with an appropriate musical score and sound effects, this is a thoroughly satisfying package. P.E.F. © AudioFile 2002, Portland, Maine-- Copyright © AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


W. Somerset Maugham
Published by Mandarin (1997)
ISBN 10: 0749303468 ISBN 13: 9780749303464
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mandarin, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0749303468

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 180.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds