Charlotte Betts The Spice Merchant's Wife

ISBN 13: 9780749959272

The Spice Merchant's Wife

3.9 avg rating
( 366 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780749959272: The Spice Merchant's Wife

The stunning third historical novel from Charlotte Betts is a richly imaginative page-turner opening in 1666 at the time of the Great Fire of London

1666: newly married to a wealthy spice merchant, Kate Finche believes all her dreams of a happy family life are just around the corner, until the Great Fire rages through London. She watches in horror as their livelihood goes up in flames, filling the air with the heady scents of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. As the city is devastated, Kate's husband Robert is forced to seek employment to ensure their survival, but when he is found drowned, Kate refuses to believe that he has taken his own life.Widowed and penniless, she seeks refuge in The House of Perfume, the home of blind perfumer Gabriel Harte, who awakens Kate's senses to a whole new world. But as she flees from this forbidden love, her husband's murderer comes looking for her. This stunning novel, bursting with the color and flavor of Restoration London, is perfect for readers of Phillipa Gregory and Joanne Harris.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Charlotte Betts won the 2013 Romantic Novels Association Award in the category of historical romantic novel for The Apothecary's Daughter. She is also the author of The Painter's Apprentice.

Review:

A feast for the senses. With the sensual language of Patrick Suskind's Perfume and the historical flavour of Philippa Gregory, this is a lush, immersive read for historical fiction fans, set during one of the most exciting eras of the city's history―Holiday Magazine

Romatic, engaging and hugely satisfying―Kate Fforde

Perfectly hits the spot . . . Charlotte Betts has clearly established a niche for herself, combining history with a dash of adventure―Newbury Weekly News

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 22.95
US$ 15.41

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Charlotte Betts
Published by Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 0749959274 ISBN 13: 9780749959272
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the author of ebook bestseller The Apothecary s Daughter 1666. Newly married to a wealthy spice merchant, Kate Finche believes all her dreams of a happy family life are just around the corner until the Great Fire rages through London. She watches in horror as their livelihood goes up in flames, filling the air with the heady scents of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.As the city is devastated, Kate s husband, Robert is forced to seek employment to ensure their survival, but when he is found drowned, Kate refuses to believe that he has taken his own life. Widowed and penniless, she seeks refuge in The House of Perfume, the home of blind perfumer Gabriel Harte, who awakens Kate s senses to a whole new world. But as she flees from this forbidden love, her husband s murderer comes looking for her . . . The Spice Merchant s Wife is a stunning novel, bursting with the colour and flavour of Restoration London -- perfect for readers of Philippa Gregory, Joanne Harris and Patrick Suskind s Perfume. Bookseller Inventory # AA29780749959272

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Charlotte Betts
Published by Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 0749959274 ISBN 13: 9780749959272
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the author of ebook bestseller The Apothecary s Daughter 1666. Newly married to a wealthy spice merchant, Kate Finche believes all her dreams of a happy family life are just around the corner until the Great Fire rages through London. She watches in horror as their livelihood goes up in flames, filling the air with the heady scents of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.As the city is devastated, Kate s husband, Robert is forced to seek employment to ensure their survival, but when he is found drowned, Kate refuses to believe that he has taken his own life. Widowed and penniless, she seeks refuge in The House of Perfume, the home of blind perfumer Gabriel Harte, who awakens Kate s senses to a whole new world. But as she flees from this forbidden love, her husband s murderer comes looking for her . . . The Spice Merchant s Wife is a stunning novel, bursting with the colour and flavour of Restoration London -- perfect for readers of Philippa Gregory, Joanne Harris and Patrick Suskind s Perfume. Bookseller Inventory # AA29780749959272

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Betts, Charlotte
Published by Piatkus Books
ISBN 10: 0749959274 ISBN 13: 9780749959272
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Piatkus Books. Book Condition: New. 2013. Paperback. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FRH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 229 x 152 x 30. Weight in Grams: 524. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780749959272

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Betts, Charlotte
Published by Piatkus Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0749959274 ISBN 13: 9780749959272
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Piatkus Books, 2013. Book Condition: New. 2013. Paperback. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FRH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 229 x 152 x 30. Weight in Grams: 524. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780749959272

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Betts, Charlotte
Published by Little, Brown Book Group (2013)
ISBN 10: 0749959274 ISBN 13: 9780749959272
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group, 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FX-9780749959272

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Charlotte Betts
Published by Piatkus Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0749959274 ISBN 13: 9780749959272
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Piatkus Books, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0749959274

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Charlotte Betts
Published by Piatkus (2013)
ISBN 10: 0749959274 ISBN 13: 9780749959272
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Piatkus, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 400 pages. 9.00x6.00x1.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0749959274

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds