Bloody Ground (The Starbuck Chronicles, Book 4)

4.15 avg rating
( 3,138 ratings by Goodreads )
9780753100493: Bloody Ground (The Starbuck Chronicles, Book 4)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

The fourth book in The Starbuck Chronicles, The Bloody Ground follows Boston-born Confederate officer Nathaniel Starbuck as the Confederate army under Robert E. Lee invades the North, culminating in the Battle of Antietam Creek. It is only weeks after the Second Manassas in September 1862, and Robert E. Lee takes the war north, where he will be met by "Little Mac," General George McClellan, whose northern army far outnumbers and outguns the invading Confederates. In Richmond, Virginia, Starbuck is given command of a punishment battalion, a motley collection of cowards, thieves, deserters, and murderers, officered by men who do not welcome Starbuck's arrival. Setting off to join Lee's army, Starbuck's men reach Harper's Ferry in time to take part in Stonewall Jackson's capture of the Union garrison. From there, it is on to the legendary horror of Sharpsburg beside the Antietam Creek, forever to be remembered as the bloodiest single day of the war. There, in the cornfield, Starbuck and his despised men will have their courage and commitment tested as never before.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Bernard Cornwell, born in London, worked for the BBC and Thames Television before coming to the United States to write full time. His sweeping historical novels, including the acclaimed Richard Sharpe series, make him a number one bestselling author in the United Kingdom and around the world. He lives with his wife on Cape Cod.

Grover Gardner is an award-winning narrator with over eight hundred titles to his credit. Named one of the "Best Voices of the Century" and a Golden Voice by AudioFile magazine, he has won three prestigious Audie Awards, was chosen Narrator of the Year for 2005 by Publishers Weekly, and has earned more than thirty Earphones Awards.

From Library Journal:

Cornwell's fourth novel about Nathaniel Starbuck, a Northerner in the Confederate Army, carries this Civil War saga to Antietam, which ruined Robert E. Lee's attempt to carry the war to the North. A British writer, Cornwell brings a fresh spin to the war by peopling his story with Northerners serving the South, Southerners serving the North, spies, turncoats, and real historical figures?including Lee and Stonewall Jackson. His characters are many, and the historical arena is complex, but complications never confuse the listener. The genius of Cornwell's narratives about Starbuck and Richard Sharpe, his British rifleman (e.g., Sharpe's Regiment, Audio Reviews, LJ 11/15/96), lies in his ability to place protagonists in such ever-deepening personal peril that readers cannot turn away. Indeed, the human drama of The Bloody Ground is so compelling that it overcomes the competent but often grating reading of British actor Hayward Morse, who gives Starbuck Jimmy Cagney's voice and makes senior Confederate officers sound like Al Capp's Jubilation T. Cornpone. Engaging listening for commuters; recommended for public libraries.?R. Kent Rasmussen, Thousand Oaks, Cal.
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want