The Fall of Neskaya: Book One of The Clingfire Trilogy

3.86 avg rating
( 1,667 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780756400347: The Fall of Neskaya: Book One of The Clingfire Trilogy
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The teenage son of a Darkover noble, Corin Leynier discovers that his growing laran powers may hold the key to stopping the ambitious tyrant King Damian Deslucido and his nedestro laranzu brother Rumail from trying to unite all Darkover under Damian's rule.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Deborah J. Ross is the author of the acclaimed Darkover novels collaborating and following in the footsteps of bestselling writer Marion Zimmer Bradley. Ross became friends with Bradley when she sold a short story for the first Sword and Sorceress anthology. Bradley continued to encourage her over the next two decades, through births, deaths, divorces, a sojourn in France, her literary apprenticeship, four dozen more short stories, two novels, and finally her work with Darkover. Ross is also the author of The Seven-Petaled Shield series. Ross now lives in California with her husband, writer Dave Trowbridge. She can be found online at deborahjross.blogspot.com.

From Publishers Weekly:

Fans of Darkover, Bradley's popular series of the planet of the Bloody Sun, rejoice. As Bradley's health was declining, she and Ross sketched the new Clingfire Trilogy, set in the aftermath of the Ages of Chaos when the Hundred Kingdoms used vicious telepathic laran weaponry to annihilate their neighbors. This solid opener, like others in Bradley's canon, centers on the coming-of-age of a laran-gifted youngster, Coryn Leynier, who becomes under-Keeper at Neskaya Tower, a powerful hub of the psi Tower network, and eventually finds himself pitted against both evil human foes in battle and black psionic wizardry in the Overworld. Ross has fleshed out Bradley's encyclopedic vision of the Darkovian Dark Ages into a competent, fast-paced narrative congruent with the late author's familiar 1960s theme: "make various kinds of love, but not nuclear war." Ross also seems to have mastered the familiar Darkovian vocabulary, though perhaps not injecting it so frequently, as well as Bradley's absorbing minutiae of life under the Bloody Sun copper butterfly hairclips and all. With ancient Neskaya Tower crumbled in the cataclysmic conflict between Coryn Leynier and his enemies and Bradley now gone, the next two volumes of the Clingfire Trilogy should showcase Ross's literary strength her sensitivity to human needs and talents even more clearly. (July 10) FYI: Bradley also collaborated with Diana L. Paxson on a final sequel to The Mists of Avalon, Priestess of Avalon (Forecasts, Apr. 30).
Copyright 2001 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780756400538: The Fall of Neskaya: The Clingfire Trilogy, Volume I

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0756400538 ISBN 13:  9780756400538
Publisher: DAW, 2002
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bradley, Marion Zimmer; Ross, Deborah J.
Published by DAW Hardcover (2001)
ISBN 10: 0756400341 ISBN 13: 9780756400347
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Nationwide Book Traders
(West Babylon, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DAW Hardcover, 2001. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used. Club edition. Seller Inventory # 2G-19-RM

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Marion Zimmer Bradley; Deborah J. Ross
Published by DAW Hardcover (2001)
ISBN 10: 0756400341 ISBN 13: 9780756400347
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DAW Hardcover, 2001. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0756400341

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 30.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Marion Zimmer Bradley, Deborah J. Ross
Published by DAW Hardcover (2001)
ISBN 10: 0756400341 ISBN 13: 9780756400347
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DAW Hardcover, 2001. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0756400341

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 26.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Bradley, Marion Zimmer; Ross, Deborah J.
Published by DAW, New York, N.Y., USA (2001)
ISBN 10: 0756400341 ISBN 13: 9780756400347
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
rarefirsts
(Charlotte Hall, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DAW, New York, N.Y., USA, 2001. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First Edition, First Printing stated, with correct number line sequence, no writing, marks, underlining, or bookplates. No remainder marks. Spine is tight and crisp. Boards are flat and true and the corners are square. Dust jacket is not price-clipped. This collectible, " NEW" condition first edition/first printing copy is protected with a polyester archival dust jacket cover. Beautiful collectible copy. GIFT QUALITY. Seller Inventory # 003703

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Bradley, Marion Zimmer; Ross, Deborah J.
Published by DAW Hardcover
ISBN 10: 0756400341 ISBN 13: 9780756400347
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DAW Hardcover. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0756400341 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # XM-0756400341

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 36.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Bradley, Marion Zimmer, Ross, Deborah J.
Published by DAW Hardcover (2001)
ISBN 10: 0756400341 ISBN 13: 9780756400347
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DAW Hardcover, 2001. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110756400341

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 41.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Bradley, Marion Zimmer; Ross, Deborah J.
Published by DAW Hardcover
ISBN 10: 0756400341 ISBN 13: 9780756400347
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DAW Hardcover. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0756400341 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0307766

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 49.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds