Nancy Jackman The Cook's Tale

ISBN 13: 9780750537674

The Cook's Tale

 
9780750537674: The Cook's Tale
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Nancy Jackman was born in 1907 in a remote Norfolk village. Her father was a ploughman, her mother a former servant who struggled to make ends meet in a cottage so small that access to the single upstairs room was via a ladder.

The pace of life in that long-vanished world was dictated by the slow, heavy tread of the farm horse and though Nancy's earliest memories were of a green, sunny countryside still unspoiled by the motorcar, she also knew at first hand the harshness of a world where the elderly were forced to break stones on the roads and where school children were regularly beaten.

Nancy left school at the age of twelve to work for a local farmer who forced her to stand in the rain when she made a mistake, physically abused her and eventually tried to rape her.

Nancy continued to work as a cook until the 1950s, sustained by her determination to escape and find a life of her own.

The Cook's Tale shows you life below stairs as it really was and is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.

Part of the Lives of Servants series. Other titles in the series are: The Maid's Tale, They Also Serve and Cocoa at Midnight.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Tom Quinn is the editor of the Country Landowner's Magazine. He has written several small books for small independent publishers. He has spent the last twenty years interviewing people who worked in domestic service, getting them to tell him their life stories.

Review:

"[An] at times heartbreaking, at times hilarious tell-all."  — Anglotopia.net

"The bosses upstairs from Nancy Jackman's kitchen may have had the money and power, but The Cook's Tale shows that each person in the big houses lived very interesting lives."  — Anglotopia.net

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jackman, Nancy
Published by Magna Large Print Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0750537671 ISBN 13: 9780750537674
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Magna Large Print Books, 2013. Condition: Good. Large type edition. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP92791627

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.67
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jackman, Nancy
Published by Magna Large Print Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 0750537671 ISBN 13: 9780750537674
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Magna Large Print Books, 2013. Condition: Very Good. Large type edition. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP83023846

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.67
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds