The Cook's Tale

ISBN 13: 9780750537674

The Cook's Tale

 
9780750537674: The Cook's Tale
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Nancy Jackman was born in 1907 in a remote Norfolk village. Her father was a ploughman, her mother a former servant who struggled to make ends meet in a cottage so small that access to the single upstairs room was via a ladder.

The pace of life in that long-vanished world was dictated by the slow, heavy tread of the farm horse and though Nancy's earliest memories were of a green, sunny countryside still unspoiled by the motorcar, she also knew at first hand the harshness of a world where the elderly were forced to break stones on the roads and where school children were regularly beaten.

Nancy left school at the age of twelve to work for a local farmer who forced her to stand in the rain when she made a mistake, physically abused her and eventually tried to rape her.

Nancy continued to work as a cook until the 1950s, sustained by her determination to escape and find a life of her own.

The Cook's Tale shows you life below stairs as it really was and is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.

Part of the Lives of Servants series. Other titles in the series are: The Maid's Tale, They Also Serve and Cocoa at Midnight.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Tom Quinn is the editor of the Country Landowner's Magazine. He has written several small books for small independent publishers. He has spent the last twenty years interviewing people who worked in domestic service, getting them to tell him their life stories.

Review:

"[An] at times heartbreaking, at times hilarious tell-all."  — Anglotopia.net

"The bosses upstairs from Nancy Jackman's kitchen may have had the money and power, but The Cook's Tale shows that each person in the big houses lived very interesting lives."  — Anglotopia.net

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Good
The book has been read but remains... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: US$ 3.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781444735895: The Cook's Tale (Lives of Servants)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1444735896 ISBN 13: 9781444735895
Publisher: Coronet, 2012
Softcover

9781444760729: The Cook S Tale

Hodder...
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Jackman, Nancy
ISBN 10: 0750537671 ISBN 13: 9780750537674
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Seller Inventory # GOR009386067

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 14.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Jackman, Nancy
ISBN 10: 0750537671 ISBN 13: 9780750537674
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR007946971

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 14.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Jackman, Nancy
Published by Magna Large Print Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0750537671 ISBN 13: 9780750537674
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WeBuyBooks
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Magna Large Print Books, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex Library Book with usual stamps and stickers. Good Clean Condition Book. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Seller Inventory # mon0012939260

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 68.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.61
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds