How Babies Think: The Science of Childhood

3.83 avg rating
( 1,046 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780753814178: How Babies Think: The Science of Childhood
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young children develop emotionally and intellectually, and are beginning to realize that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading US scientists draw on twenty-five years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neuroscience to reveal what babies know and how they learn it.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Alison Gopnik received her BA from McGill University and her PhD. from Oxford University. She was a Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada University Research Fellow at the University of Toronto from 1983-1988 and in 1988 became a professor of psychology at the University of California at Berkeley. She is an internationally recognized leader in the study of children's learning and the author of over 100 articles and two books, WORDS, THOUGHTS AND THEORIES (coauthored with Andrew Meltzoff), MIT Press, 1997 and THE SCIENTIST IN THE CRIB (coauthored with Andrew Meltzoff and Patricia Kuhl) William Morrow, 1999. and THE SCIENTIST IN THE CRIB was enthusiastically reviewed in US News and World Report, Time, Science, The New Yorker, the Washington Post and The New York Review of Books (among others). She has also written for The Times Literary Supplement, The New York Review of Books and the New York Times. She has been President of the Society for Philosophy of Psychology, Associate Editor of Child Development, the leading journal in the field and an Osher Fellow at the Exploratorium in San Francisco. She lives in Berkeley, California with her husband and three sons.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 14.22
US$ 10.46

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780297842279: How Babies Think : The Science of Childhood

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0297842277 ISBN 13:  9780297842279
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2000
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alison Gopnik, Patricia Kuhl, Andrew N. Meltzoff
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Revised ed.. Language: English. Brand new Book. A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young children develop emotionally and intellectually, and are beginning to realize that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading US scientists draw on twenty-five years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neuroscience to reveal what babies know and how they learn it. Seller Inventory # HUK9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Alison Gopnik, Patricia Kuhl, Andrew N. Meltzoff
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Revised ed.. Language: English. Brand new Book. A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young children develop emotionally and intellectually, and are beginning to realize that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading US scientists draw on twenty-five years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neuroscience to reveal what babies know and how they learn it. Seller Inventory # HUK9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Alison Gopnik, Patricia Kuhl, Andrew N. Meltzoff
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Revised ed.. Language: English. Brand new Book. A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young children develop emotionally and intellectually, and are beginning to realize that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading US scientists draw on twenty-five years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neuroscience to reveal what babies know and how they learn it. Seller Inventory # HUK9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Alison Gopnik, Patricia K Kuhl, Andrew Meltzoff
Published by Phoenix (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000294623

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.08
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Gopnik, Alison, Meltzoff, Andrew N., Kuhl, Patricia
Published by Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ). Condition: New. 2001. New Ed. Paperback. A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: JMC; JMM; JMR; PSAJ. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 23. Weight in Grams: 290. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Gopnik, Alison, Meltzoff, Andrew N., Kuhl, Patricia
Published by Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ), 2001. Condition: New. 2001. New Ed. Paperback. A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: JMC; JMM; JMR; PSAJ. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 23. Weight in Grams: 290. . . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Alison Gopnik; Andrew Meltzoff
Published by Orion Group (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Group, 2001. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.32
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Alison (Professor of Psychology Gopnik
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST075381417X. Seller Inventory # ST075381417X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Alison Gopnik
Published by Orion Publishing Co
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.83
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Alison Gopnik, Andrew N. Meltzoff, Patricia Kuhl,
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Not Signed; A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young child. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780753814178_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.93
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book